We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite five stars”

Dobbin House Tavern
Ranked #7 of 139 Restaurants in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 19 October 2018

We were really excited about the idea of eating in the cellar tavern of this historic building. The food (roast beef sandwich on focaccia and chips, open face Reuben with potato salad) was good but not great. The server was very friendly and helpful, but the restaurant was simply too crowded and noisy to really enjoy the meal and the ambience. If you don't mind sitting shoulder-to-shoulder with the next table, and overhearing everyone's conversations, you'll like this place.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4 647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 101 of 4 647 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2018

If you are looking for a dining experience, the Dobbins House thrusts its customers into the Colonial period. Dinner was great and the fried apples were an interesting treat. The wait staff are dressed in period costume, the tavern is quaintly dark, and the tables are lit with candles. When done eating, you should visit the underground railway hiding place. If the tavern isn't your style, there is a dining room upstairs.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

Always a favorite when I visit Gettysburg. Very good food and solid, friendly service. Atmosphere embracingly charming, and historic ( 16th century) .
Myles Martel

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank LeadershipAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018

The tavern has rough flooring, so the tables jiggle just a bit, and the candlelight completes the feel of being back in Colonial times. The servers are attentive, the food and drinks are excellent, and there is a good variety to choose from. It is not inexpensive, but it is a treat. You do not need to have a reservation, but you most certainly will not be dining alone--this is a favorite spot of many.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SherryRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2018

This was SUCH a treat. Seems like a once in a lifetime experience to eat in a basement Tavern from the 1700s. Even though it was extremely crowded, the atmosphere was wonderful. The food was delicious!!! Pecan pie is one of my favorites, and theirs was THE BEST I ever had. AMAZING!

We were able to walk around the rest of the house. SO COOL! When I saw the upstairs dining, I was so glad that we ate in the basement. That was so fun! LOVED IT!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lois A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dobbin House Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Dobbin House Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing