We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great little apartment, great location, highly...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
New York City, New York

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jennifer...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little apartment, great location, highly recommended!”
Reviewed 2 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We were so glad we found and stayed in this fantastic little apartment! It was much better than we were expecting! Yes there are a few valid points made in previous reviews, lots of stairs up the apartment, no fire escape, very small, not much in the way of decor... but for the price you pay, it really is great! The apartment consists of two bedrooms (one double bed and one two singles), a kitchen with most things you would need (toaster, kettle, fridge/freezer, cuttlery, plates, cups, glasses etc. and a great coffee machine - there is even coffee, tea and sugar provided - you dont usually get that in a hotel!). There is a small dining area with a table and 4 chairs, a large bathroom (lovely hot shower) and towels are provided for your stay. Some things seem to have been updated since previous reviews; There is a closet in the dining area with plenty of hanging space for clothes, there are large TVs in both bedrooms, the WIFI was great, the heating was lovely and warm, and there was no construction waking us up at silly o'clock!

The apartment is located on West 36th Street between 5th and 6th Ave - a great location, quite quiet compared to the hustle and bustle of Times Square (which was perfect for us) but it's just a ten minute walk away, and ideally located to walk to many sights around the city. A 2 minute walk from Macy's so great for shoppers! And lots of shops and places to eat close by.

We were only really used the apartment for sleeping, and for chilling out in between sight seeing, but we really looked forward to returning to our comfy cozy apartment after long days of touring the city. Would highly return to this place and recommend it to a friend!

(Please excuse the mess in the photos - we had just started unpacking!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The stairs when carrying luggage
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravlinGa...
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not as advertised but adequate for our stay”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
9
people found this review helpful

Location was close to all the landmarks described. It was conveniently located to subways, restaurants, markets, theater, etc. However the apartment itself did not meet our expectations.

The good:
Clean apartment; no bugs!
Towels and linen provided
Nice hot water for the shower
Location (if you want to be in Midtown)
Good size bathroom
4 person kitchen table; adequate plates, cups, silverware, and decent size smaller fridge

The expected:
Small size
Up 3 flights
A bit noisy on workday mornings (from construction)

The Bad;
Apartment is described on line as: "Newly renovated and beautifully decorated... with a fully equipped kitchen 2 bedrooms...and a sofa bed". The reality is somewhat otherwise. The apartment is understandably small - this is Manhattan. First of all, there, are NO decorative features (OK, so its not beautiful) however, there is not a single place to put your things. No usable closet - can't open the door because the sofa is in the way, no hooks, no dressers or shelves... NOTHING! We were a family of 4 staying for 5 days and had to live out of our suitcases which we then tripped over all week as there was no where to put them. There was 1 bar in the bathroom for towels, but nothing else to make the room more comfortable (and there was plenty of room in the bathroom to add storage.)
The bedrooms were minuscule - just room to walk to the doors, nothing else. The sofa bed was not large enough for a bed (so don't plan on using it for a bed). The TV is in the double bedroom, so only the person staying in that room can watch TV. Unfortunately you can't hear the TV over the noise from the very loud air conditioner in the 2nd bedroom. Because of this, the twin bedroom is freezing while the rest of the apartment remains warm and a but stuffy.

The apartment is described as having a stove (in reality a 2 burner hotplate), paper towels (none), a safe (did not exist), alarm clock (not there - where would they put it?), etc. The kitchen lacked basic items such as a bread knife, can opener, corkscrew, etc. In addition, I worried about exiting the building in case of a fire - there was no fire escape and only a narrow stairway leading to the apartment.

So - should you stay here? Sure, as long as you understand what you are getting into. This apartment was clearly a small studio cut up to make 2 tiny bedrooms a non-existent living area, kitchen and bathroom. Bring your ear plugs, don't expect to cook, and pack light, since there is no where to store anything. It would be fine for 2 persons, cozy for 3 and really too tight for 4.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: No simple conveniences (shelves, hooks, storage of any kind)
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
She_likes...
Andover, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Coming from Minneapolis, MN we didn't know what to expect so our first impression was that the apartment was very small. However, after adjusting our expectations, we found the apartment clean and supplied with almost everything we needed for the week. The location was wonderful. Just a few blocks from the subway and many shops and restaurants just across the street or around the corner. Sean met us there and was very friendly and helpful. We could have used some wash cloths in the bathroom and more towel racks or hooks to hang towels. It was hot this past week so it was nice to have a new A/C unit. However, it was in one of the bedrooms so that room was cold but the rest of the apt was just somewhat cool. Also it was great to have a TV, but it was difficult for everyone to watch because it was in the other bedroom and the remote did not work. WiFi was available and we made good use of it. The apt was a good value for the money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Size and lack of elevator
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugenioaf...
Caracas, Venezuela
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Confortable but very noisy neighborghood.”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Due to the fact that you are in the belly button of the hearth, in the " City that does not sleep", ....well it is a very good place to stay.
The landlord is very solicitous and friendly.
The place is renewed, with all new, beds, mattresses, kitchen hardware and implements.
If you think that you are between the 6th and 5th avenue in the 36th street west, just in the back of the Empire State Building, just 2 blocks away from the Times Square and you have at your left side the Best Western Express Hotel and the Hyatt Hotel (starting at 270 $/day) and at the corner of the 36th and 5Th Ave, you have a Luxury Hotel and Condo ( starting at $3,150/day) ....do the mats...and tell me about it!
The building is a walk up building, but the annoying part is to arrive, with your empty luggage and depart with your heavy load luggage!.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The Noise
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Reviewed 28 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
28 Mar 2014
Hello, Thank you for your advices. It will be helpful for me to be a better host. And, I am sorry about those days you had stayed in my property.
I know those days my apt has little problems, sorry for inconvenient situations. I fixed water tank so there is no problem anymore. I ask internet company and they also fixed it, too. And, also contruction starts at 10 am to 4 pm. I don't understand why they made a noise aound 6-6:30. Anyways, thank you so much for your advice so that I can fix to be a better host who can give you better condition to my guest.
I hope you have a great time in NYC. Good luck with everything you do.!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing