We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful get away”
other traveller has booked this property
view of front of Tate House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view of front of Tate House
Relax on the front porch rockers
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
view of front of Tate House
Relax on the front porch rockers
walk in tiled shower
laundry
bedroom with queen bed
bedroom with queen bed and big screen tv
sitting room with flat screen tv
sitting room with sofa bed
sitting room with flat screen tv and sofa bed
small claw foot tub
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ngrace77
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delightful get away”
Reviewed 8 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Tate House was a delightful place for a chance to immerse ourselves in Gettysburg and its history. We walked all over the town, in both the historical downtown where the courthouse is and up to the historical area with the cemetery and more. The Tate House was the perfect place to start and end each day. It was near so many eating places-we had meals at a different place every night. Lisa provided a notebook of many recommended eating spots. There were soap samples and a really nice shower. Our accommodations had everything we needed. The pictures that decorated the rooms were really well done. Thank you for helping us to have a great time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of the property
Liked least: it was a little noisy since it is on a main street
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nanag
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Location, location, location.”
Reviewed 20 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The Tate House, apartment #2 is a good basic apartment in an old house in a great, historic part of Gettysburg. My husband is not able to walk long distances these days, but virtually everthing we needed, except for the National Military Park, was within walking distance for us. (A few years ago, we would have walked that distance, as well.) Restaurants, bakery, neat shops, library, historic train station, oldest church and a family-owned grocery store are easily accessed.) It was a pleasure to leave the car in the devoted, labeled parking space behind the building and use footpower. Parking is very tight in the town and they will tow if you park in the wrong space. The apartment is not large but perfectly comfortable for two people. The bathroom has a smallish stand up shower (fine for 5' me, a bit tight for 6' husband). The kitchen is pretty well equipped with coffee maker, toaster, pots and assorted implements. The bedroom / living room area seems larger due to very high ceilings. Heat (tall radiators) is controlled by a thermostat in another apartment. There is also a space heater in the guise of a fireplace in the living area. Our visit coincided with a severe temperature drop. The first night we were cold, but an early morning call to Lisa Harmon, the owner, took care of that. She came by with a small space heater for the bathroom and she upped the thermostat so we were comfortably warm for the rest of the visit. Lisa was very quick to react to our needs and as stated by other reviewers, she is a lovely and helpful person. The Tate House is in an area of buidings used as domitories by college students and is across the street from a busy Irish pub, Gary Owens (good food and drink). I thought that it might be noisy, especially on Saturday night. But it was not, the only noise was from truck traffic on the busy road. The apartment itself is not lux or historically appointed, but it is clean and comfortable and we would definitely stay again, it Lisa would have us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location in the historic area.
Liked least: The plumbing which was a bit noisy and odd, but did work.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellen G...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Abe Lincoln would approve!”
Reviewed 15 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is our second stay at the Tate House and we already booked our 3rd reservation for next year!! Great location, lovely porch with rockers and very comfortable accomodations. Lisa is the best, you'll love her!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The porch
Liked least: um, nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clamcake5...
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Tate Guest House is a hidden gem.”
Reviewed 5 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Tripadvisor, is my go to for vacations.
I planned a trip to Gettysburg, PA., for my husband's birthday.
I don't care for B&B's or hotels, if I can find an alternative.
We like to get up and go, when we want and not have to worry about getting up for breakfast or getting out of the room so the maid can clean it.
During my search on Tripadvisor, I came across the historic, Tate Guest House.
There are two apartments and with a bad knee, luckily the first floor was available to rent.
There's a great porch, with rockers, which I enjoyed.
The apartment was well furnished and everything was supplied and clean.
I went across the street, to the coffee house, and had fresh roasted coffee beans ground.
Also, a couple doors down, is an Irish Pub, called, Gary Owen.
We ate there three times. If you find something good, stick with it and there's a lot of variety.
So, we stick to The Tate House, when we return to Gettysburg.
Thanks, to a great host, Lisa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location. You're right on a main street and can walk to the center of town.
Liked least: No security on the WiFi.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abbareed
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent rental”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for two nights in august. Also have stayed at Blue brick place in past. Both great options for Gettysburg. Tate house has more space but both are great for 2 or 3 people. Will probably never use a hotel again! Better location and cheaper.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, cost
Liked least: additional fee if you don't bring your own linens
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing