We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must see for Baseball Fans”

Babe Ruth Birthplace and Museum
Ranked #25 of 208 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The city's native son, the Great Bambino, is celebrated in the house he was born in, now a museum stocked with memorabilia like the catcher's mitt he used while learning baseball, the bat from his famed 1927 season and exhibits honoring the Orioles.
Reviewed 1 January 2015

If you are a baseball fan, this is a must see while in Baltimore. It's a small museum, but has plenty of cool things to see from Babe Ruth's career. It's a short walk from Camden Yards (just follow the baseballs painted on the sidewalk) and is worth your time.

Tip: Check Groupon for deals before you go. We were able to get a deal for Admission for 2 adults to the Babe Ruth Museum and Sports Legend Museum at Camden Yards for $12.

Date of experience: June 2014
5  Thank JandJ618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"baseball fan"
in 76 reviews
"his life"
in 21 reviews
"camden yards"
in 77 reviews
"baseball history"
in 15 reviews
"early life"
in 6 reviews
"the star spangled banner"
in 25 reviews
"world series"
in 8 reviews
"great memorabilia"
in 4 reviews
"orioles game"
in 16 reviews
"sports fans"
in 6 reviews
"interesting artifacts"
in 5 reviews
"a small gift shop"
in 6 reviews
"short film"
in 10 reviews
"home run"
in 7 reviews
"row houses"
in 6 reviews
"less than an hour"
in 4 reviews
"sporting events"
in 4 reviews
Filter

218 - 222 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2014

It was cool seeing the house where Ruth was born. There were some short films about him playing as well as some artifacts from his life. I believe a renovation was planned, our visit was July 2013, so the renovation may be complete by now. There were a lot of great items relating to Ruth at the sports museum outside Camden Yards. The plan was to relocate those item's to the birth place museum. I think this would greatly enhance this museum.
Good stuff, just very small, less than an hour to visit.

Date of experience: January 2014
1  Thank ny2vafam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2014

This museum is in the home of Babe's Grandfather - and the room Babe was born in is carefully recreated! A great film in the visitors area - terrific selection of photos and mementos, many testimonials through out the museum. All in all, I enjoyed it very much and you will, too, if you are a baseball fan.

Date of experience: December 2014
1  Thank Jim4249541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2014

Relatively easy to get to, located ~ 1/2 mile from Camden Yards. We went on a Saturday afternoon and parking was easy- parked in metered parking ($1/hr) right in front of the museum. It is very small. According to the time on our meter, we were in the museum for 52 minutes. But it's interesting and tastefully done. There is a nicely done movie that plays every 15 minutes or so about the history of the Star Spangled Banner related to baseball and Babe Ruth. You also get to see the very room Babe Ruth was born as well as several autographed baseballs and more. Admission is $6/adult, which I thought was very reasonably priced. Kids are free (not sure what age they start charging, but my son is 6yo and he was free).

Date of experience: November 2014
1  Thank kls118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2014

Babe Ruth Birthplace and Museum is a place that every baseball fan should visit. It is conveniently located near Oriole Park at Camden Yards. My fiancé and I walked to the museum before going to an Orioles game this past July. It was neat to see all the Babe Ruth memorabilia and pictures. The price of admission is very inexpensive, under $10. The people who work there are super friendly and very informative. People of all ages will enjoy learning the history of arguably baseball's biggest and most beloved icon.

Date of experience: July 2014
2  Thank Smilingjackhogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Babe Ruth Birthplace and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Babe Ruth Birthplace and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing