We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (188)
Filter reviews
188 results
Traveller rating
179
7
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
179
7
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bush breakfast lake manyara masai village personal butler private concession portable bar private table absolutely blown away private guide every single meal management team masai guide every amenity each meal natural beauty game drives every night
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 188 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2019 via mobile

We went to Chem Chem for the animals. We fell in love because of the people.

Chem chem is a unique luxury safari experience. A spectacular lodge and private semi-Tented yet elegant accommodations set amidst a savannah of free roaming animals. We sat on our terrace while warthogs snorted by, watching wildebeasts, impalas, giraffes and zebras grazing in the field outside our room. The central lodge shares the view of animals while you dine in a stunning space of natural hues and elegant safari decor.

What cannot be adequately described in travel guides is the exceptional hospitality you will find at Chem Chem. The managers Shannon, Jared, & Elizabeth were constantly checking in on us, clearly working behind the scenes to ensure that our experience was perfect and exceeded our expectations.

Our main dining hosts, John & Francis, were one of the highlights of our time at Chem Chem. They made every effort to provide an outstanding dining experience, accommodated our dietary needs, and served the most spectacular meals we have experienced - both in Africa and the US! They taught us many sayings in Swahili, asante sana! We will always remember playing cards with John & Francis after dinner, while the fire pit glazed and lit up the Savannah, watching the impalas grazing in the distance. It was truly a memory our family will cherish forever.

And finally, the highlight of our experience at Chem Chem was spending days and evenings with our guide superior, Mike, who is both knowledgeable and entertaining. We all loved his stories and his gentle manner. We also deeply appreciated our time with Soquenie, our Masai guide who joined us on adventures, introduced us to a Masai family, and provided a unique insight into life in the Savannah.

Chem Chem is more than a venue, it is an experience that should be considered a must on a visit to Tanzania.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank slp1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ChemChem S, Manager at Chem Chem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2019

Dear slp1001,

We took great pleasure in reading the beautiful tale of your stay with us at Chem Chem, thank you for taking your time to write about your special experiences with us and the people that made those moments memorable.

We have shared this with the team here and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warmest salaams from us all at Chem Chem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2019

New definition of spoiled: being the only guests at Chem Chem, with a large staff, great kitchen and the run of the place. But, even if you have to share it, Chem Chem is a marvelous place to unwind from what may be more intense, and at least slightly less elegant safari locations. Chem Chem's location allows for game viewing from the public rooms and from all the tented rooms. You will see, without effort, a wide variety of game as they go about their business during the day. In your room, the game is even closer, though always at a comfortable distance. The rooms themselves are large, comfortable and very well equipped. The staff, especially our butler, John, were all attentive, friendly and very well trained. The food at Chem Chem is also special, beautifully cooked and presented. Our guide, Albert, was as knowledgeable as any we had generally, and knew more about stars and birds than any we encountered. He was also a very pleasant companion, who enjoyed our drives as much as we did, far as we could tell. Sundowns at the lake were beautiful. Lunch at a watering hole on the property was wonderful. Viewing a large group of very happy elephants in a larger watering hole later was even more special. Chem Chem does not have the best game viewing, for that head to the Mara or Maswa, but it does have excellent viewing, and if you enjoy birds and plants and trees as much as animals, as we do, you will be engaged fully and happily on your drives. In short, an elegant end to our trip, which I would encourage you to include in yours.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wazito
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ChemChem S, Manager at Chem Chem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2019

Dear Wazito,

Thank you for taking the time to detail your stay with us, we are truly delighted to read about your experiences and we will pass on your kind words to the team here.

Warmest wishes from us all at Chem Chem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2019

I'm not sure I've ever reflected back on a lodging experience and felt such a longing to return -- not only out of the sheer beauty of the place, but because of how loved the people made me feel. That is Chem Chem -- absolute attention to detail, saturated in kindness. This lodge is nothing stuffy. They truly make you feel at home, like family.

Our guide for our time there, Albert, made our group feel as if we'd been pals for years. So down to earth. So knowledgeable. I've met few people who can balance professionalism and friendship as well as him. If you can request him as your guide, you'll be in for a treat! Our Maasai guide, Saruni, also added to our experience -- inviting us to help him start the evening campfire with a wooden dowel and hay. I went jogging with him one morning as the sun was rising (if you enjoy jogging, don't miss this opportunity!). Mbogora, Cosmas and Juma, who were with us from the first minute of our arrival up until our departure, tended to us with such care.

While your time at Chem Chem will undoubtedly include memories of pristine wildlife, my guess is that some of your highlights will be your conversations with the Chem Chem team. If you're traveling to Tanzania, ending your trip with a stay at Chem Chem will most likely be the cherry on top of your journey. In every way, this lodge is a gift of a place to visit.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Taylor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ChemChem S, Manager at Chem Chem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2019

Dear taylorstaste

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed, personal experience you had with us at Chem Chem. We are truly delighted to read how the small details, and our team made your stay an unforgettable experience.

We will pass on your wonderful words to the team and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Warm salaams from us all at Chem Chem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2018

Everything is well thought!! We had the perfect holiday! You will get surprises that will last you a lifetime!
Excellent service, good food, game drive experience, we can't thank them enough for everything!
Ms Christelle Theck, Lodge Manager, really knows how to treat her guests. We were really in good hands. Everything was well taken care of.
Chem Chem is definitely the place to be!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kathylo2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LincktoAfrica, Manager at Chem Chem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Dear kathylo2016,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us at Chem Chem. We feel truly humbled to read about it, and we have passed on your kind words to the team.

Warm wishes from us all,
The Chem Chem team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

Our family of 3 kicked off our first-time-ever visit to African with a two-night stay at Chem Chem Lodge and my only complaint is that we didn't plan to stay longer. This visit exceeded our expectations. First, the staff was incredible! From lodge manager Kelly (who was there to greet us upon every return and had incredible insight and advice on the area) to our spectacular guide Mike (whom my husband can't stop raving about) to Francis, who took care of our every need, to the rest of the amazing staff... WOW! We are forever spoiled by their attention to detail and care.

The food was also crazy good and abundant. I will add that one memory that will always stick with me is the delivery of freshly brewed coffee to our tent early in the morning as the birdsong began to rise. Sitting on our bed, looking out at the wildlife beginning their morning commute and sipping some of the best coffee around...it was magical!

Speaking of tents... that word does not do these accommodations justice. We were generously offered two tents (sort of connected...) so that our son could have his own sleeping quarters. Both were luxuriously appointed and incredibly comfortable. The bathrooms were also well appointed and appointed. Our only complaint was that with the showers -- even after provided with advice on getting the water temperature just right -- we were only able to take scalding hot or freezing cold showers (we opted for the latter, but not without a lot of whining from the 12 yo!)

The safari experiences too were beyond belief. Because we arrived mid-day on our first day, we were invited to take a walking safari in the late-afternoon with Mike and our Maasai guide Melita (a true gem!). We learned (and saw!) so much on our bush walk just outside the property. I won't spoil what ended up being the most magical surprise, but suffice it to say, it won't be forgotten...ever! As we only had one full day for a safari, Kelly and Mike both strongly recommend that we visit the nearby Tarangire National Park to see as much as possible. It did not disappoint. What an adventure!

Every minute at this Lodge was such a delight. While we would love to go back and visit its nearby sister property, Little Chem Chem, we'd be hard pressed to not want another Chem Chem Lodge experience too!

Thank you to the incredible staff. I highly, highly recommend a stay at Chem Chem Lodge.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
LincktoAfrica, Manager at Chem Chem Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Dear Serena L,

Greeting from all us of at Chem Chem!

Thank you for taking your time to write in detail about your experience with us at Chem Chem, its a true pleasure to read about all the small details.

We are flattered and humbled to hear about how attentive the team was, and that all the small details were to your appreciation and liking! We will pass on your message to everyone here.

Warm salaams,
the Chem Chem team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews