We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
105
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
105
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the camp manager outdoor shower walking safari other guests amazing team wonderful place amazing adventure open air levy abel asilia guide game accommodations africa drive animals
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2019 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay here. Accommodations were rustic but very comfortable and the staff was amazing. Food was excellent and served in a beautiful common area.

Rooms:
Beautiful individual tented rooms with a deck in the middle of nature. You have to be escorted to/from your room by the staff when it’s dark just in case you encounter any wildlife. Each room had a comfy bed with a mosquito net, hot running water (although it’s not endless and we had a few issues that they fixed), toilet, indoor and outdoor shower, closet with bad for laundry services, and charging station at the desk. Everything we needed was supplied (flashlights, tissues, toiletries, laundry detergent).

Staff:
Everyone was so friendly and accommodating! Mary (camp manager) was great and very knowledgeable about the area, culture, etc. I love how they spent time with us during meals and made us feel like part of the family. Gregory was so funny and helpful. Everyone else was also fantastic and so friendly. They did a dance/song routine our last night and it was really fun to be part of.

Food:
Food was amazing! So much variation. Breakfast was a buffet with cold items and an egg station. Dinners were three courses served sort of family style. Cocktail hour by the campfire was accompanied by delicious homemade snacks. I was so impressed with all of the food. They also packed me a lunch to go on our last day because I have a hard time waiting to eat between early breakfast and late lunch, which was so sweet.

Highlights: Morning wake up calls were nice before early game drives. We loved the outdoor shower. Everything was so relaxed and peaceful, and we would wake up to the sound of birds. I was so sad when we had to leave and I definitely want to return.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Leah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Little Oliver's, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2019

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful overview of your time with us. We truly appreciate your review and the details you have mentioned.

It would be an absolute pleasure to have you back with us in Tarangire again so we do hope those special highlights will have you longing to return. We will be ready with a very warm welcome!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Little Oliver's Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2019

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Little Oliver's. The setting is spectacular, the accommodations lovely and comfortable, the food delicious, and the staff so friendly, engaging and caring we were so sad to leave. Highly recommend this jewel in the Tarangire.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Little Oliver's, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2019

Hello,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your review of your stay with us. It's wonderful to know how much you enjoyed your experience of Tarangire.

It would be a pleasure to have you back with us again to enjoy this spectacular setting. Do come back again soon!

Warmest regards from Tarangire,
The Little Oliver's Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2019

There are not enough words to say how special Little Oliver’s Camp is.
The tents have everything one needs to feel right at home, the beds and pillows and sheets are most comfortable. The outdoor shower overlooking elephants was remarkable.
The chef’s prepared beautiful meals, breakfast, lunch and dinner. We were there for our daughter’s birthday- the team came out singing, clapping and dancing and made a fantastic cake with her name on it! It certainly was a memorable birthday.
We took a walk with their guides and it was very safe and taught us much about the bush.
Spending time on the land, looking up to animals was a real treat.
Saving the best for last. The staff was as kind, warm and welcoming as could possibly be. They took great care of our laundry, served us wonderful wines and told us wonderful stories about Africa. We felt the manager, Levi was incredibly attentive and loved each person we met. The most remarkable thing happened in our last moments at the camp. We had a baby elephant come to the door of the lodge and we were having to stay put till the elephant family moved on.
The team took such great care of us, I will say it is one of my favorite experiences from a lifetime of traveling well. Little Oliver’s Camp is not to be missed.

Room tip: We loved room 3! It was close enough to the lodge.
Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sheffmauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Little Oliver's, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2019

Hello,

Thank you for this wonderful review! Your comments are so special and we truly appreciate you taking the time to post them. Your departure experience certainly added a final touch of wildlife excitement!

It would be an absolute pleasure to have you here with us again. We hope this favourite experience is one that you will long to repeat. Come back soon!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Little Oliver's Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2019

Part of the Asilia goup of camps, this was our first stay at Little Olivers and we were not disappointed.

Levy in particular, the camp manager, was highly personable and struck and excellent balance between being there and not. He was a particularly effective dinner host where on at least one night we were fortunate enough to have the camp to ourselves as all the action was farther south on the crossings. Having seen this already we decided to make a break from the crowds of people and jeeps and that certainly paid off.

Food was excellent as usual and our various dietary issues worked around without drama.

The camp is open so be prepared to have to radio for a guide to collect you if it is dark - animals come right through the camp and indeed we had three elephants around on the last day we were there which resulted in our lunch being beautifully served to us on our verandah rather than in the main communal area.

Thoroughly recommended. For use this struck the right balance between luxury and utility. If you are a hard-core safari nut / photographer / animal watcher then having a pool, yoga mats, an onsite masseuse and other niceties are things that you don't want to later realise you've paid for but not used. We take advantage of every game drive and spend the rest of the time downloading and editing files - other than good food, hot running water, a good bed and wifi there's little else we want or want to pay for in truth.

Highly recommended.

Room tip: Room 5 is a little farther to walk but you've got no true neighbours and we'd specify it in future!
Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jonathon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Little Oliver's, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2019

Hello Jonathon,

Thank you for your recommendation and this wonderful review. We truly appreciate your comments and the details you've mentioned. It's fantastic for us to know that we could be part of an ideal safari experience.

We do hope your first stay will not be your last! It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you here again.

Warmest regards from Tarangire,
The Little Oliver's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2019

We visited Tarangire specially to see elephant. We like Asilia camps and chose Little Oliver's for our 3 night stay. Levy and his team looked after us really well and made a real fuss over Jonathon for his birthday with a lovely cake and brilliant singing.

Room tip: Tent 5 is set apart from the others if you like to be somewhere quiet (but you'll still hear the animals as they wander around).
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Little Oliver's, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2019

Hello,

We love knowing that you enjoy Asilia camps and are so pleased you chose to spend some time here with us. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

It was a pleasure to host your group and to be part of those birthday celebrations. We look forward to the possibility of having you back here with us in the not too distant future!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Little Oliver's Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews