We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”
Review of Daniel

Daniel
Reserve with OpenTable
Daniel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 14 730 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Upper East Side
Cross street: Park Avenue
Transit: 68th Street stop, #6 Train.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

An incredible experience. My waiter guided me through a fixed price menu so well! I just asked him to surprise me and he did not dissapoint! Is it pricey? Yes, for sure. Is it worth it? For an unforgettable, once in a lifetime night, you bet. After the meal I asked the waiter if I could see the kitchen. I was escorted to the kitchen where I was given a tour and was able to talk to the head of service for a few minutes about how the space operates. I'll never forget my experience here.

Thank robertsnapp1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre S, General Manager at Daniel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Robert, It was our pleasure to provide an extraordinary dining experience for you! We are delighted you enjoyed the opportunity to see our kitchen and we hope to welcome you again the next time you visit NYC. Best regards, Pierre Siue, Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2 970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 2 970 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Perfect in every respect. From planning to execution the staff made it all happen with professionalism and cuisine to write home about. Kudos

3  Thank Ron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre S, General Manager at Daniel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ron, Thank you! We are delighted you had a marvelous birthday celebration dinner and appreciate your gracious compliments. Best wishes to you for the coming year. Warmly, Pierre Siue, Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

In early May, we had a trip to NYC. Unfortunately, this trip was moved, then cut short, and finally cut shorter, for business reasons. Friends, who were to join us, had to cancel at the last moment. It seemed ill-fated, at best.

We had made reservations at Daniel, for our second visit there. As the trip changed, the restaurant was very good at accommodating those changes, and I cannot be more complimentary of their graciousness, and also helpfulness. They were superb, just as we had found them to be, some years before.

Finally, the evening of our dinner arrived, and as we were staying at the St Regis, we “arrived” in the house Bentley. Fitting, I thought, for dining at such a great restaurant!

We were warmly greeted, and the general manager came to welcome us – at last. I could almost hear a sigh of relief, “they are finally here. We can stop moving their reservation all over the calendar.” However, he would never have said such. The service, even in reservations, is stellar.

On our first visit, we had been seated across the dining room, on a little raised area, opposite the room’s entrance. This time, we were near the entrance, so almost 180 degrees from our other table.

The room is grand, with good general lighting, and then excellent table lighting. Those tables are all well-spaced, and the décor is elegant. With the high ceilings, the rooms appears larger, than it really is. During our meal, we did not hear any of those near us. All diners were speaking in very low voices, and one had to look around, to discover that the dining room was full. It was easy for my wife and me to have a quiet conversation. The only sounds were a quiet murmur and the occasional clink of wine glasses, or silverware on a plate. Delightful – just delightful.

We decided to go with the 8-course Tasting Menu, and did two different wine pairings. When presented with this opportunity, we normally opt for it, as it gives us the opportunity to sample two wines per course. Even if the two pairings are at different levels, we usually find that the upper is sometimes surpassed by the lesser – that is just the way that it is.

Our Tasting Menu consisted of:
Seriole – Citrus-cured Hamachi, chive aïoli, cardamom-beet purée and mizuna salad, paired with:
Domaine Vacheron Sancerre Loire Valley ‘16
Manoir de la Firetière Muscadet Sevre et Maine Sur Lie ‘17
The Hamachi was great, and both wines paired well, and equally – no winner yet, and a great way to start.

Poularde – Mosaic of Poularde and Foie Gras w/ morel gelée, Louisiana crayfish, wild mustard, pickled ramps and nettle oil, paired with:
Karthäuserhof Riesling Spätlese “Eitelsbacher Karthäuserhofberg,” Mosel ‘07
Stein Riesling Kabinett Feinherb “Himmelreich,” Mosel ‘16
Though I like older German Rieslings, and often prefer Spätlese level of QmP wines, the young Kabinett was the winner with this wonderful dish. However, I am a pushover for anything with Foie Gras, Morels and Ramps! We had just done a week at Blackberry Farm in Tennessee, and both the Morels and Ramps were in abundance in our dishes, so Daniel just seemed a continuation of that culinary journey.

Ormeaux – braised Kona Abalone in puff pastry w/ button mushrooms, scallions and a “Sauce Normande,” accompanied by:
Clos des Papes Châteauneuf-du-Pape Blanc, Rhône Valley ‘08
Domaine Mothe Chablis, Burgundy ‘15
The Abalone was fabulous, and here, the big, older Rhône Blanc won the wine competition. One point each.

Sole – Spot Prawns Studded Dover Sole w/ green asparagus, gamtae seaweed and sauce “rumi safranée,” served with:
Domaine aux Moines Savennières “Roche aux Moines” Loire Valley ‘99
Jean-Louis Chave “Circa” Saint-Joseph, Rhône Valley ‘15
We had just returned from London, where my wife managed Dover Sole for three meals, and one at her favorite seafood restaurant in Mayfair, Scott’s. I had considered Scott’s Dover Sole to be the epitome, but Daniel might just have surpassed that. The big, older Chenin Blanc was the winner here. Score another for the “premium list.”

Pigeonneau – Roasted Squab Breast with Oats w/ confit legs, barley risotto, fava bean-savory coulis and “Sauce Forestière,” which was paired with:
Domaine Coillot Marsannay “Boivins” Burgundy ‘11
Au Bon Climat “Daniel” Pinot Noir Santa Barbara ‘15
OK, neither of us is a big fan of Pigeon, but Chef Boulud, along with Chefs Jean-François Bruel and Eddy LeRoux, came close to changing our minds. This was an excellent dish, and the wine winner was Jim Clendenen’s Au Bon Climat. Back to a tie!

Agneau –Gaspésie Salt Meadow Lamb w/ stewed shoulder and roasted chop “Navarin” and Spring vegetables, paired with:
Château du Grand Bos Graves Bordeaux ‘05
Château Fougéres “Clos Montesquieu” Bordeaux ‘10
Just an excellent dish, and the old Bdx was the clear winner. The “premium pairing” up by one.

Mangue – Mango and Tamarind Compote with Fresh Mint Gelée w/ green papaya confit and ginger Linzer sablé, with Royal Tokaji Company Tokaji Aszú 5 Puttonyos, Hungary ‘09
Domaine de Rancy Rivesaltes Ambré Roussillon ‘01
I am more of a Cheese Course person, where I wife appreciates Dessert Courses more, but this was a spectacular dessert. The Domaine de Rancy Rivesaltes Ambré, made from hand-picked Macabeau grapes, plus the “rancio/ambré style,” thrust this wine into the winners circle, and actually evened out the pairing competition. The complexity of this wine scored it above the Tokaji.

Peru – Peruvian Dark Chocolate w/ Cuban Café Crémeau, cardamom, on “Lejay” cassis sorbet. A delightful way to end a spectacular evening.

Our service was flawless, and in every respect. Pacing was perfect. This was what we had experienced on our first visit, and this time, it might actually have been better, if that is possible.

The entire meal was wonderful, and a great deal of fun. Restaurant Daniel certainly deserves its two Michelin stars (rosettes), and I am surprised that it has not three. About half-way through this review, I ran out of positive adjectives to describe the total experience, and it was an “experience,” to the Nth degree. So, while aspects of our NYC “dining trip” were somewhat ill-fated, dining at Daniel was anything but, and the highlight of the entire trip.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank The_Loup_Garou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre S, General Manager at Daniel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We were very happy to accommodate your changing plans and are so glad it worked out for you to dine with us again. Thank you for sharing your eloquent review and marvelous compliments for your tasting menu with double wine pairings. It was great fun reading your “contest” results for the wines you enjoyed the most with each dish! We are absolutely delighted to know you enjoyed your second dining experience at Daniel and very much look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit NYC. Warmly, Pierre Siue, Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We ate a Daniel on our trip this past December. Everything was absolutely delicious and the experience was amazing. The service was impeccable and each plate of food was absolutely stunning. We really enjoyed the additional touch of the printed menu that included which tasting plates and wine pairings we had enjoyed - especially so that we can track down similar wines for our own enjoyment at home.

This is definitely a restaurant to make an entire evening out of - don't rush and enjoy the experience!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bamagal89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre S, General Manager at Daniel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your marvelous compliments for your dining experience at Daniel, as well as your excellent recommendation! We are so glad you enjoyed the special touches we love to give our guests and I will be sure to share your kind words with our team. We look forward to welcoming you the next time you visit NYC. Sincerely, Pierre Siue, Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Daniel is the ultimate French restaurant for ambiance, fabulous food, the best wines and a very informed staff that makes you feel so very special in every way!!!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre S, General Manager at Daniel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mary, Your beautiful compliments are very much appreciated, as it is our aim to provide an unforgettable dining experience. Thank you! We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Warmly, Pierre Siue, Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Daniel also viewed

 

Been to Daniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing