We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous cabin and secluded location”

Review of Fox Hollow Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Gatlinburg, Tennessee

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
D228BFbar...
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous cabin and secluded location”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Fabulous cabin and location! We rented the cabin for 1 week beginning 12/27/14 with a family of 16. Secluded, safe, quiet with beautiful views from every side. Ample parking (we had 7 cars & room for more). DO NOT RELY ON GPS as it maps everything that even remotely resembles a road – and there are MANY gravel and/or 4-wheel drive roads.

Cabin has a large porch that almost totally surrounds the house with multi-person hot tub (which we used several times), multiple chairs. Charcoal grill in the front yard. Easy access to cabin via “lock box” with combination.

Inside – Rustic, nicely furnished– website pictures are very accurate. Plenty of room for 16 people. Three-level house – gathering area with gas fireplace and large TV/DVD on each floor. 6 bedrooms, each with private bathroom and TV. 2 twin and 2 queen sleeper sofas. Pool table on 3rd level loft; foosball table, theater room on lower level. Beds / furniture very comfortable, extra blankets. Sleeper sofas had sheets. Ample supply of “hotel quality” towels (even for 16 of us). Broom, dish soap, dishwasher soap, 1-2 small soaps in each bathroom. A few kitchen towels and a couple hot pads provided. Large supply of dishes, silverware, glasses, cups, pots/pans, spatulas, utensils, plus microwave, toaster, coffee maker, blender. Dishwasher, washer/dryer worked great. Refrigerator needed to be bigger – so bring a cooler for drinks, etc. Adequate hot water (with 1 exception – below). Cell service but NO INTERNET (though we had cell phones for internet access). “Direct TV” with large # of channels.

Layout:
- 3rd floor/loft – 2 queen br’s each with private bath (standard tub/shower); queen sleeper; pool table; gathering area with TV/DVD.
- Main level – Living area with TV/DVD (could be a bit roomier); kitchen (not huge, but adequate with nice bar / 3 barstools); dining area with long table; 1/2 bath; 2 king br’s each with private bath (jetted tub and separate large shower); 2 twin sleepers.
- Lower level – 2 king br’s with private bath (jetted tubs, no shower); queen sleeper; theater room; foosball table; gathering area with TV/DVD.

Issues – we had several plumbing issues (clogged toilet and 1 shower with no hot water on day 1; leak in one bathroom and laundry room mid-week). Though it was holiday / weekend – someone always returned our calls immediately and arrived very quickly to correct these problems. Cabin has telephone but was not working (we reported it). Cabin could use better lighting.

Rental company was great to work with and very responsive to emails and issues.

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would definitely stay there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, layout
Liked least: very plumbing issues
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MishraS12...
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Cabin but Terrible Customer Service....”
Reviewed 16 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed here with extended family for 4 days. Picked the cabin at DeerRidge road .
Access to this cabin is treacherous with mountainous roads.
A summer storm in this area a day after our stay knocked out power.
No water without power. Toilets did not work.
Contacted the manager and was told that crews are working on the power and should be back shortly.
It never came back that night. Had to spend the entire night on a survival mode.
Contacted the Manager in the morning and Tim did not offer to move us to another location.
It was all on us. We were really annoyed since he did not offer any help with water or anything.
No apologies for the incovenience, on the contrary he said to pack our sh** and leave.
Extremely rude and unprofessional. Went out and used nearby McDonald to freshen up.
Then went around Gatlinburg and Piegn Forge. Contacted the property manager in the afternoon,
if they have another location with power and they moved to the one Shangrilla way.
This one is a better location.

I am sure you can get good cabin without dealing with Tim and his rudeness.
Will comeback to another location, but not to this property. Stay away from this property management.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2012
First I would Like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay at Fox Hollow Lodge. As you stated we did have a major storm during your stay and the power was out to over 25,000 homes in the area including my personal home so I know first hand how inconvenient this can be. The power company did everything they could to restore power as soon as possible . The power was restored in our Attitude Adjustment chalet before it was restored at Fox Hollow Lodge so we tried to accommodate you by moving you to this chalet for the remainder of your vacation. However you demanded that we not only move you to Attitude Adjustment but also refund all of your money. When you were informed that we could not do both you threatened to get on Flipkey and give us a bad review which you now have done.
As the owner of Smoky Mountain Chalet Rentals I would never use profanity or speak to our guest in an inappropriate way. Without our guest we have no business. We do everything we can to accommodate everyone, however we can not control the weather and moving you to an equal or better chalet was a reasonable solution to this problem. Look at the over 50 positive reviews we have from other guests, including 5 reviews from guest that have stayed at Fox Hollow Lodge and you can see no one else had any problems with the roads to Fox Hollow Lodge or with management.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibsonburg
Reviewed 7 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ocruisers
Reno
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Away from it all in the Smoky Mountains”
Reviewed 3 December 2011 for a stay in November 2011
3
people found this review helpful

Fox Hollow is an interesting 6 bedroom/6.5 bath house on three levels at the top of a mountain. It's very secluded, with only a few neighbors further down the road, and the surrounding terrain is lovely. About 15 minutes to downtown Gatlinburg and, going the other way, about 30 minutes to downtown Sevierville. There's parking for several cars with easy ingress/egress and there's a great porch that almost totally surrounds the house with a multi-person hot tub, grill and multiple chairs. Very safe, quiet and private.

Interior features: functional kitchen with a good supply of pots and pans, plates, glasses and flatware. Two dining tables can be put together for one big table or arranged separately. 12 chairs and 4 "bar chairs". There are 2 bedrooms and a gathering area with TV on each floor . The lower level also has a pool table and foosball. All bedrooms have their own bath: main floor baths have a large shower and a separate jetted tub. The upstairs baths have showers only and the lower level baths have jetted tubs only. On the main level there's also a half bath. Beds are comfortable with newer mattresses; pillows are overly plump. Thermostats on each level and fans. When we arrived the lights had been turned on and the heat set to a warmer temp, making it very welcoming. With 12 occupants, we never ran out of hot water. There's cable TV, but no internet.

Linens and towels were adequately supplied. The quality isn't stellar, but was OK. Minimal toilet paper, one small soap/bathroom, no hair dryers, no kitchen paper products. We wished for a broom and dustpan or a mop, but had neither. A few kitchen towels were provided, along with two hot pads.

We had a comfortable 4 day stay and encountered no problems with the property. We did, however, have some stress over the reservations when the contract provided by the rental company incorrectly recorded the deposit and repeated requests for a corrected contract went unheeded. The final stress point came at the time the balance of the deposit was charged to our credit card, as it was an amount in excess of the originally contracted amount. When we questioned the difference, the rental company immediately responded that they were refunding all our money and we should find a different rental. This was 3.5 weeks before Thanksgiving (the rental agreement had been drawn up in July), an unlikely time to be finding an available rental in the Gatlinburg area for 12 people. Eventually we got it worked out, but we were all a little anxious about flying cross-country and discovering we didn't have a place to stay. All in all, we would recommend Fox Hollow as a rental, but would suggest potential renters exercise caution in renting from Smoky Mountain Chalet Rentals.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very private location
Liked least: Contract uncertainities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at Fox Hollow Lodge. We are sorry to hear that you experienced any problems during your stay. I wish you would have let us know there was no broom, dustpan or mop we would have had them brought right out to you. As for the soap, and paper products we do provide some but it is only a starter supply. We are sorry there wasn't enough for your entire stay. When you notified us of your concern on the deposit amounts we immediately responded by e-mail with an explanation of all charges, however that did not get to you in a timely manner and for that I do apologize. I contacted you by telephone with a full explanation of all charges and you did agree that they were correct. We only offered to give you a refund as an option for your satisfaction. Again I apologize if you were caused any undue stress. I was happy to hear that you would recommend Fox Hollow Lodge and we hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$295
/ Night
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing