We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$178
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/09/19
Expedia.com
US$178
View deal
Official Hotel
US$167
View deal
Hotels.comUS$178
PricelineUS$178
eDreamsUS$178
View all 16 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (524)
Filter reviews
524 results
Traveller rating
328
120
35
23
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
328
120
35
23
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seasons restaurant the woodward pool table ping pong extended family an excellent restaurant different types beautiful property dirty dancing great weekend great room love this place complimentary breakfast cabin hammocks grounds goats
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 524 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2021

HIghland Lake Inn is our sanctuary away from home. The staff is excellent, our cabin is super cozy and very close to the Lake....the Lake is supremely wonderful for swimming and spending lots of relaxing hours near the dock. The grounds hold a peaceful feel that supports much serenity of mind body and spirit. Nearby the Lake is the Best in the World Flat Rock Village Bakery and Carl Sandburg's Home, an American Treasure. We have been coming to the Inn for over 15 years and always can not wait to return... even thinking of living there one day!

Room tip: the cabins are simple cozy and in the heart of the property.
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank davidmarkseidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack Grup, Owner at Highland Lake Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2021

Thank you so much for the very kind words of support. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2021

This might have been “the place” to stay years ago, but it isn’t that way now. We were in town for a wedding and most of the wedding guests were staying here, I imagine because there isn’t much else in town. Do yourself a favor and get an AirBnB or make the short drive to Asheville for acceptable accommodations.

When we booked, we “upgraded” to the Woodward House. I’d hate to see what the other rooms were like if that was an upgrade! The furniture was incredibly worn and dated, the carpet nasty, and to top it off, there was a dirty washcloth on a side table.

This place has good bones and could be nice, but it needs a complete overhaul and better management.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 870ceek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly McCall, General Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2021

We are disappointed to hear of your experience during your stay with us last November, and are saddened that we did not know about this sooner so that we could have made this right. While we did have wedding events with us last fall, we could not find a record of any wedding guests in those blocks of rooms staying in the Woodward House.

We have replaced carpeting in over half of the lodging rooms in this building, that are not the original hardwood flooring. We have recently purchased new chairs and furniture in many of the rooms this year, and are continuing to make continuous improvements and upgrades to all of our accommodations.

We will ensure we address the concern about the dirty washcloth on the table with our housekeeping team, as they take great pride in site inspecting rooms prior to check-in, and we somehow dropped the ball in this instance. For that, we do apologize.

We would like to know a little more about the details of your stay, as it pertains to the room, so that we may make sure that any improvements we have done in the past 8 months since your stay have included this room. We welcome you to please contact kmccall@hliresort.com if you would be so kind as to let us know

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2021 via mobile

I normally don’t like to give poor reviews however, what we experienced, I would want to know before booking a reservation. The property is nice and check in was easy enough. We had a room in the lodge, while the room was small it was nice enough for what we needed. Then came nightfall. Shortly after we went to sleep we could hear mice in the room scurrying around. Needless to say, we did not get a good night sleep. The next morning we told the front desk and were told they would move us to another room and not charge us extra. (Really?? Charge extra to move out of room with mice?). The next two nights, in our same room we heard mice again all night. The second night we located the sound and found a mouse had worked its way into my wife’s purse and was eating her protein bar. After locking her person in our luggage, we could still hear the critter in the waste basket in the bathroom. One other thing to know before you arrive, they do not sell water at the location because the owner does not believe in single use plastic (fair enough) however we could purchase Gatorade in single use plastic. It was too bad, since property was a nice place to stroll and look at he animals and the pond. Final note: from your room in the lodge you can hear all the conversations in the common area - fortunately it got quiet early enough to not be a big bother

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cal2va2pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly McCall, General Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2021

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us here at Highland Lake Inn & Resort. We are very sorry that we fell short in providing you with the exceptional experience we pride ourselves in. We were able to determine that this was an isolated event and it was rectified very quickly. Our intention was to give you a complimentary upgrade to one of our premium rooms on property and do apologize for any misunderstanding in that regard. The single use plastic drinks have been eliminated and we would like all our guests to know that we have water coolers situated throughout the property that can be filled with reusable water bottles at any time. We also have reusable water bottles available for purchase in our front office gift shop. We take the comments and suggestions we receive from our guests very seriously to make any necessary improvements and sincerely appreciate your feedback. We hope this experience will not deter you from visiting again and we would love another opportunity to provide you with a stay that exceeds your expectations. Please do not hesitate to call us and speak with our Guest Services Manager to discuss your experience in further detail. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2021 via mobile

The grounds are beautiful and family oriented. Beautiful flowers and perfect walks with a pool that is gorgeous. My husband and I spent our anniversary weekend here. We were pleasantly surprised at the peace and quiet even when fully booked. Breakfast was delicious, buffet style but under covid rules. The coffee both in the room and at breakfast was good. We thought we had booked a suite online but received a cabin. Furniture in the cabin was rustic in a used way but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. I think I would stay here again but I may want a suite next time.

Room tip: Call and book instead of booking online.
Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Psalms100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven Brown, Guest Services / Front Office at Highland Lake Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2021

Thank you for the review and spending your anniversary with us! We hope to see you again soon and our team will be more than happy to check on our premium suites for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2021

My Wife & I love the Highland Lake Inn in Flat Rock. We have been coming to this property for 23 years!! We come here in Winter, Spring, Summer & Fall. The beautifully secluded property is located in Flat Rock, NC & just minutes from Downtown Hendersonville & 30 Minutes from Downtown Asheville. The property is dog friendly, has a world class restaurant, Season’s, & a small lake that is perfect for canoeing or just paddling around & relaxing. They have many different types of accommodations from cottages, rustic cabins large & small or even Lodges that can accommodate large groups for Weddings or Corporate Training Programs. The local area is rich with outdoor activities & yearly cultural events to enjoy. Visit the Highland Lake Inn once & I guarantee you will be returning for years to come.

Room tip: Large Cabins have extra space, a fire place & close to the outdoor Hammocks!! We also love room #’s 10 & 12 at the Woodward House.
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sfrederick2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly McCall, General Manager at Highland Lake Inn & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2021

Thank you for the wonderful review! We value your continued business and support of us over the years, and especially this past year. We will see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews