We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Place for a Large Group But need some...”

Review of Fox Hollow Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Gatlinburg, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sasidhar...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Place for a Large Group But need some Upgrades”
Reviewed 14 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We were a group of 14 friends from Tampa FL, rented this chalet for may long weekend (May 26 - May 29). The first impression for all of us is "THIS PLACE IS SIMPLY AWESOME". It looks exactly the way they showed in the pictures. Perfect place for a family reunion or friends get together. They provided all utensils and all we need is to carry the food we love to cook.
But there is a problem involved too. One day after our stay (on Saturday night) there was a thunder storm and there was power outage in the area which means also there is no water. I don't really blame the management for this was caused by nature and unstoppable. So spent the Sunday (went out for sight seeing) without water even for basic needs and hoped that we will be back on power by Sunday evening. By the time we were back we really felt disappointed to see no power restored and luckily we had other group of friends who rented lodge in pigeon forge and we refreshed ourselves at their place. The power was restored on Monday morning. The emergency services were not much of help either.

But i should mention that upon our return to Tampa on Monday, we spoke to the chalet rentals again and they returned the rental amount for one night ( we paid 2170 USD for 3 nights and they paid back 670 USD for one night). We really appreciate their understanding of our situation and refund of the amount.

At this point i would like to give some advice to the owners of this chalet. I went through the previous reviews and some guy did faced this problem of power outage at the same time of year in the past. This means there is a high chance of happening this again. So firstly it would be better if a power backup is provided in the house (a UPS inverter system should do this). Secondly, though it is possible to live without power but not certainly without water. So a backup in the power outage for water is very essential. Thirdly the water pressure in the house is not sufficient when two or more person uses the shower (6 bathrooms). Possibility is that this is either a design flaw ( which i doubt) or clogging of the pipelines (due to rust and ageing).

But overall this is great cabin to live and with above issues resolved it would be a AWESOME cabin to live.

P.S: This is not negative review. I am only suggesting the improvements one can make for a better vacations.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrandmrsh...
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our vacation could of been better”
Reviewed 22 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
7
people found this review helpful

Something that they need to include is the location of the actual cabin because depending on what you drive you may not be able to make it up the driveway to the cabin. Upon arrival we had a beautiful view the outside of the cabin was beautiful but when we got inside that is where the problem started we have to do excessive cleaning before we can even put our luggage down no doubt the cabin was beautiful all the bathrooms that had tubs were full of spiders not just household spiders some weird looking spiders and bugs all the light fixtures were full of bugs the dishes in the kitchen were dirty the sheets on the beds were dirty the chairs and the couches were full of dead bugs one of the rooms even had dead bugs in the bed and on the floor all around it we had to sweep mop spray down everything in the kitchen with bleach before we could even use it. we kept hearing noises to find out that the place has mice we spent 4 hours trying to catch until we finally succeeded in killing one with the broom that we broke and we blocked off the room where we thought they were coming in at with towels there was mice droppings in every room we called for them to send someone to clean it up no one ever came to clean it up but they did come and replace the broken broom. Grant it we had a great time it was 14 of us and we were determined to enjoy our vacation regardless of what we had to do.. if you're going to stay bring your own bug spray mice traps and cleaning supplies... it's quiet and cozy beautiful but just dirty. I have included just a couple of pictures and a note that I left on the envelope that they left for tip for the cleaning crew... we have to go out and buy our own raid and sticky mouse traps

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hebertdex...
Thibodaux, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay but critters present”
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The cabin is beautiful and not hard to get too. Plenty of parking. We had a great time and loved it. The cabin did have a mice problem on the bottom and main level. They didn't mess with or bother us at all but it did unsettle some of my friends when they would see one.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorenzacc...
Fontainebleau, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“AMAZING PLACE FOR A FAMILY REUNION !”
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had our family reunion at Fox Hollow Lodge and it couldn't be better.
Pictures are very accurate. The lodge is wonderful in all points, kitchen is fully equipped, All appliances work very well, tv are everywhere with a large selection of channels from Direct TV.
The Jacuzzi was running when we arrived, the movie theather room is amazing, the pool table is responding pretty well, so the football table.
The lodge is huge and can accommodate easy 16 people. rooms are big and decoration is lovely made. sheets and towels are good quality, beds very comfortable.
The location is one of a king, the lodge is super private, on a end road (private road). We had snow for 2 days until ze left and we do recommend to have chain in you car on winter time. Also be careful to arrive during the day because even if the road is very well maintained is small and pretty difficult to locate in the dark. GPS is working so so, Waze was working on my phone ATT but no guarantee for others. We recommend this lodge at 100% for a family reunion. Thank you the management company to take great care of it and for the excellent communication we had with. Hope to come again in the future !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
postalclo...
Muskegon, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

First let me say on April 11th @7:30PM I had called to inquire about changing one date of my reservation and the women I talked to was so rude and practically yelling at me. Had she been the 1st person I talked to when making reservation I probably would'not have made it.
That said, the cabin was absolutely fabulous! It looks exactly like the pictures on line.We had a family reunion there,with all age groups and it was perfect. Plenty of room for all and the scenery is breathtaking.
When we arrived none of the tv's or theater room worked.It was late in the evening Sunday when we discovered this.I called and they sent repair people out Monday.They had a major storm the day before we arrived and lightning had hit and blew out the dish plus receivers and tv's. They got it all fixed as quickly as possible and by Tues everything was up and running.
The kitchen is well equipped. The only thing (which is minor) that was missing was a full set of measuring cups & spoons.
I know in there directions they say not to use your gps,but Google Map works great! We never took a wrong turn once.The road up is intimadating the first few times,but after that,it's a breeze.
I definitely would book Fox Hollow again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location-private, beautiful mountain view
Liked least: Lower bedrooms had no windows
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing