We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaokoland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris Serra Cafema Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2017 via mobile

Very unique and charming place which make you feel that you are on another planet.
Magic views and most unusual setting. The Quad drive is a MUST.
Very efficient and friendly staff. Delicious food and very confortable rooms.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Courche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Serra Cafema Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2017

Dear Courche,

Thank you for the fantastic review and high praises, we are thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your stay with us and glad you had so much fun on the quad bikes. We will be sure to share your kind words with all the staff in camp.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Wilderness Safaris Serra Cafema Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2017

It's all there in previous 5 star excellent reviews and I find it hard to think of anything new to say.

We found this a relaxed and charming camp. Although there were very enjoyable activities that we did, we found the emphasis on wonderful service and lovely food and Magda, Natti and the team truly delivered in those areas. The staff were so attentive and seemed to enjoy their work, which in turn made us even more relaxed.

There is a slower pace to staying at this camp. In my opinion you don't go here for wildlife viewing, as you might at other camps. There is obviously some wildlife, like crocodiles in the Kunene River, but that is not the emphasis, with none of the 5.30am starts we had at other camps. It's maybe the type of place to visit towards the end of your trip to Namibia, just to get your breath back, rather than early on in your adventure.

The 8 rooms are well spread out and private. We had room 8, furthest from the main area, but with a superb view down the Kunene River, next to the rapids. I think this is the best room.

We stayed 3 nights, which allows you two full days and the late afternoon of the day you arrive. That was long enough to enjoy a short sundowner, boat trip on the river, quad bike trip, visit to a Himba village and also a walk, accompanied by our excellent guide Liffius.

The scenery you see when flying to this remote camp is jaw-dropping. Miles and miles of ever changing landscapes, with absolutely no visible tracks or human habitation. It's just so dry, and yet the landscape is covered with ancient waterways that thousands of years ago would have carried water. Then you have a drive of around 1.5 hours to the camp, which is cleverly hidden away in the trees on the bank of the river.

** We would certainly go back, and might spend more than 3 nights there as a get away from it all stay!

We have also reviewed other Wilderness Safaris Camps at Hoanib Skeleton Coast, Doro Nawas and Desert Rhino…… all excellent but so different to each other.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NGPAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Serra Cafema Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Dear NGPAT,

Thank you for your beautiful review, we are thrilled to read all your fabulous memories of your stay with us and glad to see our staff were able to help make it the great experience it was. although much more laid back than other Wilderness camps you are spoilt for choice in the variety of activities on offer, we are glad t see you took part in so many.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017

We had one of the most special and amazing travel experiences of our life during our three nights at Serra Cafema. The remoteness, vastness, staggering beauty and idyllic setting is transportive. You can't help feel that you are somewhere special.

The staff of the camp is exceptional - on of the rest we've ever experienced in our many travels. Perhaps because of the remoteness of the camp, there is a palpable ethos, culture and sense of family at the camp. When we pulled away after our stay we felt like we were leaving friends who we had known forever. There we so many incredibly thoughtful touches - dinner on the deck of our room, the always present hot towels and drinks upon our return, specially printed menus for my vegan wife, special baked goods in our room, etc. But the warmth and friendliness of the staff were the magic. Special shout out to our incredible guide - Darrius. Again, one of the best we've ever had. And to Albert, Joe, Caroline, Yolinde, Ties, Derrick and the wonderful chef Matthew and the not-to-miss-masseuse Anitha.

The camp has new managers - married couple Magda and Nati, South Africans who are new to Wilderness Safaris, but long-time tourism professionals. When we were there they had had been at the camp only a coulee of weeks. They are terrific. Professional, caring, diligent, knowledgable and clearly doing something they love. The camp is in great hands with the new managers and they were instrumental in making our stay so memorable.

The Himba visit is incredible. There are two settlements about a 20 minute drive from camp. Again, its hard not to feel like you're experience something special. We spent about an hour and a half with the HImba, who were were very warm, forthcoming and welcoming.

The quad biking is a must. Just remarkable scenery scooting through the dunes, mountains. We also did some great early morning hikes from camp with our guide, Darrius.

The food is terrific, the rooms all huge and on the river. The camp has undergone a few floods over recent years and the physical lodge can best be described as rustic luxury. Apparently there are plans for a renovation.

If you like adventure, remoteness, best in class service, staggering beauty and a unique cultural experience you must go to Serra Cafema. For us, it was one of the most exceptional and memorable travel experiences we have had.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same layout, though not all are on the river. We had room 7 which was terrifi...
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mike g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Serra Cafema Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Thank you Mike for your wonderful review, we will be sure to share your beautiful words with Darius, Magda, Nati, Anitha and all the great staff in camp. The quad biking is a great treat and glad to see how much fun you had. We hope you will visit us again soon once the planned renovations are completed.

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016

We spent 3 nights at this incredible location. The remoteness and the fact you are on a beautiful river in the desert makes this a unique experience. The highlights were the magnificent scenery, quad biking and hiking through the desert, unique desert birds and a great guide, Liffius. The lodge is luxurious but rustic with very good service and food BUT make sure you get a river facing room, particularly room 8. Best room at the Lodge.

Room Tip: room 8 definitely, must face the river and Angola
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank steve-jax-jhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Serra Cafema Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Dear steve-jax-jhb,

Thank you for your beautiful words we are thrilled to read how much you enjoyed this unique location as well as your time spent with us. We look forward to sharing your kind words with Liffius and all the staff in camp.

Thank you again
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016

this was our third stop on a 12 night Namibia tour. The ride from the airstrip to the lodge was over an hour on really bumpy roads - be prepared.

The lodge is really really dated, and the rooms are showing lots of signs of wear. Our front door was warped and only opened 2 feet. They have had a few floods, so are building a new one 100' away, higher up on the river banks. They say they are doing this next year (2017), but keeping the existing location going until the new one is finished.

I would NOT stay at Serra Cafema in the existing lodge, and probably not while they are constructing the new one. Hopefully in late 2017, when the new one is done, and you see some review it would be ok to try out...

The excursions are ok. The river boat ride was nice, but not memorable. It borders Angola, so you can stop and have sundowners illegally in Angola if you wish.

We did the quad bikes on the sand dunes, which was a lot of fun...

The village visit to the native nomadic people was pretty intense. We have done a few of these "village visits" and are using disappointed - everything seems made ready for tourists and feels like we are looking at them and taking pictures like in a zoo. I am generally uncomfortable with these things... With that said, this seemed the most "authentic" of any of the villages we have seen. I recommend this if you are interested in having a short interaction with the local people.

Food and service were ok, but not great. Disappointing, considering the price. Plated meals, with 2-3 choices.

All in all, I am glad we included it on the itinerary, but suggest you don't visit until the new lodge is built and reviewed.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WildernessSafaris, Public Relations Manager at Wilderness Safaris Serra Cafema Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Dear blg123,

Thank you for your kind review, we are thrilled to read how much you enjoyed the time you spent with the local Himba people and glad this was such a great experience. We are sorry to hear this was not followed through with the rest of your stay. You are correct there are plans in place for the rebuilding of this camp ad we hope that you will visit us again once this is all complete and enjoy the new revamped Serra Cafema.

Kind regards
Wilderness Safaris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaokoland
0.0 km away
Opuwo Country Lodge
Opuwo Country Lodge
#1 of 2 in Opuwo
371 reviews
0.0 km away
Okahirongo Elephant Lodge
Okahirongo Elephant Lodge
#2 of 11 in Kaokoland
84 reviews
0.0 km away
andBeyond Sossusvlei Desert Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Okahirongo River Camp
Okahirongo River Camp
#8 of 11 in Kaokoland
19 reviews
0.0 km away
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
#1 of 15 in Outjo
709 reviews
0.0 km away
Onguma the Fort
Onguma the Fort
#1 of 36 in Etosha National Park
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Serra Cafema Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Serra Cafema Camp

Address: Kunene River, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Kunene Region > Kaokoland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Kaokoland
Price Range: R11 115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Wilderness Safaris Serra Cafema Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amongst shady trees on the banks of the Kunene River, Serra Cafema is one of the most remote camps in southern Africa, its Portuguese name originates from the mountains that dominate the northern skyline. Guests fall alseep to the sound of rushing water, while by day they explore one of the driest deserts in the world. The camp's eight unique canvas and thatched chalets, each with its own en-suite bathroom, show great attnetion to detail; the elevated decks and simple structures of wood, canvas and thatch create a camp that is at one with its surroundings. The dining room and pool look out over the Kunene River. Activities here are varied, including boating (seasonal), walking, viewing breathtaking landscapes,as well as carefully guided quad-bike excursions that tread lightly on the dunes. In this isolated region, the Himba people continue their nomadic, traditional way of life and when in the area, offer guests the opportunity to learn about their lifestyle and traditions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Serra Cafema Camp Hotel Kaokoland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing