We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The DeSoto
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hamilton-Turner Inn(Savannah)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
1870 House(Savannah)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveller rating
174
40
23
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
174
40
23
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscorner king roomgreat locationbuffalo bayoufront deskhistoric districthotel is beautifulsouthern hospitalityforsyth parkevery employeesavannah hotela great staywalking distancecomfortable bedsthe rivervalet parkingcity marketsiran
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 245 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I want to really thank jerry for turning my stay around, our stay started off really bad but jerry saved the day. His customer service was what more ppl at this hotel need.i would now stay here again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KolinP_SotherlyHost, Sotherly Host at The DeSoto, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Carol C,

I am so glad Jerry was able to turn your stay around for you. We strive for amazing service for every guest and sometimes we miss the mark but the real key is being able to turn it around. Thank you for giving us that chance and we are happy to hear you'll return to The DeSoto Savannah.

Your Sotherly Host,

Kolin Podell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were excited to stay here, having heard about it during our past visits to the area. We checked in, finding out that we had just missed the Sunday Brunch for their upscale dining room and that it would not re-open until Tuesday. While disappointing, we understood and the asked the desk clerk where else we could go that would be of similar style. He said he couldn't help us and directed us to the concierge, who indeed did help us later when I called from the room. We got to the room and there was a puddle of water near the door to the balcony. My husband mentioned it and asked if it might be a leak. The porter said "no" without even checking and never even offered to mop it up! The hallways were VERY dimly lit and almost always were littered with wrappers, papers, etc. The room was spacious but the bed had seen its better days except if you lay only in the middle. Some of the pillows had a terrible odor (as if someone had been sick on them!) --luckily there were enough that seemed ok.
Fast forward to our getting the car out of the valet parking the next day---surprised to find it was $30 per day and no one had bothered to say anything, have it posted when you checked in and no alternative offered. It only took a small bit of time to locate FREE parking for the second night.
However, when we checked out the bill had us valet parking charges for 2 nights---when I explained this to the less than friendly desk clerk on the morning of March 27th, he said he would have to check! Seriously--questioning a customer's honesty over $30 to the hotel....gracious. When the parking folks called back, at first they said we had parked for 2 nights!! I said that I had the damn receipt and finally, the charge was removed. This was not a 30 second exchange...
We have stayed at 5-star resorts in Savannah and appreciate what that sort of attention can provide. The DeSoto sadly did not live up to the hype.

Room Tip: Check the pillows to make sure they are fresh!!!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KolinP_SotherlyHost, Sotherly Host at The DeSoto, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Caroline S,

Thank you for taking the time to share this valuable information and feedback about your recent stay with us. I am sorry about the complete lack of our usually amazing service. This is unlike our team to drop the ball on so many occasions. I also apologize for the hard time at check-out and miscommunications between valet and front desk. I assure you this experience is not typical of what we offer to our beloved guests. This information is being shared with our managers to see what happened and how to avoid such missteps for future guests.

Your Sotherly Host,

Kolin Podell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a corner king room, the service was outstanding and the hotel was beautiful. The view from our room was wonderful! And will be referring this hotel to our friends and family. And we will definitely stay here again!!!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank just4fun1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KolinP_SotherlyHost, Sotherly Host at The DeSoto, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi just4fun1967,

Thanks for this awesome review and rating! An outstanding stay is what we love to deliver to all our beloved guests. We're happy you loved the view of our amazing historic district. We've got he best views of it! We can't wait to welcome you back home to The DeSoto Savannah with friends and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We checked into the DeSoto for a 5 day Savannah getaway. Our initial room did not meet our needs, so Gerry, at the front desk, found two adjoining rooms that comfortably fit the whole family. I can not stress enough that Gerry was beyond accommodating. He really saved the day, and the vacation, on a very busy holiday week. Another standout employee is Tim, who was amazing in helping us move from one room to another. Both of these employees should be promoted.
The hotel, overall, is very good. The location is key. Savannah is extremely walkable, so there is no need for a car if you stay here. We were able to walk easily from the DeSoto to the river or west to Forsyth Park.
In addition to being conveniently located, the rooms were clean and full functional. I would like to see refrigerators in the rooms, however. There is also room for improvement in the timing of housekeeping . That said, our overall experience was excellent. The staff really made us feel at home. I would definitely recommend to others.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Sdale10583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KolinP_SotherlyHost, Sotherly Host at The DeSoto, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Sdale10583,

Thank you for this great review! I am so glad our team was able to make y'all comfortable during your stay. Our location is unbeatable for being able to walk everywhere. Come back again soon to experience more of Savannah and make The DeSoto your home.

Your Sotherly Host,

Kolin Podell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

LLL's (Ladies who Love Libations!), gather on a monthly basis to not only meet, catch up & be informed of each other's lives, but to try new venues so we can return with family visitors who come to Savannah.

Are so waited on our group of 16 ladies & did an awesome job! She was patient, efficient, accommodating & sweet! Even tho this was only her 2nd week at the DeSoto Bar/Lounge, she handled our large group very professionally & confidentially. She even took a nice group pic & got everybody in the scene!!

Be very pleased on your new hire decision, Stasi! We will come back!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank susangC1170YQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KolinP_SotherlyHost, Sotherly Host at The DeSoto, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hey susangC1170YQ,

LLLs sound like the perfect group for us! We all love Proof & Provision's cocktails and eats, too. We're so glad you had a good time with us for your gathering. Bring those ladies back soon, maybe for the event in the 1540 Room, Cocktails. and Charcuterie. It's always a lot of fun!

Your Sotherly Host,

Kolin Podell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews