We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best Experience on a Boat”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Yacht -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
San Diego, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mary C
Del Mar
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Experience on a Boat”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We LOVE this boat and have taken it out several times. I'm surprised by the people who said they were crowded with 6 people? WHAAAAT?

We hosted a party on the boat and had about 10 people as we cruised around the bay. It was plenty of room to sit and walk around. Shaun set us up with one of the captains and he was a delight. It was a beautiful day and we enjoyed it.

Breakfast was yogurt and fruit and coffee. I mean, are you expecting eggs benedict?
There are so many great local restaurants close by, I would explore that option. I sure don't want to cook!

We are looking to rent this again in the fall. I wouldn't go anywhere else.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLorence, Montana
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hanseat09
Bremen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best holiday appartment ever”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

During our week in California we wanted to spend the last four days in San Diego. As we love the sea, we wanted to be close to the water. But over the Easter weekend most of the possible flats were already taken or simply too expensive. By chance I found Boat B&B and thought what a wonderful idea to spent the time on a boat inside a marina.

So we hired on short notice the "Czech Mate". You can read the description here on this website as well as you can see all the pics. So I do not need to repeat it all. Fact is, that we so much enjoyed our time on this boat, spending most of it up on the fly bridge, watching the world going by. Our son (9yrs) loved it also and always said, this was the best holiday place ever.

Due to its location on Shelter Island you are all around San Diego in no time. The airport is less than 10 mins by car, downtown 15mins. In the evenings we always walked to the numerous restaurants around, so no car was needed. It was safely parked on the (free) car park 100 meters away.

I was a little nervous mainly regarding our son missing a swimming pool, but there was absolutely no need for it. We hired a kayak from the team and spend much time looking around the area. The sea lions are so relaxed and we came on arm length close to them.

So concluding, it was worth every minute we spend there. The boat is very comfortable - but a boat is a boat and not a top-notch holiday villa. But everything we needed was there (especially the internet access was important to us, we never used the TV or stereo). Shower and toilets worked well and we didn't need to use the facilities of the marina.

I booked directly with Shaun from boatbnb.com and even though it was just a week before the trip and I was still in Germany, payment and paperwork went smoothly. Shaun and team were very helpful, we got a very intense tour of the boat and everything was well explained.

I will continue to look for holiday-boats at other places and would certainly book again once back to San Diego!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don M
Redlands, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful stay on the Czech Mate”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our three nights aboard the Czech Mate! The boat is well appointed with a large main stateroom with an en suite head that even has a tub; small guest cabin that would be perfect for a couple of young kids; guest head; DirectTV and DVD players in the salon and main stateroom connected to a stereo system that also includes a yacht-wide speaker system. The galley has all the essentials and Shaun had it well stocked with fruit, yogurts, juice, coffees, and seasonings for cooking. I'm 6'3" and this boat left me plenty headroom in the salon, stateroom and both heads. This boat even has nice showers so you don't have to walk up to the marina restrooms unless you need more room or water pressure. There is a great little gas grill on the stern rail that we used for a couple of ribeyes and asparagus. If you want to grill for more than two, there's a bbq area a short walk from the boat in the marina. We spent much of our time up on the fly bridge which always had a great mix of sunny and shady spots--eight people could easily enjoy a happy hour up there. If you are a sun worshiper, there's a great padded spot on the bow with room for two. The Czech Mate (and all of Shaun's fleet--we looked at them all) was immaculately well maintained. Our only complaint was the very heavy door with a fussy latch. My wife (no weakling) generally couldn't open it without help.

The marina includes a laundry, restrooms with showers, and a small gym. The men's room could use a bit of a rework. There are only two toilet stalls and one of them is part of an ADA toilet and shower area.

The marina is a short walk from about a dozen great restaurants, live music at Humphrey's, and fishing from the pier (be sure to stop at Fathom for a craft beer). I LOVE Shelter Island!

I can't wait to come back and try another one of Shaun's beautiful yachts.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara S
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“disappointed!”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This trip was so disappointing!! We were celebrating my niece's graduation with family&
& everyone was not happy with this. It was extremely crowded with six. We couldn't move aroun, sit or enjoy being together!! We traveled from three different states to get here with plane delays overnight but managed to get here less than two hours late. You get a two hour window to check in so if you are delayed you pay!! We called ahead informing them of the delay & we were told someone would be there when we arrived. We drove like crazy to get there when we said only to wait about 45 min. We were tired from traveling two days in two hrs sleep to sit in the rain & wait!! My sister was staying with others & came to see our place but soon left it was so crowded! Very unpleasant experience for such a great occasion. There was not a lot of help. Breakfast consists of yogurt & fruit!! Don't waste your money here when there are a lit of nice comfortable places closer to beach!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2015
It's unfortunate when we have a guest who writes such a "disapointing" review of a great property that most guests find "Excellent". Czech Mate is a boat and boats are smaller in size, not large and roomy like a big house. Our boats are available for a "Unique" stay, for a unique guest! We unfortunately are not a big hotel and have staff on site from 7am - 5pm 7 days a week. Our Rental Rules disclose that after 5pm is a late check-in and we have to have a staff member come back on site for any guest who arrives after hours. As for breakfast, we also disclose it is continental style - fruit, juice, yogurt, coffee, tea and oatmeal.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing