We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3 777)
Filter reviews
3 777 results
Traveller rating
1 869
1 172
414
185
137
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 869
1 172
414
185
137
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest lounge floor lounge new york tenth floor the empire state building roof terrace madison square park boutique hotel free coffee rooms are small bigger room street noise continental breakfast an upgrade corner room higher floor big apple
Filter
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 3 777 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Smooth check-in and helpful staff, including Nabil, who was always ready to open the door, help with luggage and book a taxi. The decor is post-modern industrial style.

We had been warned by our travel agent that the rooms in NY hotels are small, and this was the main downside of staying here, as we struggled to navigate around the double bed! However, our room was clean with a comfortable bed and we slept well, despite the horns and sirens that are an inevitable part of the NY backdrop.

The lifts were quite slow, but worth the wait to get to the 10th floor terrace, with views across the city, including the Empire State Building. This was a great place to relax with a complementary coffee, with an air-conditioned indoor lounge if it got too hot (we were there in a hear wave!).

The location was great for getting about, with some good local shops and diners to grab a bite to eat as a lighter alternative to the hotel breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ShazyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana L, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. I will personally look into your feedback. We do hope you give us an opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel. I will guarantee you a 5-star experience.

Be well,
Alopez
gm@marcelhotelnyc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

The Marcel is very well located at the center of Manhattan, a walking distance from lot of main attractions yet not at the buzzy midtown, so It's really a nice place to come back to every night. . The rooms are at different sizes, so better to reserve a bit more than standard if possible. The standard one is pretty small, yet all are very clean and have great views. The Japanese Tapa restaurant connected to the hotel is also very tasty and with good pricing. Highly recommended! The hotel staff was very friendly, especially Muhammad and the breakfast staff. I'd surly come back again!

Room Tip: Go for more than standard if you can. Standard are pretty small but not stuffy
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nitzangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana L, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we really appreciate the staff recognition! It is wonderful when our staff is complimented for their hospitality.

We hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Marcel very soon!

Cheers,
A Lopez
Hotel Manager - gm@marcelhotelnyc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Great location, the area is not as busy as other parts of NYC which is a good thing! Good restaurants close-by to grab a bit and a good barber shop to get cleaned up! Don't know what else to write....

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana L, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Marcel very soon!

Cheers,
A Lopez
Hotel Manager - gm@marcelhotelnyc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

The Marcel at Gramercy is located in a residential neighborhood but close to lots of New York’s great sites. The room was extremely clean and the bed was comfy. The rooftop lounge is wonderful, although the breakfast is overpriced. The room is a good size for a NYC property, but if you are visiting for the first time, you will think its small (but its not.) The building is solid and you can’t hear people in neighboring rooms, which is great. If street noise bothers you, request a high floor

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RubyAZ12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana L, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we really appreciate the staff recognition! It is wonderful when our staff is complimented for their hospitality.

We hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Marcel very soon!

Cheers,
A Lopez
Hotel Manager - gm@marcelhotelnyc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

The Marcel is a very comfortable budget hotel . The rooms may be a bit tight but the location in Gramercy is highly desirable . We even got a discount at the next door Japanese Tapa restaurant because we stayed at the Marcel . The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank karnaidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana L, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we really appreciate the staff recognition! It is wonderful when our staff is complimented for their hospitality.

We hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Marcel very soon!

Cheers,
A Lopez
Hotel Manager - gm@marcelhotelnyc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews