We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
113
28
16
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
28
16
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mike nel zulu dancing the reserve game drives boma dinner zulu night zulu battlefields great drive school children tourist trap bush walk local children south africa three nights local style special place battle field
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2016

Taking into consideration that all properties in Roarkes Drift are expensive we found this not up to our expectations. Very eco, no fridge, tv or internet and whilst the staff were excellent not sure cost was justified and would not recomend.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank N9781ZVmargarets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWilson1205, Marketing Assistant at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2016

Thank you for your comments. This is a remote destination and as such wifi is not something that is easy to get in the area.

We will pass your comments on to our Operations Manager who will take your comments into consideration as we strive to improve guest experiences.

Regards,
Dee Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2016

What an amazing gem of a place to stay in the area of the battlefields. The staff are wonderful, the accommodation superb, and the whole ambience is second to none. The views from the pool are great. The restaurant, food and its preparation are really top class. The helpfulness of all the staff is a shining example. Many thanks for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dickthed0c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWilson1205, Marketing Assistant at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2016

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so thrilled you had such an awesome stay.

We do try to go out of our way for guests and its lovely when we get feedback like this letting us know when we do something right.

Best Regards,
Dee Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2015

A wonderful place away from all anxiety and stress. The view from the pool to the incredible expanse of KwaZulu-Natal will remain unforgettable. I would like to highlight the exceptional hospitality and care that was given to us by the manager team. We rarely on our many trips so open-minded, facing and pleasant service as experienced by all of the staff. Thanks a lot for this!!! The food is excellent, the ambiance intimate. Highly recommended for a quiet day in a magical setting!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Helmut W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DWilson1205, Marketing Assistant at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2015

So thrilled you had such a good time at Isibindi Zulu Lodge.

Please come back and visit us again soon.

Regards,
Dee Wilson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2015

Even though it is a hard place to get to and try not to get there in the dark. The place is sooo wonderful that it is worth the drive. Rooms are clean and very comfortable. It can never be too busy because they only have 6 huts and by huts I mean really nice huts. The food is absolutely fabulous and is prepared with great care. The management is very nice and helpful but for me the staff of 6 black people were the best. They want to do anything for you to make your stay great. We are really so happy we went here and I am glad we didn't miss it. Please remember that the black staff is not paid a lot of salary and I hope you will not forget to tip them because they deserve more than they get. Do it in cash because in my experience when you put tips on credit cards the money doesn't always go to the right people. The staff loves extra cash because they would like to have money to spoil themselves once or twice with a coke which they have to pay for and management doesn't. Anyway please don't forget the people you don't always see but work very hard to please you. I can't wait to go back there and let them spoil us. IT WAS GREAT. Thank you. Sincerely, Margriet and Steve

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dutchgirl350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsibindiAfrica, General Manager at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2015

Dear Margriet and Steve

Thank you for your lovely compliments of the Team at Zulu Lodge. Being an intimate lodge the staff do luckily have the opportunity to spend some quality time with their guests. We are very happy to hear that you did manage to experience this.

Our Team have been working for a fair amount of time now at the lodge and have formed a lovely bond.

I would like to take the opportunity to assure you that all staff at the lodges are treated as fairly as can be with respect to their seniority. We do have a standard rule in place whereby all staff pay a staff rate for their drinks no matter what position they hold.

Our Team have put in a tremendous effort and we are certainly just delighted to see that they are reaping the rewards.

Many thanks again,

Barbara Du Plessis
Operations Manager
Isibindi Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2015

Nice cosy lodge for a cultural and historic experience.
Maximum of 12 guests with a lot of personal attention and helpful management and personel. Quality of food and service excellent.
When in the area will visit again for sure.


  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsibindiAfrica, General Manager at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2015

Dear MichelG

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are always delighted to hear our guests feedback.

We hope you will visit again in the future.

Best Wishes,

Barbara Du Plessis
Operations Manager
Isibindi Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews