We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
8
22
12
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
22
12
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

What a nice hotel this is. Free coffee in the lobby. Nicest staff. Good location. Free tea on every Floor. Small rooms. Convenience store next to the hotel lobby.
But then.....we had 4 separate non-smoking rooms. And all 4 rooms were filled with stale stinking cigarette smoke. This is a Major downgrade of the hotel.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank ooievaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Good neighborhood, but then I saw a hotel attached to the train station and wondered why we weren't staying there instead.

Fine service. Average rooms. It's attached to a 24-hour convenient store so that was nice. We neither loved it or hated it. Fine for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmWu0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015

Great location. They were able to give us info on good places to eat. We had a relaxing stay and enjoyed the service of the Staff. Close to everything, Uwajima castle is on the doorstep. Train station is just round the corner. Great old garden nearby is worth a visit.

Room Tip: View of the castle
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

One of the few good and clean hotel options in this city. We looked at four other hotels in similar price ranges in the extended vicinity around the train-station and this hotel came out the winner.
The other hotels were depressing in their condition and atmosphere and not inexpensive either. This hotel offered free parking which is not a given in most inner-city hotels in Japan.
The Oriental Hotel was reasonably priced for Japanese standards. A fairly typical business-type hotel. No English is spoken and there are is no restaurant attached to the hotel, thus no meal options. Being close to the train-station and a grocery store, it was easy to find alternate meal arrangements.
The front desk staff were kind enough to lend us two bicycles to tour the main sights of the the city with, which made life much easier and more convenient than taking the car and trying to find parking spaces.
In short: this is not a luxury hotel, but an efficient and cost effective business hotel, which I do not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Albatross199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2010

There are few accomodation options in Uwajima, probably because there are few reasons to be staying overnight in Uwajima. The Oriental hotel was the only hotel I could book online (at least in English), so we gave it a try. As we exited the JR station we looked into the distance and laughed and said it must be that building covered in scaffolding...and it was. The hotel itself feels kind of old inside with the smell of years and years of heavy cigarette smoke. Everything else was just sort of average and normal. The restaurant downstairs has a buffet breakfast for 600 yen, which turned out to be an amazing deal. This hotel was one of the more expensive ones we stayed in, and we're not really sure why.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joshiewoshie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews