We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flavourful food”
Review of City Kitchen

City Kitchen
Ranked #1 095 of 14 719 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We liked the City Kitchen concept. It has a range of vendors with a wide variety of many foods and drinks which gives everyone different choices.

Space was bright and welcoming with tall windows. It is not easy to find seats but we were able to get stools near the tall windows and able to observe the action in the theater district.

At Gabriela's Taqueria, we had the Pescado (fish) tacos. They were delectable, lightly fried fish with chipotle mayo, and cabbage. They were served with green tomatillo sauce, avocado sauce with cilantro, and carmelized onions. If you want cheese or sour cream for tacos, that is extra. We also chose guacamole and corn chips.


At Whitmans' we chose the Peanut Butter Bacon burgers. They were quite tasty. We also ordered the Blue Cheese fries. I expected the fries to be sprinkled with blue cheese but just received a small container of blue cheese dip.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ElC628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas H, General Manager at City Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for the 4/5 review, ElC628!

We're thrilled to hear that you had a great experience with us and enjoyed the decor! It's wonderful that you loved Gabriela's Taqueria's outstanding fish tacos, along with Whitman's peanut butter bacon burgers. Those are both excellent choice and we love having both of them on site. We apologize that Whitman's bleu cheese fries did not meet your expectations as far as how they were served. We can look into the suggestion of serving bleu cheese crumbles on them as an option!

We'd love to have you back again soon to share an even more positive experience with you. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We came for breakfast one morning before setting out for the day. We grabbed a couple of donuts from Dough (Nutella filled & cafe au lait, plus some glazed donuts we saved for later) and steak breakfast tacos from Gabriela’s Taqueria. The giant donuts were fluffy and tasty and the breakfast tacos were flavorful and just the right size to add some protein to our morning. Several other food stalls were open for breakfast selling pancakes, omelettes, full breakfast platters, etc. This is a great place to come if you have a group with varying tastes- there’s something for everyone and a fair amount of seating.

Thank Kelli A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas H, General Manager at City Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for the lovely review, Kelli!

We're thrilled you had such a great experience with us! We strive to offer a wide selection of different foods so that everyone can find something to enjoy and your praise lets us know we're doing our job. That's what we like to see!

We look forward to hosting you again soon! Have a fantastic day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I'd never heard of this place, and so am happy to have found it! It seems to fill a niche if you just want a quick bite before the theater. While it's not fine dining, there is something for everyone (I had a Luke's lobster roll that was delicious but there is also sushi and Mexican offerings), and although at first it seems there isn't a lot of seating, there seem to be a lot more spaces on the 8th Avenue side so be sure to look there. It can get crowded pre-theater,so be sure to go early!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DAPJr112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas H, General Manager at City Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your feedback, DAPJr112.

We're happy to hear you enjoyed your dining experience with us! It's wonderful you appreciated our large selection of vendors and food. We strive to offer something for everyone! We'd love to welcome you back soon for an even more positive experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went to City Kitchen multiple times and it was super delicious!! Go and try every vendor, from Mexican tacos to Japanese sushi. This place was a fantastic find. Around 6 pm it can be a bit busy (probably because many people go eat something before a Broadway show). All the other times we went it was way quieter.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Onceuponajrny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas H, General Manager at City Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for the lovely review!

We're thrilled you had such a great experience with us! We strive to offer a wide selection of different foods so that everyone can find something to enjoy and your praise lets us know we're doing our job. That's what we like to see!

We look forward to hosting you again soon! Have a fantastic day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Burgers from Whitman's, Ramen from Kubi-Obi and doughnuts from Dough. Everything excellent. Place filled with 'locals' and everyone having a great time. Great way to mix and meet new people too.

Thank dnallot18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas H, General Manager at City Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thanks for the great review! We're happy you enjoyed your experience with us! The happiness and satisfaction of our guests is important to us and we endeavor to offer quality food and service for our guests. It's fantastic you appreciated our delicious food and fun atmosphere so much. That's what we like to see!

We look forward to sharing an even better experience with you soon! Have a lovely day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to City Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing