We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for the whole family”

Lincoln Train Museum
Ranked #42 of 112 things to do in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Celebrating the history and the heroes of America with Abraham Lincoln! Experience the spirit of the men and women who achieved our American independence and freedoms as you ride the rails with Abraham Lincoln at the Lincoln Train museum! Journey with Gettysburg's beloved Jim Getty portraying President Abraham Lincoln as he walks with you through the history of our nation. Experience our operating train layout presenting President Lincoln's funeral journey from Washington DC to Springfield Illinois. Board our simulated funeral train car, The United States, where President Abraham Lincoln's spirit pays tribute to the American heroes and citizens who made our nation what it is and encourages future generations to "Keep the Spirit" of our nation alive. We present displays and historic artifacts of Abraham Lincoln, our native lands and the Wild West with its struggles, heroes and horses. We explore memorabilia of our sports figures and Hollywood stars. We recall the battles and wars our nation has endured and pay tribute to our heroes, the soldiers, veterans, law enforcement and EMS of our country. The museum offers the ideal opportunity to experience our nation's past while fostering an appreciation of our present and a rekindling of hope for our nation's future.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Fun, interactive exhibits with a simulation of a train ride with Lincoln. Fascinating place and inexpensive.

Thank Tracylynn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Manager at Lincoln Train Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thank you for sharing a review of your experience with us. We hope you are enjoying your entire stay in Gettysburg!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"funeral train"
in 51 reviews
"scavenger hunt"
in 16 reviews
"funeral procession"
in 7 reviews
"train layouts"
in 6 reviews
"real train"
in 5 reviews
"simulated ride"
in 4 reviews
"model railroad"
in 4 reviews
"final resting place"
in 6 reviews
"short video"
in 4 reviews
"large collection"
in 3 reviews
"on display"
in 9 reviews
"an american"
in 3 reviews
"gettysburg address"
in 10 reviews
"all ages"
in 6 reviews
"civil war"
in 14 reviews
"whole family"
in 4 reviews
"gift shop"
in 9 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2018

It doesn't seem like much at first glance, but the tour was actually very nice and enjoyable. The exhibit chronicles President Lincolns Funeral trip back to Illinois, including a miniature train display that travels around a track while the presentation tells of the route stops. There is also a train "ride" which takes you along with Lincoln and his son. The rest of the museum has other memorabilia from other Presidents, as well as celebrities. A great place for model train enthusiasts, too. I really enjoyed it.

Thank 844jeannettek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Manager at Lincoln Train Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your journey through history with us. Thank you for taking the time to share a review. We hope you have had a great time in Gettysburg!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

The Lincoln Train Museum was interesting. There was a model train set up that you could turn on and off and watch the trains go around. There are also various museum items including presidential memorabilia, baseball collectibles, and items from law enforcement departments. There was a video playing with some information about Lincoln that you could stop and watch. An employee aaked us if we wanted to go on a train ride and we said Sure! She led us to a simulated train car that you could sit in and it felt like you were moving. There was a screen with Abe Lincoln and videos. It was a cool experience!! I would check this place out if you are in the area.

Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen S, Manager at Lincoln Train Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you for visiting and sharing your experience Tammy. Hope you had a great time in Gettysburg.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

Nice tour! Interesting, and touching!l Staff are friendly and helpful. Lots of meat information about Lincoln's last train ride. Place for kids to do Christmas cards for the military!

Thank Robleym68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

My husband and I were in town for a music festival and I was taking a break shopping
. Came across this museum and decided to take the tour. It was worth the 5.00. Starts off with a video presentation about how our country has changed over the years. Then you can tour the museum. Had a neat interactive train set with different buttons that you could push to make different things work and run. I can imagine that kids would love it. Also has a replica of a train that you could go through that was set up as it might have been when the funeral train for Abraham Lincoln was traveling . The video on the funeral train was very informative. Several activities for the kids. Even had a station where kids could write thank you cards that will be sent to our soldiers at Christmas. I thought that was really special. Worth the money.

Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lincoln Train Museum also viewed

 

Been to Lincoln Train Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing