We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Homestay!”
other travellers have booked this property
Goku's Homestay. We share homely atmosphere
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Goku's Homestay. We share homely atmosphere
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Goku's Homestay. We share homely atmosphere
Living room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Tim236
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect Homestay!”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed at Gokus homestay for five days to relax after travelling the north for two weeks. I find it hard to express just how much we enjoyed our stay at this lovely home. Santhosh and his wife Sheeja were nothing but friendly, warm and welcoming. We felt more like we had been accepted into a family than just mere guests. Sheeja often cooked great Indian food for us for very little extra fee. She also kept everything super clean. Santhosh was extremely helpful to us in planning the next steps of our trip: he arranged a stay on a houseboat for us as well as the transportation to our next destination and the accommodation there.
When we left we were actually sad to say good bye.
Apart from that, aleppey was also definitely worth the trip. Beautiful beaches, beautiful backwaters and very nice people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Alleppey. We are glad that you found your stay to be ‘Excellent’ and that we could delight you with our amenities and service standards. We are happy that you enjoyed the food offerings and will share your feedback with my wife Sheeja. Thanks for wonderful wordings and we too enjoyed that days. Keep in touch.
With regards to each and every one.
Santhosh, Sheeja & Goku.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa F
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent stay, not worth the money”
Reviewed 26 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We were unaware of the heat and hence booked a non AC hotel. This particular room is basically a homestay. Basic accommodation but climate was too hot. There is no TV in the room, no assistance with taking orders of food which usually the staff does otherwise in other hotels if they don't have their own kitchen. Toilet and bathroom is not connected to your room. U need to get out of the room and go one levelish high to access the bathroom which was quiet inconvenient. Basic amenities like glass to drink water plates were not available. We had to ask for it and then got it. With no tv, no amenities, bathroom not connected, no assistance for arranging food not worth for the money we payed. Nevertheless mr santosh was quiet helpful in guiding us where the restaurants were and also arranged for the canoe.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2016
Dear Vanessa, Thanks for the feed back, This is purely a HOMESTAY not a Hotel, which means you have all the freedom to use entire house including kitchen and our sitting room. About our homestay clearly states that rooms are Non Air condition, No TV with high ventilation, ( with both sealing fan and standing fan) On demand we would have served break fast or Dinner which you did not . When you visit any place its better to known the weather the attractions and local availability. If I knew you were not happy with this homestay I would have accommodated you in my other homestay ( Alleppey homestay which is AC rooms, communal TV but bit costly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
592gj
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect homestay experience”
Reviewed 25 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

While the accommodation is basic, Mr. santhosh and his family are not your basic hosts. Mr. santhosh met us near the house to make sure we conveniently find the place. The house is a heritage home - the construction has the old world charm.
Bottled water is provided free of charge. Since we say no to plastic, they were comfortable with us filing our reusable bottles from their kitchen.
We also opted for meals cooked by Sheeja in her home kitchen. Delicious ! They were also very flexible with our late checkout and let us hangout at their house since the rooms were rented. This gave us the opportunity to know the hosts more and spend time in the kitchen learning how to cook the famous fish curry.
Highly recommend the place and the people !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2016
Dear Geethanjali , We like to thank you for your wonderful review. We also wish you a happy journey ahead. Thank you once again and we are looking forward to welcoming you again to our homestay, your home away from home in Alappuzha. Hoping to see you very soon, keep in touch.
Warm Regards,
Santhosh & Family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reshma P
Mumbai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome homestay and houseboat stay”
Reviewed 13 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Awesome !! Awesome!! Awesome!! My family stayed for 2 nights in homestay and 1 whole day stay in the houseboat. My family felt the warmth and a perfect homestay. Mr. Santosh has provided top-class services with a personal touch. The food was awesome and wholesome, non-oily. And the houseboat experience is par excellent and a surprise package of Kerala trip.. Very clean, neat and new houseboat!!. A fabulous tour around Alleppey with tasty food all along!! Mr. Santosh and family made Alleppey stay very comfortable and most memorable.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jan 2016
Dear Reshma, Thank you for your wonderful wordings. It makes us very happy to know we could serve you to your expectations. Thank you once again and we are looking forward to welcoming you again to Goku’s homestay, .Hoping to see you very soon and wishing you to stay for a longer time.

With lots of thanks again&again...

Santhosh.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raghu_psh...
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice people, good ambience and good home stay experience”
Reviewed 14 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I travelled to Alleppey with my family and stayed 2 days. It is wonderful experience. They helped us to get good houseboat and comfort accommodation in the room.
Santhosh and his family were very friendly and provided us with information on the attractions to visit in our short time in Alleppey including the beach and local marketplace.

I would definitely recommend anyone who visits Kerala to stay at this home-stay.

Venkat
94449 05865

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: accommodation
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2015
Mr.Venkat and family extremely warm and friendly .. we hope they enjoyed our hospitality and warmth, Keep in touch.
take care.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing