We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (867)
Filter reviews
867 results
Traveller rating
127
411
221
64
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
411
221
64
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews manhattan bridge train noise f line light sleeper heart of china town budget hotel new york lower east side free tea and coffee canal st subway station battery park wall street min walk stayed here for nights hotel is situated two blocks
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 867 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Going to pretty much paraphrase another review as I agree with everything they say.

Clean, tidy, spacious room. Large bed, and a decent sized bathroom.
All staff were extremely helpful, good local knowledge.

It's a basic hotel, but that's reflected in the great rates. It had everything I needed (a bed, storage, bathroom) but didn't look budget or bare, and most importantly was clean and well maintained. Probably the best budget hotel in New York after reading countless reviews before deciding to stay here.

Noise? We Didn't notice it.
Yes, the hotel is right next to a train-line/bridge, but the noise blended in with the rest of the ambient noises. We're light sleepers but it didn't disturb us.

Complimentary tea/coffee in the lobby, guest PC and printer on the level above.
Subway is a 5 minute walk down the road with easy access to pretty much everywhere in the city in under 15 mins. JFK is an hour away using the subway, just 1 change in Brooklyn.
Financial district is very walk-able.

There's a few overpriced bodegas locally, and a 7/11 is about 8 mins walk. McDonald's (for breakfast) is a 5 min walk and fairly priced, and some of the best Chinese food right on your doorstep.

Bare in mind when arriving that there isn't much frontage, you could easily miss it as it's door leads to a corridor with the hotel being a level up via lift.

When we come back, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 84K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Room is clean, and staff are friendly. The outside noise (train) is loud, but you will eventually ignore it if you're tired when you go to sleep. There is a window, but unable to see the view due to a wall from the next building.

Room Tip: kinda loud due to train nearby
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosefinaG387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018

The hotel itself is not bad. At least is clean and the room has everything what you need. But it's small. We had a window exactly in front of the bridge. I dont mind bikers passing by my window but the trains/subway works all day and night long so it's incredibly loud.
The hotel is in chinatown so you have easy access to the center.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kamcio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

Stayed for 6 nights in April 2018 and the biggest issue for my family was the noise of the trains (and lorries) on the Manhattan Bridge which is right next to the hotel. We changed rooms, but even so, the subway trains run every minute well into the night. We all needed ear plugs to be able to sleep, even with the 2 sets of double glazing on the window the noise is really loud.

Other stuff: The rooms are very basic, but clean. No wardrobes for hanging clothes, only a rail. Staff are friendly and the hotel felt safe. The whole immediate area is Chinatown, so no touristy diners etc.

Room Tip: Rooms not directly facing the bridge are a bit quieter (but not much).
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr-AC-fromUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018

We stayed at double queen room - wonderful for a family of 5; two adults and 3 children (most hotels do not allow that). The room was cleaned well, beds comfortable, washing and bathroom very good, TV had lots of channels but as we only stayed there nights, we did not pay much attention to it. Our room did not face the subway bridge (fortunately!) but the train noise could be heard. It did not disturb much, although I'm a light sleeper. The staff was friendly. The complimentary coffee and tea (actually the hot water!) was good to have. The location was good: near the subway station and quite next to the Supermarket of Manhattan: a Chinese supermarket with an amazing range of fresh fruit and vegetables. A cheap pizza place was also quite close. The smelly Chinese street stalls we considered as local speciality although I have read about people's complaints about the smell. (Fresh (alive!) turtles, frogs, crabs and shrimp). We are very glad that we did not pay more for just staying the night in New York as we had 7 very busy days doing all the sightseeing and all. Recommend.

Room Tip: Our faced East Broadway and that was quite quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews