We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5 076)
Filter reviews
5 076 results
Traveller rating
1 558
1 524
1 003
543
448
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 558
1 524
1 003
543
448
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bliss products bliss spa whiskey blue w insider new york lexington ave cozy room rooms are small waldorf astoria lobby bar times square central park rockefeller center few blocks subway station nyc concierge
Filter
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 5 076 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018

First the negatives: the reception staff were more interested in talking amongst themselves than checking us in, then they were more concerned with selling us an upgraded room at $30 per night. When we saw our room on the 10th floor we knew why, it was cramped and the view from the window was a concrete wall!! Our relatives on the 5th floor weren't much better, they overlooked a building site. the air conditioning was far too noisy to leave on. There is no tea and coffee in the rooms and although it is available in reception at 7.30 you have to be quick to get it.
Now the positives: it is very well situated. A 20 minute walk to Times Square, 10 minutes to Grand Central Station and 15 minutes to Rockefeller Center. The hop on/hop off bus stop in just 100 yards away and Ashleys, just down the road, is excellent for breakfast. Whilst the room was cramped the cleaner did an excellent job and the bar was comfortable serving nice food and a decent drinks selection. Wi-fi was readily available in the reception/bar area. The concierge was also very helpful.

Room Tip: If you are prepared to pay more then do so to avoid the cheapest rooms
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjllsimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian D, Manager at The Maxwell New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback, Trevor.

We're disappointed to hear you were unsatisfied with your stay. We strive to provide our guests with a wonderful experience from beginning to end so it's great you enjoyed our prime location and housekeeping service. Please know your feedback regarding our amenities and reception service will be addressed with the appropriate members of our team so we may improve for the future.

We hope you'll give us another opportunity to provide you with the quality experience we're truly capable of sharing with our guests. Thank you again for the feedback.

Brian Dunn
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Just back from NYC my 1st ever trip to the U.S we stayed at the Maxwell formerly The W. Arrived 21/6/18 & checked out 25/6/18. We found this hotel spotlessly clean & modern. Bedrooms had everything you could need hairdryer, iron & ironing board large flat screen tv & safe. Whilst no tea/coffee making facilities were in the room they were available & free in the reception area every morning. The lobby area is a great place to unwind after a hard day sightseeing & the staff behind the bar were friendly. Only negative is lack of restroom/ toilet on the ground floor. Overall experience of the Maxwell was excellent.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank _bhabberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian D, Manager at The Maxwell New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you for the excellent review, bhabberley!

It's fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much! We're delighted we could accommodate you and that we left you with a wonderful impression. Your praise for our clean rooms and friendly service is much appreciated! Thank you for taking the time to share.

We look forward to hosting you again soon! Have a great day!

Brian Dunn
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Hotel a little old and needs an update although those that stayed here as the W 20 years ago may relive their memories. The larger rooms and suites are well priced for NY so stay away from the standard size which are tiny. Great drinks at the two bars and food service fro breakfast and room service quite good.

Room Tip: Suites the best deal.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian D, Manager at The Maxwell New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thank you for sharing your feedback, Jim.

We appreciate your input. It's great that you loved our bar and breakfast service, along with our room service. However, we'll be addressing your concerns about our rooms with the appropriate members of our team.

We look forward to having you back again soon for a more positive experience.

Brian Dunn
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

When we booked these accommodations the hotel was 'The W - Lexington Ave', but lost it's affiliation with W, and it's no surprise. The lobby and corridor finishes are worn and dated and in need of an update. In our room, the TV didn't work properly (once you got to a station is worked fine, but any hotel fed content flickered and lost connection, making it difficult to navigate), our bathroom sink drained extremely slowly, and on one of the daily cleanings housekeeping didn't fully clean the bathroom and left a cleaning rag on the vanity. And in spite of checking in quite early (~9 AM) when we were able to check in to our room we were given a room right off the elevator, which made getting a solid night's sleep near impossible on our last night (a Saturday) with the dinging of the elevator and a number or guests coming and going. This was all disappointing, as I've stayed in other W properties both in NYC and elsewhere that were wonderful experiences. I doubt I'll return to The Maxwell in the future.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevators
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _WDC_Traveler_1_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian D, Manager at The Maxwell New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Guest, we appreciate the feedback.

We're disappointed that your stay with us was less than ideal. It's unfortunate you've noticed a decline in the quality of our accommodations. We care about the comfort of our guests so we'll address your concerns with our team moving forward.

We hope for the opportunity to host you again soon for a more positive experience.

Brian Dunn
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

I booked through Hotels.com. The rate was $145 a night and for Midtown that’s a great price. I have passed by the hotel so I knew it looked fine.

The room was nicely appointed. I had a single queen room. Smallest hotel room I’ve been in in a while. The TV is fastened to a pole in the corner. Between the pole and the TV, if there had been 2 of us, one would have been climbing over the bed to get in it. Not enough room to go around it.

The desk was the bedside table.

Bathroom looked newly done and very modern. Toilet had to be flushed 2-3 times with every use and the seat was extremely loose. I had to tighten it to use it at all. Bathroom had towels and hand towels but no wash rags.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian D, Manager at The Maxwell New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

We appreciate your feedback, Jim.

We're glad you appreciated our well appointed rooms. However, we regret that the size of our rooms didn't meet your expectations. We do offer a variety of room sizes and would be happy to help you choose one which better suits your needs next time. With that being said, we strive for excellence so we will share your feedback with our team.

We look forward to hosting you again soon so we can share a more positive experience with you. Have a great day!

Brian Dunn
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews