We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where It All Began”
Review of Federal Hall

Federal Hall
Book In Advance
More Info
US$49,00*
and up
Hamilton Musical Walking Tour
Ranked #158 of 1 145 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1842 on the site of the first U.S. Capitol, this museum features items related to George Washington's inauguration, the Bill of Rights and old Federal Hall.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

The Federal Hall is the incubator of the American republic. It is the first home of all three branches of the federal government and the site where George Washington took the oath of office as president of the United States. This incubator helped our democracy grow to maturity.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank MottTheHoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"stock exchange"
in 27 reviews
"george washington"
in 19 reviews
"wall street"
in 57 reviews
"president of the united states"
in 11 reviews
"the national park service"
in 10 reviews
"city hall"
in 11 reviews
"trinity church"
in 11 reviews
"national memorial"
in 8 reviews
"current building"
in 5 reviews
"supreme court"
in 5 reviews
"worth a quick stop"
in 5 reviews
"the financial district"
in 13 reviews
"presidential inauguration"
in 4 reviews
"trump building"
in 4 reviews
"balcony floor"
in 3 reviews
"historical significance"
in 4 reviews
"new york"
in 35 reviews
Filter

19 - 23 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2018

I walked passed Federal Hall so many times during my stay but also a very busy place as so close to the Stock Exchange & photos being taken with the Washington Statue, unfortunately I left my visit to take a good look inside to a very short period of time & should have gone in when I had more time available. Worth a look.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

We just visited Federal Hall this week as we tried to soak on some great Hamilton/ Revolutionary Era history around NYC. This building is so beautiful, and stands out among the towering buildings around it. My daughter was earning her National Park Junior Ranger badge, which led us straight to a park ranger. Ranger Jesse was such a warm, welcoming, patient wealth of knowledge!! The extra things that he pointed out to us were so cool, and he really made the visit more special! Take note of how many different styles of columns you find within the buildings design. Visit for sure if you are in lower Manhattan.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

This National Memorial is free and will only take 10 minutes of your time. Don't miss the story and the great location!

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank TheGoBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

Interesting to be standing looking at the building where George Washington took his oath to become first president of the United States on his mother lodges Masonic bible. Didn’t have time to view the exhibits inside unfortunately.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Lambretta101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Federal Hall also viewed

 

Been to Federal Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing