We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun, sea, infinity pool, real people, best relaxation”
Review of Mnarani Club & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mnarani Club & Spa
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kilifi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 December 2016

A wonderful diamond in the rough in Kenya. Everything you could want in a magical getaway. Wonderful management team - thank you Henk and Elma. Friendly, funny staff who become friends before you know it. Turquoise water for all those aqua bunnies. An earthy spa with delightful therapists - thank you Caroline and Lucy! A beach bar to have a Tusker or champagne. Remember, this is in the heart of Africa ....you'll experience the raw beauty which includes bugs and sand and wind.

Take your sunscreen. Lots. Mosquito repellent. Flat shoes, beach hat, comfy clothes...that's all you'll need. Throw in a few creature comforts to snack on on between. All the fresh air makes you hungry. And bring your patience....there is something special about African timing Hehehhehehe

Room Tip: The sea view room is great for sunrise pictures and close to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TracyDan102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
henkmnarani, General Manager at Mnarani Club & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Hallo Tracy,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a awesome review.

It was a real pleasure to have you here.

We hope that we will see you in the near future again for sum more "Sun, sea, infinity pool, real people, best relaxation"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

Henk and Elma are one of the nicest couples around and look after this place really well! Such good value for money - not expensive so don't expect much, but the rooms are nice and simple, they have one of the nicest pools on the coast! Food is average but acceptable! We come here every year and will keep doing so!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016

We've just got back after a month in Mnarani, a very good stress free holiday right from the point of being picked up at Mombasa airport by the hotel transport. Most of the staff is the same, and its nice to be remembered from last year ( for good reasons I hope ). The food has always been good, but I feel is even better this year - my wife is now suffering from chocolate dessert withdrawal symptons, many thanks to the kitchen staff who now have a friend for life. We made regular use of the Spa which certainly helps with aches and pains at our age, not all the efforts of the animators over the last four years have got us to do water aerobics, but you really should try coconut bowling - provided you don't mind losing to a five year old! The even shows were good, and we were pleased to see that the guitar Men were still there. One thing we learnt this year was that the hotel exchange rate was around 10% better than we could get in Europe.
Will we be going back? Of course we will .

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyP90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016

I attended a cocktail party.

We were received well. They have good facilities with access to the beach. it's located at the Kilifi creek, the beach is not good for swimming, but if you would like to have a cool breeze; it's a nice place to go. I liked the pool though- very calming

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Tabiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016

We first visited about 10 to 15 years ago and it was very nice. I was a little reluctant about coming back as I usually find the 2nd time isn't as good.
However this visit has changed that completely.
This place has gone from very nice to excellent.
We had a creek room which was really nice and serviced by John, who every day made sure we had fresh flowers and made the bed in a different way every day for 2 weeks.
We went for the half board buffet option in the restaurant and the choice and quality was excellent, as hard as I tried I always ended up eating a little too much.
The restaurant staff were excellent from the chefs to the waiters, very friendly and relaxed but 100% on the ball. Made each meal a real pleasure. Special thanks to Rickson and MacDonald for looking after us so well.
We had lunch at the beach bar most days and were really looked after by Dida.

A new thing since we came before is 3 Degrees South.
We specifically came to take our RYA level 2 dinghy course having caught the sailing bug this summer.
The centre is run by Anne and Jo.
One may assume that being in Kenya that perhaps the standard of certain things aren't what it they are here in the Uk.
You would actually be correct, at least in my experience, it is of a far far higher standard.
After a couple of sessions on the water, it is very apparent that Anne and Jo are 100% on it.
Before anything happens they are on the radios making sure the safety boat has also seen it (they always had), The safety look out on the jetty is also aware (he always was) which made it a very reassuring place to learn how to sail.
The equipment was in really good condition and was always available.
The instructors Snero, Ali, Athman, Kevin, David and Swalay (sorry if I've spelled someones name incorrectly) were a real pleasure to be around, very relaxed but again 100% on the ball.
Finally Milo the super dog, he really is.
I could go on and on about how much we enjoyed it but to simple say we are going back again in January to do our RYA level 3 hopefully says it all.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beaubleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilifi
1,5 km away
Makuti Villas Resort
Makuti Villas Resort
#4 of 6 in Kilifi
29 reviews
39,7 km away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
39,1 km away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#12 of 26 in Watamu
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31,4 km away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
1 208 reviews
6,3 km away
Silver Palm Spa and Resort
5 km away
Kilifi Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mnarani Club & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mnarani Club & Spa

Address: B 8, Kilifi, Kilifi 80108, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Kilifi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kilifi
Price Range: R 1 167 - R 1 563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mnarani Club & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the cliffs of Kilifi Creek, just where the creek meets and merges with the Indian Ocean, Mnarani provides perfectly for the beach and turquoise ocean under one foot and the activity and adventure of creek-life under the other. Kilifi lives and breathes the gentle sea breeze, at the edge of the ocean, between Malindi and Mombasa. Set in 40 acres of landscaped tropical garden, fragranced by Frangipani blossoms and balmy ocean breezes, Mnarani is an idyllic retreat and holiday destination. Mnarani offers you the true African experience with excellent service always offered with a smile. Explore the coast north of Mombasa and take advantage of the brilliant diving and sailing opportunities. Daily entertainment and fine cuisine complete your fun filled days and make for an excellent holiday for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Mnarani Club & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mnarani Hotel Kilifi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing