We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tight seating but a good old fashioned theater”
Review of Academy of Music

Academy of Music
Ranked #49 of 430 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home of the Philadelphia Orchestra, the Pennsylvania Ballet and the Philly Pops.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Bought 6 tickets to "Aladdin" in the 4th level Ampitheater. First time at the Academy. Show was great. Seats were OK - knew we were getting "obstructed view" reasonably priced seats and it was worth the savings. Other seats might have more room as we were cramped. Staff was friendly. Plenty of parking lots around the Academy that offer discounts with your show ticket. Not rushing back but different seats might be a difference

Date of experience: June 2018
2  Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"opera house"
in 20 reviews
"family circle"
in 6 reviews
"crystal chandelier"
in 4 reviews
"box seats"
in 6 reviews
"beautiful theatre"
in 4 reviews
"red velvet"
in 3 reviews
"balcony seats"
in 3 reviews
"kimmel center"
in 12 reviews
"great place to see a show"
in 5 reviews
"last row"
in 3 reviews
"front row"
in 4 reviews
"broad street"
in 4 reviews
"ballet"
in 26 reviews
"acoustics"
in 26 reviews
"stage"
in 29 reviews
"production"
in 21 reviews
"concert"
in 26 reviews
Filter

18 - 22 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018

I took my grandchildren here to see Aladdin. It is a beautiful building and a wonderful place to see a show. There are very little in way of snacks available for children so bring that bag of fishies to keep the little ones occupied while waiting for the show to start.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018

The Academy is the most intimate and gorgeous venue south of New York City, the acoustics are amazing compared to The Beacon in New York City its a great way to start a date, or to continue your romance, afterwords check out the local dining scene. I have been here many times over the years.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank chuckees1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

This is a long production, but well worth the experience. The musicality, the staging, the sets, the lighting, and the orchestra were first class, refined and beautiful. The cast earned a standing ovation from the audience and numerous shouts of "Bravo!" The academy saw its first performance of Bizet's Carmen in 1878.
Be forewarned about the seating. People must have been smaller in the late 1800's. The biggest complaints were about the tightness of the rows, no leg room for tall people, and the the backs of the seats. Personally the dilemma was who has the right to the shared arm rest? I wound up keeping both hands in my lap.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank ricky2246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2018

The wife and I don't frequent Philly often deferring to NYC most times, but we had an opportunity to see Jerry Seinfeld and decided to give it a go.There is plenty of parking (paid of course) as well as numerous restaurants in the area. The venue itself is very classic and old school but very elegant. Reminded me of some of the old European opera houses. We had a box seat right off the stage, but there did not appear to be a bad seat in the house. Very nice experience.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank risi59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Academy of Music also viewed

 

Been to Academy of Music? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing