We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great facilites, location and value!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
86 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
New York City, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
madowning...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Great facilites, location and value!!!”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
3
people found this review helpful

The owner of this apartment is Milton who owns a few apartments of which this is one. Milton is a chatty, very pleasant, knowledgeable, caring and honest owner. After 10 minutes of meeting him, the six of us felt we had known him for a lot longer. He was kind enough to provide us with a cheesecake and bottle of wine during our stay.

The apartment is on the third floor. It was small and quite tight for six but adequate. Although the furnishing are a little dated, the accommodation is clean and cosy with a comfortable bed in the main bedroom and 2 comfortable sofa beds in the lounge. The linen is of good quality. The kitchen is small but fully equipped. There are a few items provided ie: butter, spices, salt, pepper, coffee maker filters, toilet roll and a few toiletries. Free Wi-Fi was provided too. As we were out all day sight seeing, we used the apartment to sleep, freshen up and make breakfast so it was perfect for our needs and fantastic value!

The nearest subway is just a couple of minutes walk away and arrives in the Downtown main area in about 15 minutes. For arrival from JFK we used the Airtrain at $5 each for a return ticket to Howard Beach, then we bought the $32 subway ticket which gives unlimited subway travel for a week and took the hour long journey to 125st station then a 5 to 10 minute walk to the apartment. It is a 20 minute walk to the Northern part of Central Park. The Pioneer supermarket is approximately a 10 minutes walk. We also visited Sylvia's Restaurant, the Paris Blues bar on Monday evening and the Corner Social whilst in Harlem which were all recommended by Milton - they were great! There were some good inexpensive shops locally too.

We found Harlem to be safe with warm and friendly people.

I would not hesitate this apartment for an inexpensive and lively area of New York to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJH0363
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“There is a place like home and its this apartment”
Reviewed 27 January 2016 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Best apartment, best landlord, cant praise this accommodation enough. We've stayed in NYC numerous times and Milton took wonderful care of us in his very lovely apartment. Harlem is safe, colourful and within easy reach of everything you could possibly want to do in NYC. If you're going to NYC stay with Milton

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gigi2575
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place and location”
Reviewed 25 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I, a group of five, visited Manhattan in mid-November 2015. We were kindly received by Milton whom point out the highlights of the apartment and especially of the historic area of Harlem where the apartment is located. It was a pleasant surprise to realize that the online photos of the apartment did not do justice of the reality. Everything in the apartment looked impeccable. The spaces were comfortable, a big master bedroom, equipped kitchen. Restaurants, shops, supermarkets and the subway just steps from the building. It was a wonderful experience for me and the kids, it felt like having a home away from home. Milton thank you so much for your kindness and hospitality. ;)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and spaciousness
Liked least: The stairs
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Z0eL33
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING! highly reccomend”
Reviewed 18 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Perfect location, just out of the hustle and bustle of the city. Right next to a train station. Has everything close by including supermarkets, dry cleaners, laundry mat, chemists ect. All the basic necessities. The tenant Millton is awesome and willing to help you at all hours of the morning.

Will definitely be recommending to anyone travelling to New York!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location of the Properth
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
49Thalia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very well looked after”
Reviewed 30 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We arrived Milton's apartment after a long and tiring flight. He was there to welcome us and gave us the keys and necessary information. The apartment itself is nothing special with regards to furnishings, but it is quite spacious, clean and with everything we needed for a week in NY.
The area felt very safe, and we quite enjoyed staying in Harlem. If you are shopping, 125th st has some good and not too expensive shops. We went to the local Sunday service and enjoyed the gospel singing and the atmosphere in the church - very different to Europe. It is not too far to the local supermarket and a few restaurants. Also you can buy takeaway which was very good. Milton will let you know the various places to go. The underground is also quite close, and we walked to Central Park in 30 mins on our first day.
What made this apartment stand out, was the hospitable owner, Milton. He seemed to be around his various apartment every day, and on the couple of occasions when we found something missing (i.e. a wine glass and a toaster that broke), he went out and bought it straight away. So I would definitely recommend this apartment for the personal touch and friendliness of the owner. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area and the owner
Liked least: The apartment could have been better decorated
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing