We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (641)
Filter reviews
641 results
Traveller rating
599
34
4
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
599
34
4
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking safari outdoor shower other guests sundowner deck game drives tsetse flies share stories safari experience night safari the entire staff travel agent land cruiser creature comforts plenty of hot water fire pit an amazing experience spent nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 641 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2019

Our stay at Oliver's Camp was fantastic. From the initial greeting with warm hand towels from Jackson, Charles, Nicolas and others to the day we departed was an absolute joy. The room was so comfortable and allowed for a great experience to hear and be so close to the wildlife.
The food and service was fabulous, Jackson's staff were so helpful in making you feel at home and welcome.

Room tip: All rooms at this camp are individual cabins....
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cbroabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2019

Hello,

Thank you for this review and sharing your Oliver's Camp experience.

Our team enjoyed hosting you and we appreciate your kind word with such pride.

What a wonderful stay you had all around and we hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Until then, hold on to the fond memories!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Oliver's Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2019

This was the entry of our 10 day safari and TRULY a warm and wondrous home that we missed dearly leaving but was met with sweet exceedingly impressive experiences at each Asilia lodge to follow. Stanley was our comedian, friend, artist, and eagle eye expert! Mary was a best friend and inspiration for how we can encourage generations of women to come on their place in the bush, adventure tourism, conservationists and leaders! The staff of Asilia was a liberating force to experience every welcoming moment truly raising the bar for how to be better stewards of our planet and to one another. Genuine, unconditional hospitality is abundant here and their joy, colorful expression of culture and authentic friendship truly taught me how to become a better person and travel leader. So much love to Manja and all of the guides and the wonder women creating a momentum for female empowerment in the bush and the world at large!

Room tip: Ask the guides many questions!! They are a loving, willing, pool of expert knowledge
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katieroserevelries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2019

Hello,

We are so pleased we could be a fitting start to your incredible safari in East Africa. Thank you for your very special comments. It makes us all very proud to read them and we are thrilled that we could make such an impact on you and on your experience of Tanzania.

It would be an absolute pleasure for us to be able to host you and spend time with you again. We do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back for another stay!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Oliver's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2019

The situations, accommodation, service, food etc absolutely superb. The views are fantastic (though sadly another camp is now within sight). We all loved the outdoor shower! Only (slight) criticism was the night drive ( you have to use the camp's guide and spotter). He was obsessed with finding a leopard (have to say was a superb sighting) but really didn't see anything else except that - having 'ticked' the leopard we drove straight back to camp (a good 20 minutes and over 10km) driving back never stopped or 'spotted' anything... actually didn't see anything at night that I hadn't already seen with our own guide during the day.... not even an owl! And as we had already seen leopards at a previous park, wasn't a first either...... Yet another guide obsessed with finding 'big' animals and not listening to their guests.......

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pernickity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2019

Hello,

Thank you for your review of your time with us in Tarangire. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed so much of your stay in July!

We are obviously very sad to hear that your guide did not give you the type of night game drive experience you were hoping for. We do hope you mentioned it back then with either us or your agent so that we were able to investigate and address the improvements required. We pride ourselves on our incredible team and always want to ensure that special memories are made when on safari here.

It would be a pleasure to have you back here with us so we do hope we have an opportunity to welcome you again. The beautiful views, excellent accommodation, delicious food, and warm hospitality will all be waiting - along with an amazing game viewing experience!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Oliver's Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2019

We spent 2 nights at Oliver's camp and it was a memorable experience. It is such a beautiful camp in the middle of the unspoilt wilderness. The location is unique. Mary welcomed us with a big smile when we arrived after a full day safari and she was so nice and charming, explaining the rules and Jackson was also really good at explaining the night and day safari they organized. The tent are beautiful with such a view on the savane. All the staff were just so great! We really had fun and would like to go back!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank VeeVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2019

Hello,

Thank you for this wonderful review and sharing your Oliver's Camp experience.

We are thrilled that we were able to offer you the safari experience you have hoped for and contributed to your memorable stay.

We appreciate your kind recommendation and compliments to the team with such pride.

We are looking forward to that return stay!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Oliver's Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2019

Oliver's Camp is a long and beautiful drive from Tarangire's entrance with lots of sites to see along the way, including lion's in trees and a beautiful wetlands where elephants cool off and spectacular waterfowl abound, including an amazing white pelican! This was the last stop on our three week trip. We had already seen the Big 5 and a 20,000 strong wildebeest crossing of the Mara River in the Serengeti. Nonetheless, Tarangire may well have been the most beautiful of all the parks we visited and Oliver's Camp is special - quiet (albeit plenty of animals all over, including a pride of lions close by all night on our last night, with the old male groaning and asserting himself the whole night - and three elephants right outside our tent the night before. The night safari drive was a special adventure! The tents are comfortably appointed and feature indoor and outdoor showers! The staff was terrific in every respect, as it is at each Alisal property. Service as good as any five-star hotel in the west! Tarangire is a must stop if you are in East Africa and if you are in Tarangire, you don't want to miss Oliver's Camp! Everybody who stays there raves about it, and it is well-deserved!

Room tip: You can't go wrong!
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterZeug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsiliaAfrica, Manager at Oliver's Camp, Asilia Africa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2019

Dear Peter

Thank you for this wonderful review and sharing your Oliver's Camp experience.

What a safari adventure you had! We are thrilled that we were able to offer you the safari experience you have hoped for.

We appreciate your compliments to the team and kind recommendation.

Do come back soon for another memorable stay!

Warmest regards from Africa,
The Oliver's Camp Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews