We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveller rating
113
29
16
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
29
16
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mike nel zulu dancing the reserve game drives boma dinner zulu night zulu battlefields great drive school children tourist trap bush walk local children south africa three nights local style special place battle field
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 160 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2015

With only 6 lodges in a lovely location this should have been idealistic, but it was such a disappointment, no choice for dinner, very regimented as soon as dinner was over the bar was closed and that was it,no atmosphere. One night we were the only guests and we were expected to have dinner with the manager her partner and her boss it was shocking, no afternoon tea as advertised on the website and the next day stale muffins and fruit salad which consisted of chopped up apples. Dreadful

Room Tip: Don't go you will be dissapy
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sally537977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsibindiAfrica, General Manager at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2015

Dear Sally537977

It is a great disappointment to us to hear that you found your stay at Zulu Lodge not up to your expectations.

The Managers do apologize for not having given you the option at the time to dine alone on your last evening. With the quaintness of the lodge and the cold winter nights it is common practice for them to host dinner with the guests at the lodge dining table with the warmth of the fire place in the background. They have noted that in future they will offer to all guests the choice of private dining or communal dining. This is usually offered when it is evident that there are language barriers amongst the guests. Thank you for advising us of your preferred choice.

It is surprising to hear that you did not see the tea service during your stay. The afternoon tea is presented daily. Perhaps this might have been cleared before you came through to the main lodge. The Managers have mentioned they will ensure not to remove the Tea until they are sure all the guests have been able to help themselves.

Even with the remote location of the lodge, the kitchen do strive to present freshly prepared and baked items for the guests. Breads, cakes and muffins are baked daily at the lodge. We have addressed the matter with the kitchen and perhaps they might have left the muffins in the oven a little too long that morning. Their profuse apologies for this. Closer supervision will be given to the kitchen. As an ongoing practice, the chefs do receive in-house training to better their skills. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We do hope that the rest of your trip went well.

Yours sincerely
Barbara Du Plessis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2015

Beautiful setting. Individual rondavels in Zulu style are comfortable and delightful. We had a wonderful guided tour of the local Zulu battlefields with local guide Mike Nel. The second day our hosts took us out for a game drive and a picnic. Very relaxing place to stay with great service.

Room Tip: The honeymoon rondavel was great
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliveandanne35a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsibindiAfrica, General Manager at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2015

Dear cliveandanne35a

Thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay. We are delighted to hear that you found the picnic lunch so enjoyable. It certainly is a lovely reserve to enjoy.
We will pass on your compliments to Mike. He is a fantastic guide!

Wishing you a lovely day further,

Best Regards,
Barbara Du Plessis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Our stay was fantastic.The staff were great. The traditional Zulu meal was interesting!!
The bedrooms and bathrooms were wonderful.

Ask to do the Blood River and Zulu cultural tours with Mike Nel - well worth it - he was awesome!




  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Silvia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsibindiAfrica, General Manager at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2015

Dear 305guestp

Thank you for your compliments about the food and staff. It is always very encouraging to have lovely feedback from our guests. We will certainly pass your compliments to the team and to Mike as well.

Have a lovely day,

Best Regards,
Barbara Du Plessis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2015

It was great being faraway from the hustle and bustle of the cities. Peaceful, scenery is just beautiful for those nature lovers. Ideal for some quality time with your partner. amazing!!!! i would definitely go back again.


  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lucky832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsibindiAfrica, General Manager at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2015

Dear Lucky832

Thank you for your post on your stay at Zulu Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with you.

We certainly would very much look forward to your return again one day!

Have a lovely week ahead,

Regards,
Barbara Du Plessis
Isibindi Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015

The person who run the place was very nice, also the staff was very friendly. The place has seen better times and has become a little old. Overall it was a good experience, especially because of the culture evening.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 956eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IsibindiAfrica, General Manager at Isibindi Zulu Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2015

Dear 956eva

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us.
We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable time.
We are currently in talks of a long awaited revamp of the lodge and hope that on your next visit you will notice the wonderful changes we have made.
Have a lovely evening further,

Kind Regards,
Barbara Du Plessis
Operations Manager
Isibindi Africa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews