We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG”
Review of Little Chem Chem

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarangire National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Little Chem Chem
Reviewed 4 August 2017

This was our first stop on a 12 day safari and it was great. 6 tents which were beautiful looking out to the plain and a waterhole with Zebra, Wildebeest and an elephant. Great food served on a private patio with a fire in front of you. Game drives were amazing as we saw a leopard in the first 20 minutes and a lion and her cubs hiding just of the dirt track. Final night was surprised cocktail on the nearby dry lake bed with fire, snacks and portable bar while we watched the sunset. Amazing

Room Tip: All of the tents are similar and close to dining and arrival area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincktoAfrica, Manager at Little Chem Chem, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dear Steve S,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience at Little Chem Chem, we are so glad to hear about your wonderful experience to the start of your Tanzanian safari.

Your wildlife experience on the concession a short drive out of camp sounds wonderful, we are delighted to hear about this and that you loved the end of your stay with us on the dry lake bed, with a sundowner aperitif, watching the sunset over the horizon.

Warm wishes from the entire Little Chem Chem Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Had a wonderful day at this delightful camp. Adam, our ranger/guide, was wonderful and patient in finding lions. He took us to a long drive of the National Park the first day and found almost every animal except a rhino. The next two days he spent time driving around little Chem Chem's concession. The food and service was everything you could want. This is the way to camp in tent luxury!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincktoAfrica, Manager at Little Chem Chem, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2017

Dear L M,

Thank you for your lovely review, we truly appreciate the feedback from your stay with us.

Considering that Tarangire national Park does not have rhino, we are so glad to hear that Adam found you 'almost every animal'!

We are very happy to hear that the team looked after you so well,

Best wishes from Little Chem Chem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Little Chem Chem could be renamed Little Gem Gem, it is such a beautiful and secluded safari camp experience. It oozes comfort and luxury, the communal lounges beautifully appointed with sofas and furniture. The "tents" themselves are incredible, huge comfortable bed with every want catered for, and a phone for room service. The yoga mat is a nice touch, as are the lovely bath products, but what makes Little Chem Chem is the location. From your bed or your private porch you are literally metres away from zebras, wildebeest and elephants. Also, the food was the best we had in 9 days of safari across 3 great locations. It's what you would expect from a high-end restaurant, not a safari camp! Our guide Frank was excellent, very friendly and knowledgeable. We enjoyed being able to do a walk as Little Chem Chem's grounds are private. And sundowners by the lake were magical! All in all, Mina and Chris are running an amazing, boutique, luxury camp. Asante sana!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Fsamadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincktoAfrica, Manager at Little Chem Chem, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear Fsamadi,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Little Chem Chem.

We are so humbled to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and that our team catered to you so well, also that you appreciated our 'little touches'.

We will pass on your kind words to the team.

Warmest wishes from us all

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017

This camp is beyond belief. Never did we think we would find such a great place from all points of views: location, beautiful and comfortable tents done with taste, no frills, chandeliers in cristal or so called oriental carpets but subtle tones, natural weaves blending in the surrounding nature. Mina and Chris genuine care for the guests, always there when you need them and very discreet otherwise, never imposing anything. Not to mention the so helpful and charming staff. We had a young but very attentive butler by the name of John .The food is excellent and creative, as to the reason of a safari, seeing the game we could not have been more spoiled! Our guide Mike is a Maasai who loves his country, to him it is much more than a job, it is a passion he generously shares with you.
We saw plenty of animals from the leopard or the lion eating their preys or a family of lions, giraffes, zebras, Buffaloes, éléphants, impalas,water bucks, ostriches, jackals, vultures, an infinity of beautiful birds etc....but more than that we learned so much about their habits, what they eat, why their livery is dark or bright or.....
We could not recommend more this place even to senior traveller's like us (85!!) and of course to lovers of nature and perfection.
Congratulations to the owners French and Swiss we had no opportunity to meet but whose imprint you can feel in the smallest details.
Thank you so much to each one of you to have made our trip. ETHNOS

Room Tip: Each one of the five tents have a superb view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ethnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincktoAfrica, Manager at Little Chem Chem, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear ethnos,

Thank you for the detailed review of your stay at Little Chem Chem!

Your experience written is incredibly flattering, and we are so happy to hear that the entire experience and our ethos was appreciated by yourselves. We strive to create the moments you have mentioned, we are glad that you had such a wonderful stay with us and that our entire team looked after you so well.

Warmest wishes from the Little Chem Chem team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

We visited Little Chem Chem with our daughter and son-in-law. It was our second Safari camp and we were a bit concerned about too much repetition. We need not have worried, we had a wonderful time. The accommodations are lovely and the staff attentive ( they provided special drinks to help our upset stomachs) but what sealed the deal was our guide Shaban. Although we had been on game drives at our first Safari camp, he added much new information with his in-depth knowledge of every animal we encountered, from elephant to mongoose. The Location of the camp could not be better, it is on a watering hole and you can watch the animals under a spotlight while you have dinner but it is also near other watering holes and a large game area. For us, it was a perfect introduction to Tanzania!!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Sarene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincktoAfrica, Manager at Little Chem Chem, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Dear Sarene S,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Little Chem Chem!

We are glad to hear that you were so well looked after and that our team was attentive to your needs and stay. We will pass on your kind words to Shaban your guide.

Warmest wishes from us all,
The Little Chem Chem Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarangire National Park
34.7 km away
Tarangire Treetops
Tarangire Treetops
#2 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
407 reviews
13.6 km away
Tarangire River Camp
Tarangire River Camp
#12 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
279 reviews
21.6 km away
Tarangire Simba Lodge
Tarangire Simba Lodge
#9 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.9 km away
Sanctuary Swala
Sanctuary Swala
#6 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
232 reviews
33.0 km away
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
Tarangire Sopa Lodge
#8 of 29 in Tarangire National Park
613 reviews
39.0 km away
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
Manyara Wildlife Safari Camp
#5 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Chem Chem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Chem Chem

Address: Burunge Wildlife Management Area, Tarangire National Park 0000, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Tarangire National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Tarangire National Park
Price Range: R9 288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4,5 star — Little Chem Chem 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Chem Chem offers a big game safari in a private concession. Adjoining the Tarangire National Park with its baobab trees and overlooking Lake Burunge, the atmosphere at Little Chem Chem is welcoming, elegant and oozing authenticity of a bygone era. The luxury of sharing 16'000ha between only 10 guests sets the ideal stage where one can perfectly blend into the wilderness. Rates include all meals, house wines, beers, spirits, water and soft drinks (excluding connoisseur wine and champagne), laundry (hand washed) & internet access (Wi-Fi available in lounge area). Minimum stay of 2 nights. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing