We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$870
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ang'ata Tarangire Camp(Tarangire National Park)(Great Value!)
US$607
US$510
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Whistling Thorn Tented Camp(Tarangire National Park)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$221
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Tarangire Sopa Lodge(Tarangire National Park)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$683
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Roika Tarangire Tented Lodge(Tarangire National Park)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$314
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tarangire River Camp(Tarangire National Park)
US$709
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tarangire Treetops(Tarangire National Park)
US$1 512
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$67
US$64
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$21
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
49
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate concessionportable barwatering holefirst stophigh barluxury campsafari campwatched the sunsettwo nightswalking safaricomfortable bedsshabanconcessionsmongoosechrislakenature
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2017

This camp is beyond belief. Never did we think we would find such a great place from all points of views: location, beautiful and comfortable tents done with taste, no frills, chandeliers in cristal or so called oriental carpets but subtle tones, natural weaves blending in the surrounding nature. Mina and Chris genuine care for the guests, always there when you need them and very discreet otherwise, never imposing anything. Not to mention the so helpful and charming staff. We had a young but very attentive butler by the name of John .The food is excellent and creative, as to the reason of a safari, seeing the game we could not have been more spoiled! Our guide Mike is a Maasai who loves his country, to him it is much more than a job, it is a passion he generously shares with you.
We saw plenty of animals from the leopard or the lion eating their preys or a family of lions, giraffes, zebras, Buffaloes, éléphants, impalas,water bucks, ostriches, jackals, vultures, an infinity of beautiful birds etc....but more than that we learned so much about their habits, what they eat, why their livery is dark or bright or.....
We could not recommend more this place even to senior traveller's like us (85!!) and of course to lovers of nature and perfection.
Congratulations to the owners French and Swiss we had no opportunity to meet but whose imprint you can feel in the smallest details.
Thank you so much to each one of you to have made our trip. ETHNOS

Room Tip: Each one of the five tents have a superb view
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ethnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincktoAfrica, Manager at Little Chem Chem, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2017

Dear ethnos,

Thank you for the detailed review of your stay at Little Chem Chem!

Your experience written is incredibly flattering, and we are so happy to hear that the entire experience and our ethos was appreciated by yourselves. We strive to create the moments you have mentioned, we are glad that you had such a wonderful stay with us and that our entire team looked after you so well.

Warmest wishes from the Little Chem Chem team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

We visited Little Chem Chem with our daughter and son-in-law. It was our second Safari camp and we were a bit concerned about too much repetition. We need not have worried, we had a wonderful time. The accommodations are lovely and the staff attentive ( they provided special drinks to help our upset stomachs) but what sealed the deal was our guide Shaban. Although we had been on game drives at our first Safari camp, he added much new information with his in-depth knowledge of every animal we encountered, from elephant to mongoose. The Location of the camp could not be better, it is on a watering hole and you can watch the animals under a spotlight while you have dinner but it is also near other watering holes and a large game area. For us, it was a perfect introduction to Tanzania!!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Sarene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincktoAfrica, Manager at Little Chem Chem, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Dear Sarene S,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Little Chem Chem!

We are glad to hear that you were so well looked after and that our team was attentive to your needs and stay. We will pass on your kind words to Shaban your guide.

Warmest wishes from us all,
The Little Chem Chem Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We are a family of four with two boys 15 & 17 this was our first stop in Tanzania and we couldn't have asked for anything more. We were treated like family, I could have sat and talked to Mina all day. Francesco our guide was fantastic his knowledge, friendliness, willingness was the best we came across in Tanzania. Ezekeil our butler was outstanding if we could have taken him home with us we would have. Every other staff member we came across was a pleasure to speak to they were all so friendly and helpful. After Little Chem Chem we stayed in another 3 safari camps and Little Chem Chem was by far the BEST. On Little Chem Chem concession we saw so many animals up close and it was wonderful you could sit outside your tent and watch elephants, zebras, warthogs, wildebeest, giraffe all walk past within metres. We loved the night safaris because we got to see all the nocturnal animals. We went to a local school that Chem Chem support and donated sporting equipment & stationery that we had bought from home this was a fantastic experience. if we could give Liittle Chem Chem more stars than 5 we would give it 10. We would highly recommend Little Chem Chem for the place to say while in Tanzania.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank megcollinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincktoAfrica, Manager at Little Chem Chem, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Dear megcollinson,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review of your stay at Little Chem Chem.

We are very flattered to hear that your stay with us was simply the best during your safari through Tanzania and that it was a ten-star worthy experience!

Warmest regards from the entire camp,
The Little Chem Chem Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

After travel in southern Kenya and northern Tanzania, we arrived for two nights at Little Chem Chem. We were greeted by Mina and her friendly staff, in particular Peter and our safari guide Shaban. Since we were the only people staying at the camp we had an exceptional amount of attention, though I am sure they are just as helpful and hospitable with a full house. The tents are elegant and plush and arranged for a great view of the water hole and a small, distant lake. The camp is in a concession area and is quiet and private. The owners have made great strides in attracting animals from the adjoining Tarangire National Park and elephants have found the area around the camp very desireable. We saw many birds and other large and small mammals near the camp and were able to take two walking safaris during our stay. Both a welcome change from driving, which is great but walking is a very different and interesting perspective. Chris and Shaban provided the nature information and looked after our safety. The food was fresh and excellent and care was taken at every meal to provide what we wanted. We were even moved to different dining areas so we had a more fullfilling experience over the course of two days. Little Chem Chem is a gem and I highly recommend a stay, if you have the chance. Don't miss the Sundowners, they are a great experience and memorable.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bud_phillips2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincktoAfrica, Manager at Little Chem Chem, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2016

Dear bud_phillips2001

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your stay with us at Little Chem Chem!

We are very glad to hear about your experiences, and that you really enjoyed your adventure.

We will pass on your lovely comments to the camp team.

Best wishes and we hope to welcome you back again,
The Little Chem Chem Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

This camp was more rustic than it's big sister Chem Chem, but offered the amazing up close experience and easy access to the concession, that requires a 45 minute drive from the more luxurious main Chem Chem camp. The location meant more time to see the cheetahs and other local residents.
We had a fantastic experience here for my birthday...a warning...beware of the birthday cake "served" at sundowner! It looked real and was frosted...we laughed until our sides hurt!
The graciousness and warmth of the staff and our guide Shabon will stay with me for the rest of my life.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LincktoAfrica, Manager at Little Chem Chem, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Dear Robert S,

Thank you for the lovely review of your stay at Little Chem Chem!

We are delighted to hear that your birthday experience was such a surprise that it made 'your sides hurt'! We are truly touched to hear that your say with us will stay with you forever, we will pass on your kind words to Shaban.

We are glad to hear that you appreciated the wildlife experience on our private concession as well.

Best wishes form the Little Chem Chem Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews