We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$132
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$108
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Navajoland Inn & Suites(Saint Michaels)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$91
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (822)
Filter reviews
822 results
Traveller rating
191
342
202
63
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
342
202
63
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafeteria stylegrand canyongift shoptrading postkeurig coffee makerin townsouth rimview in monument valleytwo queen bedsblue corn pancakeson siteguided tourstayed two nightscanyon floornational monumentrooms are largepozole
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 822 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We did not stay at the Thunderbird Inn but made purchases at the gift shop. We were very pleased at the selection of merchandise available for purchase. The prices were reasonable and the merchandise of good quality. We also bought Navajo Fry Bread from the restaurant. Yummy!

Stayed: June 2018
Thank marybT5775QN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber L, Admin. Assistant at Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

marybT5775QN

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review us at Thunderbird Lodge. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit, found the selection of merchandise pleasing and had the opportunity to try our Navajo Fry Bread as your travels brought you through!

Should your journey bring you back this way, we hope you will stay with us!

All our best to you,
Thunderbird Lodge Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was lovely, chairs and table outside, a great atmosphere. Used the diner for dinner and it was really great food at a great price. Book one of their Canyon tours too, lots of local information and a fun ridearound. A great navajo experience.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knight950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber L, Admin. Assistant at Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

knight950

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your stay at Thunderbird Lodge. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit; found your accommodations clean and comfortable, the location convenient for your travel plans, and the food good. We are delighted you enjoyed your tour!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Thunderbird Lodge should your journey bring you back to Canyon De Chelly.

All our best to you,
Thunderbird Lodge Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

My niece and I stayed at Thunderbird Lodge to enjoy the beautiful and timeless Canyon de Chelly. The room was clean and comfortable and reasonably priced. It's very near the entrance to the canyon, so it's an easy drive to Canyon de Chelly Visitor Center and north and south rim drives. We also booked our jeep tour into the canyon through Thunderbird, so it made trip planning seamless. There is a lovely trading post at the hotel with quality items. The grounds are grass and cottonwood trees; beautiful.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juli T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber L, Admin. Assistant at Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Juli T

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your visit to Thunderbird Lodge. We are happy you and your niece enjoyed your visit, found the accommodations clean, comfortable and affordable, the staff friendly and welcoming and that you enjoyed you tour!

Should your journey bring you back to Canyon De Chelly, we hope you will stay with us once again.

All our best,
Thunderbird Lodge Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Canyon de Shelly is one of the most outstanding places to visit in Arizona. This lodge is very convenient to the canyon entrance. The lodge is clean, comfortable but nothing outstanding. Best location for sightseeing the canyon.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank iluvta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber L, Admin. Assistant at Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

iluvta2,

Thank you so much for taking the time to rate and review your stay at Thunderbird Lodge. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit; found your accommodations clean and comfortable and location perfect for your travel plans.

Should your journey bring you back to Canyon De Chelly, we hope you will stay with us once again.

All our best,
Thunderbird Lodge Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

This is not a luxury hotel but the rooms are clean and well appointed, the staff is very welcoming, the grounds are beautiful to walk around, quiet , and peaceful. Very satisfied! Adjoining cafeteria is convenient with very friendly personnel. Limited menu but more than adequate, especially for breakfast. Blue corn pancakes were great (and the Navajo taco for dinner was a treat as well).

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank carolhT8071FR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amber L, Admin. Assistant at Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

carolhT8071FR,

Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your stay with us at Thunderbird Lodge in Chinle, Arizona. We appreciate your thoughtful comments and feedback.

We are pleased that you found your accommodations clean and comfortable, the staff friendly and the location beautiful.

Should your journey bring you back to Canyon De Chelly, we hope you will stay with us once again.

All our best,
Thunderbird Lodge Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews