We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise ”
Review of Havana NY

Havana NY
Reserve with OpenTable
Havana NY is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #400 of 15 914 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$45
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 5th and 6th Avenues
Transit: 7 train to 5th Avenue and B, D, F &V trains to 42nd Street.
Description: Havana NY is a vibrant Cuban restaurant located in the heart of Manhattan. Since it's opening in 1991, Havana NY has been consistently recognized as one of the best places in town to enjoy homemade Cuban food in a warm, and friendly environment!
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Stopped by after work and grabbed a seat at the bar. Great food selection. Had the steak with chimchuri sauce. It was terrific. Mojito could’ve been a little sweeter. Great service. Lively atmosphere. Really liked it.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank mikemY7232JL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, Guest Relations Manager at Havana NY, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Hello Mike!

Thank you so much for the feedback! We're so happy to read that you enjoyed yourself. Please come back soon!

Best,
Havana Ny Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018

We just had lunch there. The sangria was great. The food was good. The only reason why I did not give 5 stars is that my friend ordered a steak ($26). The waiter persuaded him to order the steak special which was $46. I think the waiter should have made him aware that the price was much higher. Not a big deal. I had the oxtail, which was great. Also I liked the presentation. The desert was absolutely delicious.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Petra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, Guest Relations Manager at Havana NY, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Hello!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review! We appreciate all of the compliments! We apologize about your server not mentioning the price difference for the steak, but hope this won't stop you from coming back. Please join us again for more drinks and fresh Cuban food!

Best,
Havana NY

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

We ordered the garlic chicken and the shredded beef to share. The chicken was a little dry but ok, but the beef was lovely.

We had the yellow rice and one of each of the beans(but they both tasted just the same to us)

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank jot8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, Guest Relations Manager at Havana NY, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Hello Jo!

We are truly appreciative of this review! Thank you for complimenting both the food. Please join us again for some more tasty treats!

Best,
Havana NY Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2018 via mobile

We never had Cuban food before so we decided to try it. The food was delicious, especially the pork and the staff was great and helpful.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank mike p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, Guest Relations Manager at Havana NY, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Hello Mike,

It was an absolute pleasure to have you! Thank you so much for all of your kind words! We're honored for us to be your first Cuban experience, and that you enjoyed it! We hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Havana NY Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

an incredible meal with an equally impressive atmosphere. a must visit in manhattan, apps entrees and desserts live up to hype

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Christian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe W, Guest Relations Manager at Havana NY, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Hi Christian!


Thank you for a wonderful review! Thank you so much for all of your compliments. It makes us so happy to hear that our customers enjoyed their experience at Havana! We can't wait to welcome you back again soon for more delicious eats and drinks!

Best,
Havana NY Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Havana NY also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Havana NY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing