We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good breakfast”
Review of B Matthew's Eatery

B Matthew's Eatery
Ranked #39 of 924 Restaurants in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Cross street: Habersham
Description: Serving hungry devotees since 2007, B. Matthew's is a locally loved hidden gem nestled in historic Savannah, GA. Home of one of the oldest standing taverns in the Southeast, this little eatery boasts impressive accolades, awards, & praise for their Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, & Brunch.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

My husband and I ate breakfast here. Very good. I had the Veggie scramble and he had the pancakes. We were both very pleased with our selections and would recommend this restaurant.

Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbey N, Manager at B Matthew's Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thank you, Linda! We're very happy to hear it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 923)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 1 923 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018

On the day I was leaving Savannah - I wanted one more taste of shrimp and grits. I was pressed for time so I asked the host at B. Matthews if she thought I would have time. She got me seated right away and let my server know about my time restraint. I was quickly served a fantastic shrimp and grits lunch at a very fair price. Great service - great staff !

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rakent2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbey N, Manager at B Matthew's Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Thanks for leaving a review! I am happy to hear our staff took excellent care of you and you enjoyed your meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

Looked for best spot for our first visit to Savannah. The atmosphere and building were nice. Staff not that friendly and outgoing for a tourist town. The 3 little fried green tomatoes were good. Everything we ordered was good, but the shrimp and grits were a disappointment. The reviews had me expecting the best. These were not that good. The grits were thin and not cheesey and a big pile of collard greens on top that I did not like. They left the tail shell on the shrimp! Overall I would say it was ok, but I was looking for something more memorable. The location is on main Street corner, not on the water as I was hoping.

Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbey N, Manager at B Matthew's Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Angela, it sounds like we missed the mark for you on this visit and I'm disappointed to hear it. I hope you'll give us the opportunity to serve you again during your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

Stopped in upon the recommendation of the folks at our Hampton Inn ~ good choice. Food was tasty. Service was good. A nice launching pad for us to plan our day in Savannah.

Thank Marty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbey N, Manager at B Matthew's Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

The folks at Hampton Inn are very good neighbors! Thanks, Marty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We got right in on a busy Saturday morning, for one of the best breakfasts on the entire trip. It's in an old historic building with so much charm and the staff are super friendly. It did take a while to get our food, but you can tell it's made with love. Fresh squeezed OJ was amazing! And all the food was so delicious, would not want to miss out on this should I return to Savannah in the future.

Thank CONatureGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbey N, Manager at B Matthew's Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

We hope you do get the chance to come see us again! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed B Matthew's Eatery also viewed

Savannah, Georgia Coast
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 
Savannah, Georgia Coast
 

Been to B Matthew's Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing