We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lower East Side Jewish Conservancy
Save
Review Highlights
Outstanding Talks

Excellent talks during the pandemic. Lower East Side history, Jewish history, traveling with our... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
renatobey
,
New York City, New York
Who Knew?

The Great Kosher Meat War of 1902? Never heard of it before! We had previously done in-person... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
garyl367
,
New York City, New York
Read all 221 reviews
  
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
195
25
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
195
25
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking tour eldridge street virtual tour east broadway washington heights future tours great tour grand concourse new york bialy grew up tour guide was very knowledgeable highly recommend this tour rich history wealth of information nyc history penn station
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2020

Liked to see the actual locations of Fanny Brice's past. She was a daring woman for those days. I can remember Baby Snooks and her brother Robespierre.

Date of experience: December 2020
Thank Marloweone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LESJCnyc, Director of Operations at The Lower East Side Jewish Conservancy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2021

Fanny Brice was a daring woman in her time, and unfortunately, if it wasn't for the movie Funny Girl, so many people wouldn't know about her. It was great to hear Sharon tell us her story, giving us the opportunity to learn more about her.
Thanks for your lovely high rating, and we look forward to having you join us on other Zoom talks in the coming year. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2020

There was a well researched zoom talk about Fanny Brice, supported by many photos. The presenter did not take herself so seriously as many presenters do. She was delightful and seemed delighted to be doing what she was doing. Altogether a pleasure!

Date of experience: December 2020
Thank marciasA3432OY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LESJCnyc, Director of Operations at The Lower East Side Jewish Conservancy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2021

So glad that you enjoyed this talk on Zoom about Fanny Brice. A little secret just between you and me...Sharon absolutely loved creating this presentation, and did it for the fun of it! She has a few other talks she is working on for this year that we are really looking forward to. please keep your eyes out for them.
Thank you so very much for taking the time to rate. It is much appreciated.
all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2020

I've done a few tours with The Lower East Side Jewish Conservancy virtually and in-person. This is one of the best ways to learn about New York history and different neighborhoods (tours include more that the Lower East Side) whether you're a lifelong New Yorker or a visitor. Tour guides are incredibly informative and friendly. I'm looking forward to going on more of their tours.

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank ilikemyopinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LESJCnyc, Director of Operations at The Lower East Side Jewish Conservancy, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2020

Thank you so very much for the nice review, and taking the time to rate us. We are so very pleased that you find our tours one of the best ways to learn about NY history. We are just as looking forward to having you come on more of our tours as you are to coming. It's nice to have you as a part of the Conservancy family. We aim to share the Jewish story throughout the city.
All the very best. thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2020

The history of synagogues on the upper west side is also a history of modern Judaism--and our leader Barry made it all come alive with his eye for architecture and affection for his subjects, plus lots of stories, photos.

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank happytrailer321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LESJCnyc, Director of Operations at The Lower East Side Jewish Conservancy, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2020

Hi happytrailer321. We appreciate your taking the time to rate the Upper West Side walking tour, and pleased to hear that you enjoyed it so much. From the Lower East Side, to the Upper East and West Side, Jewish Harlem, and Williamsburg, we like to think that we have tours for everyone's interests. Hopefully you can join us on other tours down the road. Thanks again for your lovely review. Stay healthy and safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2020

Excellent guide
Extremely knowledgeable
\Welcomes questions
Helpful
Great handout
Went the extra mile

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank richopt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LESJCnyc, Director of Operations at The Lower East Side Jewish Conservancy, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2020

Thank you for the review. I'm guessing that based on the date you wrote it, it was the Upper West Side tour that you took. Barry Judelman is an excellent guide, and extremely knowledgeable. We are very proud of all of our tour guides, and hope that you will have the chance in the future to tour with some of them as well. Stay well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews