We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 719)
Filter reviews
2 719 results
Traveller rating
1 336
1 029
260
59
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 336
1 029
260
59
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews amigo spot waffle spot the mexican restaurant waffle king tiki oasis breakfast restaurant room was clean old town pool and hot tub nice pool fashion valley sea world pool area an older hotel mission valley front desk staff convenient location
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 2 719 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Had a great 3-night stay at King's Inn! The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were a bit snug, but very clean and in good condition. The vibe was very retro, but the hotel was so well maintained that I thought the place was new. I highly recommend eating at the Waffle Spot (get there early because it's really popular)! The Amigo Spot was also a great place to get drinks and have dinner after a long day of exploring San Diego. The hotel is not in walking distance of any tourist spots, but many attractions are no more than 15 minutes away by car (we used Lyft so getting around was very cheap). I wouldn't mind staying there again! :D

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ariel237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

It sounds like you had a fantastic adventure in San Diego and I am happy that Kings Inn played such a big part. Thank you for your kudos for our hotel and both restaurants. I hope you do have an opportunity to visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

Came to SD to stay for a week long family outing. Staff was always friendly. Room was clean. The pool was a little cold, but my daughter didn’t care because she would just go in the spa a bit. Parking was free! Both restaurants attached to the property were great. The Old Town trolley picks up right out front and they also sell tickets to local attractions.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank BeeGillespie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

I am happy to know the pool was a great feature to your stay. We keep it heated to 80 degrees but sometimes it is nice to dip into the hot tub for a little extra warmth. Thank you for dining in both our on site restaurants as well. I appreciate your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

My wife and I have been staying at the Kings Inn San Diego since '05. It became special since our first stay was part of our honeymoon, so we've always gone back to it when we make our annual trip to the coast. We've seen it undergo many changes and it always remains a great place. The staff has always been genuinely friendly and helpful. The pet friendly rooms are always pleasant for our dogs, our kids can never get enough of the swimming pool, and my wife and I especially love the Waffle Spot and the Amigo Spot restaurants. The only thing I miss is the live Mariachi music they used to have on the weekends. But truly a great place to stay. Only 5-10 minutes from SeaWorld, Belmont Park, the beach, the Maritime Museum, the U.S.S. Midway, so many things to do so close to the hotel. Absolutely love the Kings Inn and will continue to go every chance we get.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Nate746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Wow! You have truly watched us grow over the years. Thank you for making us your go-to hotel and San Diego for your entire family, including your fur kids. We know that with a name like the Amigo Spot, Mariachi music seems like the perfect fit. But as we have become a popular destination, the rooms above the restaurant that used to be under utilized also saw a remodel and are always occupied and higher rates. The piano lounge music with Dave Smith is more chill and does not interfere with guests above as easily as the Mariachis. If it makes you feel better, we chose Dave because he had been playing next door for almost 30 years until the restaurant closed. He feels like a natural fit for Hotel Circle and our nostalgic vibe. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

We had a great experience at Kings Inn. Great service, convenient location, beautiful rooms. The front desk crew was very helpful. It seems to be more popular with families as opposed to party crowds.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Grigorios O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Sure we like to party at Kings Inn San Diego-if by partying you mean relaxing by our amazing pool with tasty margaritas from the Amigo Spot and awesome piped in 50's and 60's tunes playing over the speakers. All of course happening with utmost consideration for all guests and ending by ten PM. We are even adding a poolside tiki bar this summer for special dates and private events. As with everything we do, though, we love to keep it family-friendly. Thanks for sharing your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Staff was great, attached diner was great, attached restaurant was great, pool was great, no silly fee to park and close to highway to do fun family things. Area felt safe and security always waking around.

Room Tip: Room smelled a little weird but after the first day smell went away.
Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Seanjulianninashayna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, General Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

We strive to make Kings Inn a welcoming environment for everyone, but families have a special place in our heart. We hope to inspire the next generation of travelers to unplug and to engage with where they stay and to make happy memories that maybe one day they will want to relive with their own children. I am glad you appreciate our efforts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews