We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Couples Getaway”

Review of Majestic Overlook

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
12 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 28
Gatlinburg, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Melmel1
Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couples Getaway”
Reviewed 10 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Let me start by saying, this cabin is beautiful and it was perfect for our couples weekend.
We really enjoyed the balcony and the Jacuzzi. Each bedroom had its own private bath and balcony.. We had a great weekend.
In my humble opinion, I think should make sure the cabin is clean before the other guest come. We had to contact housekeeping when we arrived for them to dust and wipe things down. Also some of the furniture was worn down and broken. I think after several stays by guest, furniture should be replaced.. Other than that, it was great cabin.. We will come back.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
Dear Melmel1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We regret that you were disappointed by some aspects of your stay. Please accept our apologies for what is not indicative of our service levels and we can assure you that our housekeeping and maintenance department is taking your feedback seriously. We are grateful that you chose to spend your vacation with us. We hope to welcome you and your family back to provide you with an exceptional level of service on your next trip to the Smoky Mountains.

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The View
Liked least: lack of attention to details.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
25 Jul 2016
Dear cjmauss45,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We regret that you were disappointed by some aspects of your stay. Please accept our apologies for what is not indicative of our service levels and we can assure you that our housekeeping and maintenance department is taking your feedback seriously. We are grateful that you chose to spend your vacation with us. We hope to welcome you and your family back to provide you with an exceptional level of service on your next trip to the Smoky Mountains.

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jayandjes...
Kuttawa, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couples Retreat”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Let me start by saying this is one of the very few cabins in the area appropriate for a couples retreat. Only one bed in each room with a private bath. We have stayed here for the last 4 years. Each year our experience seemsto be a little less pleasing than the time before . The rates continue to go up but the repairs to this gorgeous cabin are not being made. We started our stay with no air conditioning. Wyndham was great to send someone right on out to fix it. A bit later we find we have no cable or wifi. It was too late to call someone and we really didn't want a repair man in our cabin that time of night. The oven had apparently not been used in a long time because when we started it, the entire cabin filled with smoke. We let it air out and eventually whatever it was burned out. Bedtime comes and the couple in the upper left front facing room takes a bath only cause the couple in the room below (also taking a bath) to be showered by a waterfall coming through the roof! Water was coming out of light bulbs and everything. We got that cleaned up and went to bed. Morning came and I called maintenance. They came right on out to fix the cable and wifi, but just warned us to not shower in that room and they would check it out once our stay was over. My room... We turned on the jets to the tub and dead bugs came out everywhere! I understand this was probably just from it not being used, but yuck. Maintenance was great about being very tenative, but this cabin needs some major repairs. It is a beautiful cabin perfect for a couples getaway but must have some tlc to continue attracting visitors.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2016
Dear jayandjess641,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We regret that you were disappointed by some aspects of your stay. Please accept our apologies for what is not indicative of our service levels and we can assure you that our housekeeping and maintenance department is taking your feedback seriously. We are grateful that you chose to spend your vacation with us. We hope to welcome you and your family back to provide you with an exceptional level of service on your next trip to the Smoky Mountains.

Yours in hospitality,
Amy P
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany C
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dangerous and Dirty!”
Reviewed 29 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
5
people found this review helpful

This cabin is, as shown in the photos, absolutly stunning. Its also unfortunately not well kept. When we first arrived, before entering the cabin, we walked on to one of the decks. I leaned on the railing to admire the view and almost fell over! The railings are broken! Every single one of them! There is no warning of this. It is only a matter of time before someone leans on a rail and does not react fast enough and falls down the mountain to their death! We had small children who could not go on the decks because of this. Before we entered the cabin a woman pulled up and asked if we wait because she would like to check the cabin first.... you mean the cabin hasn't been checked yet? I just drove 14 hours from Wisconsin and the cabin hasn't been checked? Before she left I asked her if they are aware of the dangerous railings and she informed me that they know but the owners have not approved the repairs yet. Then there was the cleanliness or lack there of. I can not believe they charge a $500 cleaning fee! The place was not clean! Stains everywhere. Absolutely FILTHY floors! The view is beautiful... as long as you don't look down. Trash scattered EVERYWHERE! The tables had tons of dried food on them. Every photos hanging on the wall was crooked. The hot tub was broked. The quilts on the beds had holes. Some of the bath tubs were broken. The phone does not work. The light in my bathroom buzzed loudly, even when the light was off. The list goes on... Stay somewhere else!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2016
Dear Tiffany,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Majestic Overlook. We appreciate your business and are sorry that your stay fell very short on a number of expectations. I am currently reviewing your comments with our team to try and figure out what happened- I could not locate your reservation in our system or find any notes reporting the issues that you describe- could you please contact me at the address below? We do take your comments very seriously and wish to follow up directly with you on your concerns- thank you for your time.

Sincerely,
Sherri T.
Assistant General Manager
Smoky Mountain Property Management by Wyndham Vacation Rentals
1735 Upper Middle Creek Rd
Sevierville, TN. 37876
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisa d
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Majestic and Marvolous!”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Beautiful chalet with a breathtaking view of the mountains and bears! Even though we were almost filled to capacity, the spaciousness provided quietness when needed and family type interaction too. We rarely watched TV, but enjoyed using the WIFI for our plethora of electronic gadgets. Still, the mountainous environment fostered old fashion interaction like real conversations, sing-a-longs with dancing from (1960’s to present) and card games. Frequent sightings of bears who routinely checked trash cans, cars, and the barbeque grill, eliminated outside activities—except to quickly exit/enter cars. We brought a lot of food and enjoyed the large chef’s kitchen which was the cabin’s highlight: double stoves, dishwashers, and refrigerators. Overall we had a ball. Great bedrooms with personal baths. The cabin could have been cleaner- specifically the furniture and the carpeting on the inside steps. The outside stone steps needs repair too. However, the architecture, the size, and the view is unbelievable. This is definitely a place to connect or reconnect with family and friends, or spend time in personal reflection too. Ages varied in our group and everyone said they had a great time in the chalet!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: Could have been cleaner
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Dec 2015
Dear LisaD,

Thank you for choosing Wyndham Vacation Rentals and we are happy that you enjoyed Majestic Overlook for your family trip to our mountain paradise. The issue with the front steps has been corrected since your stay. Our goal is to provide all our guests with a positive experience and we are delighted that they were able to do so during your visit.

Thank you again, and we hope to see you again soon at this or one of our other homes.

Thanks,
Jeff G
Area General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing