We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family Show! (Even for teenagers! ;-) )”

School of Rock The Musical
Book In Advance
More Info
US$98,75*
and up
School of Rock on Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Now in performances at the Winter Garden Theatre on Broadway!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a perfect show for the whole family. There's a little adult humor mixed in with lots of energetic performing, singing and dancing that will keep your kids engaged, even teenagers! I can't believe the energy that the lead character has! The headmistress had a beautiful voice, along with Tomika. Our whole family enjoyed it. We had great seats - first row on the side in the balcony and the views were wonderful, without having to pay the high orchestra prices. There doesn't seem to be a bad seat in the house, the theatre is not that large. Highly recommended for a few hours of clean family enjoyment.

Thank Laurie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
School_of_Rock_Bway, Owner at School of Rock The Musical, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Even the teenagers?! So glad you had a great time rockin' with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"talented kids"
in 47 reviews
"andrew lloyd webber"
in 36 reviews
"jack black"
in 29 reviews
"winter garden"
in 23 reviews
"broadway show"
in 57 reviews
"lead actor"
in 17 reviews
"high energy"
in 32 reviews
"all ages"
in 48 reviews
"musical talent"
in 9 reviews
"whole family"
in 22 reviews
"front row"
in 15 reviews
"great performance"
in 10 reviews
"tkts booth"
in 11 reviews
"talented cast"
in 8 reviews
"great seats"
in 15 reviews
"box office"
in 14 reviews
"year olds"
in 9 reviews
Filter

22 - 26 of 865 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went to see it in London. It wasn't that the cast weren't working/singing their hearts out. It's just that the whole story was so obvious and grating. The movie was much better than this production. The only standout was the performer who played the headmistress. She had a beautiful voice. The most disappointing was the little girl, Tomika. She plays that character who is initially shy and downtrodden, but has a moment of revelation in which she finally finds her voice! Well, I'm sorry to say, the one we saw had a mediocre voice and it ruined the moment. Mediocre is a good word for the whole show.

Thank JQ2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a fun show. The kids in the band as well as the rest of the ensemble are incredibly talented. The show also teaches a very valuable lesson to all parents. A must see for everyone.

Thank Leslie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
School_of_Rock_Bway, Owner at School of Rock The Musical, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for coming Leslie! You can check it off your bucket list! And while you're at it, put it back on and come see our show a second time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Took family (wife + 3 teenage daughters) to this as when in NY everyone should see Broadway show at least once. This one was fun and very well done. The kid actors were awesome in both musical aspect as well as theatrical aspect.

Thank Jeff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
School_of_Rock_Bway, Owner at School of Rock The Musical, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We're so excited your whole family was rockin' with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Went to see School of Rock Tuesday March 20, 2018! What a great show! The cast was great and the kids were incredible...the kids in the band play their own instruments, wow!!!
The face the girl playing bass makes is great and the boy playing the guitar can shred!!!
Justin Collette (Dewy) was great, he played the part well, he put his own stamp on it with some Jack Black mixed in!
The show flows well and the music is great! As a big fan of the movie I wasn’t disappointed with the story or performances!!
The play is very upbeat, fast moving and incredibly fun and funny! I was blown away with the musical performances and I have to give a big shout out to the behind the scenes staff...the stage crew! The sets were great and were fast changing and seamless! The orchestra and music director who are hidden in the basement (I guess) were great! The performers can see them via flat screen TV’s mounted on the balcony!!
On the night we attended we were recorded singing Happy Birthday to Andrew Lloyd Webber along with the cast! All his shows were doing this and they were sending it to him for his b-day on March 22... A special moment for sure!!
If you are in NYC and want to see a Broadway Show I highly recommend “School of Rock” it ROCKS!!!

Thank TSorren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
School_of_Rock_Bway, Owner at School of Rock The Musical, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

YOU rock TSorren! Thank you for jammin' with us! We hope to see you back real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed School of Rock The Musical also viewed

 

Been to School of Rock The Musical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing