We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunrise service Easter 2018”

Ober Gatlinburg Amusement Park & Ski Area
Ranked #39 of 119 things to do in Gatlinburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From downtown Gatlinburg, hop on to the 120 passenger aerial tramway for a ride to this ski area with a 600-foot vertical drop, nine beautiful trails and an amusement park complete with indoor ice skating, wildlife encounter, Alpine Slide, water rides and more.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Enjoyed the FREE ride up in the aerial tram (shuttle bus was also available). It was quite an adventure to ride the shuttle in the complete early morning darkness. The operator kept our spirits up with witty humor and reflections.

Upon arriving, we went outside to the North parking lot, where chairs and stadium seating was set up. The service consisted of several speakers/preachers (short and to-the-point!) and a musical duo. The "stage" was decorated with Easter lilies and provided amplified sound. The service was 6:30 AM - 7:30 AM - it began in the dark and then we all enjoyed watching the sun rise as the service progressed.

Afterwards, we enjoyed the breakfast buffet in the dining area - $14.95 pp for adults and some off for children. Those below 3 were free, I believe. Though this was a buffet, servers did provide drinks and service. There was quite a wait in line for the buffet, but a server allowed us to sit and wait for the line to go down - and provided drinks (coffee) while we waited.

Everyone (staff and church service) was very friendly and welcoming.

If you plan on going, get there early! We arrived at the Ober Gatlinburg downtown loading area around 5:30 or so. There were already 200+ people there in line! The tram (and shuttle buses) begins loading at 5:00 AM - 6:30. However, I believe they continued running past 6:30, due to the large crowd.

For those who are claustrophobic, have a fear of heights/dark, instead of the aerial tram, please consider the shuttle bus or personal vehicle (there is parking at top - I don't know if it was free for this event - there is usually a charge).

The other attractions at Ober were not open, but we could have stayed until they opened and enjoyed them for the remained of the day - the last tram departs at 9:20 on the dot. Miss it and you will be walking down the mountain! (Or perhaps an Uber can be hired?)

Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ober G, Public Relations Manager at Ober Gatlinburg Amusement Park & Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for coming to our Easter Sunrise Service! We had a fun time hosting this annual event. Thank you for your kind review and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6 809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"ice skating"
in 790 reviews
"alpine slide"
in 753 reviews
"snow tubing"
in 422 reviews
"tram ride"
in 460 reviews
"aerial tramway"
in 174 reviews
"ski resort"
in 119 reviews
"ski lift"
in 390 reviews
"tram operator"
in 80 reviews
"chair lift"
in 328 reviews
"water slides"
in 120 reviews
"the coaster"
in 145 reviews
"nice ride"
in 147 reviews
"black beans"
in 105 reviews
"afraid of heights"
in 102 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 152 reviews
"the smoky mountains"
in 72 reviews
"skiing"
in 426 reviews
Filter

59 - 63 of 6 809 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was disappointed in the condition of the park. It is in need of some updates and paint to freshen it up.

2  Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ober G, Public Relations Manager at Ober Gatlinburg Amusement Park & Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We are sorry that you found our facilities outdated. We have been working hard over the last several years to update things as our finances allow. We hope that you will give us another try on your next visit to Gatlinburg as we are constantly adding new attractions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stunning View!! Need more open windows, for pictures!! Everyone wants to be at the windows & not everyone is willing to share. Other than that, staff is informative & added in a little humor to ease anyone that was uncomfortable. We felt very secure!

Thank Kent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ober G, Public Relations Manager at Ober Gatlinburg Amusement Park & Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We're so happy you enjoyed your ride on our Aerial Tramway! It does offer some stunning views of the mountains during the day and of the City of Gatlinburg's lights at night. Thank you for your kind review and your business. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Long lines for the Tram and a real tourist trap on the top of the mountain. It leaves you off at the entrance to a souvenir mall with shop after shop and bad mall food. they have an ice rink, snow tubing and mountain roller coaster. We waited 45 minutes for my nephew to ride the coaster. Waste of time and money.

1  Thank barrtoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ober G, Public Relations Manager at Ober Gatlinburg Amusement Park & Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

The Aerial Tramway and the Ski Mountain Coaster are two of our most popular activities and we do our best to handle the increased traffic during spring break and holiday periods. We apologize that you had to wait in long lines to enjoy these activities and hope you will consider giving us another try in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We took the grandkids who are 4 and 7 and they loved the tram ride up the mountain. They also enjoyed the wildlife attraction, skating and the rides. It was a great time with them

Thank Rene r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ober G, Public Relations Manager at Ober Gatlinburg Amusement Park & Ski Area, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We're so glad you had a great time at Ober Gatlinburg! It is a great place to spend time with family. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ober Gatlinburg Amusement Park & Ski Area also viewed

Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 
Gatlinburg, Sevier County
 

Been to Ober Gatlinburg Amusement Park & Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing