We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 - 16:00
Save
Review Highlights
Great Place for School-Age Kids to Explore

Simple, affordable, and unusual museum features Lincolniana, trains, popular culture. Explore... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Kim H
,
Roanoke, Virginia
via mobile
An informative stop to learn about Lincoln and his journey to Illinois

This is an interesting stop to learn about the funeral cars journey to Illinois after the murder... read more

Reviewed 9 October 2018
Elizabeth T
,
Westfield, New York
Read all 238 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Gettysburg
from US$8,95
More Info
from US$35,00
More Info
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
101
69
43
19
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
101
69
43
19
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews funeral train scavenger hunt funeral procession train layouts real train simulated ride model railroad final resting place short video large collection on display an american gettysburg address civil war gift shop whole family springfield
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

It doesn't seem like much at first glance, but the tour was actually very nice and enjoyable. The exhibit chronicles President Lincolns Funeral trip back to Illinois, including a miniature train display that travels around a track while the presentation tells of the route stops. There is also a train "ride" which takes you along with Lincoln and his son. The rest of the museum has other memorabilia from other Presidents, as well as celebrities. A great place for model train enthusiasts, too. I really enjoyed it.

1  Thank 844jeannettek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Manager at Lincoln Train Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your journey through history with us. Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We hope you have had a great time in Gettysburg!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

The Lincoln Train Museum was interesting. There was a model train set up that you could turn on and off and watch the trains go around. There are also various museum items including presidential memorabilia, baseball collectibles, and items from law enforcement departments. There was a video playing with some information about Lincoln that you could stop and watch. An employee aaked us if we wanted to go on a train ride and we said Sure! She led us to a simulated train car that you could sit in and it felt like you were moving. There was a screen with Abe Lincoln and videos. It was a cool experience!! I would check this place out if you are in the area.

Thank tammycQ1995UG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Manager at Lincoln Train Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you for visiting and sharing your experience Tammy. Hope you had a great time in Gettysburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

Nice tour! Interesting, and touching!l Staff are friendly and helpful. Lots of meat information about Lincoln's last train ride. Place for kids to do Christmas cards for the military!

Thank Robleym68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

My husband and I were in town for a music festival and I was taking a break shopping
. Came across this museum and decided to take the tour. It was worth the 5.00. Starts off with a video presentation about how our country has changed over the years. Then you can tour the museum. Had a neat interactive train set with different buttons that you could push to make different things work and run. I can imagine that kids would love it. Also has a replica of a train that you could go through that was set up as it might have been when the funeral train for Abraham Lincoln was traveling . The video on the funeral train was very informative. Several activities for the kids. Even had a station where kids could write thank you cards that will be sent to our soldiers at Christmas. I thought that was really special. Worth the money.

Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

We did this one last not this visit but I do suggest you go I still remember it and enjoyed it great for a family with children also grown-ups too

Thank sweetsue522017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews