We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Soho Grand Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$307
US$241
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$289/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$206
US$188
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$215/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Candlewood Suites New York City Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$202
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$175/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$271
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Holiday Inn New York City - Wall Street(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$216
US$160
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$179/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$179
US$148
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$213/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$265
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$262/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 30/07
US$313
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$183/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$278
US$230
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Book now, pay at stay
US$529
US$458
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (4 856)
Filter reviews
4 856 results
Traveller rating
1 432
1 482
977
528
437
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 432
1 482
977
528
437
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbliss productsbliss spanew yorkwhiskey bluew insidermega roomlexington avecozy roomrooms are smallwaldorf astorialobby bartimes squarecentral parkrockefeller centerfew blockssubway stationnyc
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 4 856 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First the negatives: the reception staff were more interested in talking amongst themselves than checking us in, then they were more concerned with selling us an upgraded room at $30 per night. When we saw our room on the 10th floor we knew why, it was cramped and the view from the window was a concrete wall!! Our relatives on the 5th floor weren't much better, they overlooked a building site. the air conditioning was far too noisy to leave on. There is no tea and coffee in the rooms and although it is available in reception at 7.30 you have to be quick to get it.
Now the positives: it is very well situated. A 20 minute walk to Times Square, 10 minutes to Grand Central Station and 15 minutes to Rockefeller Center. The hop on/hop off bus stop in just 100 yards away and Ashleys, just down the road, is excellent for breakfast. Whilst the room was cramped the cleaner did an excellent job and the bar was comfortable serving nice food and a decent drinks selection. Wi-fi was readily available in the reception/bar area. The concierge was also very helpful.

Room Tip: If you are prepared to pay more then do so to avoid the cheapest rooms
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjllsimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian D, Manager at The Maxwell New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your feedback, Trevor.

We're disappointed to hear you were unsatisfied with your stay. We strive to provide our guests with a wonderful experience from beginning to end so it's great you enjoyed our prime location and housekeeping service. Please know your feedback regarding our amenities and reception service will be addressed with the appropriate members of our team so we may improve for the future.

We hope you'll give us another opportunity to provide you with the quality experience we're truly capable of sharing with our guests. Thank you again for the feedback.

Brian Dunn
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just back from NYC my 1st ever trip to the U.S we stayed at the Maxwell formerly The W. Arrived 21/6/18 & checked out 25/6/18. We found this hotel spotlessly clean & modern. Bedrooms had everything you could need hairdryer, iron & ironing board large flat screen tv & safe. Whilst no tea/coffee making facilities were in the room they were available & free in the reception area every morning. The lobby area is a great place to unwind after a hard day sightseeing & the staff behind the bar were friendly. Only negative is lack of restroom/ toilet on the ground floor. Overall experience of the Maxwell was excellent.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank _bhabberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian D, Manager at The Maxwell New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for the excellent review, bhabberley!

It's fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much! We're delighted we could accommodate you and that we left you with a wonderful impression. Your praise for our clean rooms and friendly service is much appreciated! Thank you for taking the time to share.

We look forward to hosting you again soon! Have a great day!

Brian Dunn
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel a little old and needs an update although those that stayed here as the W 20 years ago may relive their memories. The larger rooms and suites are well priced for NY so stay away from the standard size which are tiny. Great drinks at the two bars and food service fro breakfast and room service quite good.

Room Tip: Suites the best deal.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian D, Manager at The Maxwell New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your feedback, Jim.

We appreciate your input. It's great that you loved our bar and breakfast service, along with our room service. However, we'll be addressing your concerns about our rooms with the appropriate members of our team.

We look forward to having you back again soon for a more positive experience.

Brian Dunn
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When we booked these accommodations the hotel was 'The W - Lexington Ave', but lost it's affiliation with W, and it's no surprise. The lobby and corridor finishes are worn and dated and in need of an update. In our room, the TV didn't work properly (once you got to a station is worked fine, but any hotel fed content flickered and lost connection, making it difficult to navigate), our bathroom sink drained extremely slowly, and on one of the daily cleanings housekeeping didn't fully clean the bathroom and left a cleaning rag on the vanity. And in spite of checking in quite early (~9 AM) when we were able to check in to our room we were given a room right off the elevator, which made getting a solid night's sleep near impossible on our last night (a Saturday) with the dinging of the elevator and a number or guests coming and going. This was all disappointing, as I've stayed in other W properties both in NYC and elsewhere that were wonderful experiences. I doubt I'll return to The Maxwell in the future.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the elevators
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _WDC_Traveler_1_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian D, Manager at The Maxwell New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest, we appreciate the feedback.

We're disappointed that your stay with us was less than ideal. It's unfortunate you've noticed a decline in the quality of our accommodations. We care about the comfort of our guests so we'll address your concerns with our team moving forward.

We hope for the opportunity to host you again soon for a more positive experience.

Brian Dunn
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I booked through Hotels.com. The rate was $145 a night and for Midtown that’s a great price. I have passed by the hotel so I knew it looked fine.

The room was nicely appointed. I had a single queen room. Smallest hotel room I’ve been in in a while. The TV is fastened to a pole in the corner. Between the pole and the TV, if there had been 2 of us, one would have been climbing over the bed to get in it. Not enough room to go around it.

The desk was the bedside table.

Bathroom looked newly done and very modern. Toilet had to be flushed 2-3 times with every use and the seat was extremely loose. I had to tighten it to use it at all. Bathroom had towels and hand towels but no wash rags.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian D, Manager at The Maxwell New York City, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We appreciate your feedback, Jim.

We're glad you appreciated our well appointed rooms. However, we regret that the size of our rooms didn't meet your expectations. We do offer a variety of room sizes and would be happy to help you choose one which better suits your needs next time. With that being said, we strive for excellence so we will share your feedback with our team.

We look forward to hosting you again soon so we can share a more positive experience with you. Have a great day!

Brian Dunn
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews