We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
Wyndham Harbour Lights(San Diego)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Andaz San Diego(San Diego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (808)
Filter reviews
808 results
Traveller rating
353
184
92
91
88
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
353
184
92
91
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsespresso machinegaslamp districtopen showerstreet noiseboutique hotelgas lampbars and restaurantsturn down serviceawesome hotelhorton plazathe location is perfectenjoyed my stayconvention centervalet parkingpetco parkimperialedenzel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 808 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just checked in but already feel very welcomed by the concierge, Matthew. He has already helped with not only directions but complimentary wine and helping clear out the mini fridge to make room for our own drinks. He also helped get us checked in early which was great! Room is clean and has a patio with a spa because of our room choice of the Fresca suite. Can’t wait to finish our night here. Thanks!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cvmosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, General Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Cvmosh,

We love the fact that you were so thrilled with the service provided both before and during the check in that you immediately went to leave this comment. That is some of the best praise we could receive as a team. There is nothing within reason we will not do to ensure our guests have the best possible experience here at the Keating. And we a glad that we were able to help facilitate a great stay. We hope to see you all again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The OK:
1. Location. Lots of restaurants and places to go esp. at night
2. Front desk staff generally were very friendly and attentive
3. Place was clean.

What sucked:
1. Noise. I heard what seemed like everything from the unit above me. At 10pm, at 3am, etc. I don't mind headboard banging so long as I'm the one doing it. The bass from the club next door and adjacent to the Keating was also heard until around 10pm each night.
2. WiFi borders on unusable. Horribly unstable, horribly under-powered and very slow when it is working (calling the front desk never helped).
3. "Botique Fees". As if overpaying for the stay wasn't enough, these fees pile up and do a good job of creeping onto your bill. Although they are supposed to pay for amenities like #2, see #2. $25 a night ON top of your bill was NOT a welcome sight.
4. Down feather pillow tops kept me warm, but the feather stems love to poke the body and make for a less-than-comfortable night's sleep. Easy enough to fix by removing it from the mattress.

When paying this much, it's reasonable to expect a bit more. I'll stay somewhere else next time I'm in SD.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ronin35531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, General Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Roger,

We appreciate your candor regarding your most recent stay. As a property located in the heart of San Diego's most lively neighborhood, we are often subject to street noise. In addition to the street noise we are surrounded by restaurants and pubs on all sides. Modern European vented dual pane windows have been installed in our stanzas to help dampen these distractions. Each floor on the property is fitted with multiple access points for WiFi connectivity, and we apologizes your calls to the front desk did not produce better results. We will be having our Lead Engineer reconfigure these immediately. Also our housekeeping team has been notified of the down bedding issue and will work towards providing added comfort to our guests stay. We are happy to know the team was a pleasant part of the stay but we are sure we can remedy the unpleasant experiences you previously had here at the Keating. Please reach out to us in the future so we can work towards rebuilding the trust you had once placed in our hotel. Wishing you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

What i know about this hotel that it is from hotel hell i actually have stayed here before hotel hell and it was hideous there was too many red and after it was the fifth best hotel i have ever stayed in

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
4  Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, General Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Ronald,

We want to thank you so very much for staying with us here at the Keating Hotel. It is great to know that you were able to experience the real thing after viewing the television episode we were featured in some years back. We truly appreciate the time you took to write about your experience here on property and we hope to host you again here very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

For the $206.00 cost of a one night stay, I was very disappointed. Although it's an awesome 1890 historic building, Its kept dark and dingy, not at all warm and inviting. The carpet was filthy, old and tattered, the outlets in the room did not work, and neither did the coffee maker. The faucet leaked all night, and the over all cleanliness was poor. They never tell you about the additional cost of a $150.00 "hold" they'll place on your credit/bank card, making that amount unavailable to you until your bank decides to release the funds back to you (7-10 days). They also don't tell you about the $25.00 charge they add on because you used their 3rd party service to book and pay for your stay, Or that parking is another $50 for the night. Over all terrible experience and I will never stay at the Keating again.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
10  Thank Mandy Maurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, General Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Mandy,

We are sorry to hear about the experience you had while on property here. The black hallways do make for a dark experience but it was part of the design in which Pininfarina wanted to create. Thank you for informing us about the outlet issue you experienced in the room, we have never had this happen before but appreciate being able to address it as soon as it comes to our attention. It seems you may have booked the room through a third party which makes connecting with the guest and sharing such information difficult. All third parties are required to inform guest of such fees whether that be on the booking page or the confirmation. However, we do make it a point to inform all guests of these charges once they reach the property. We are sorry again about the difficulties surrounding you stay. We hope we have a chance to host you again in the future.
Thank you again from all of us here at the Keating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

We stayed for our wedding night back in august and the room itself was AMAZING (we had the room with the outside courtyard and two showers) however when we arrived with all of our things, it was a lot due to us having most of our gifts with us, no assistance was offered no champagne was given. We get to the room and we are blown away it was more than we could have expected we loved the private commode and the outdoor soaking tub. We asked for toothpaste and it was delivered within minutes. I was confused as to why there was no slippers but it did not ruin the stay for me it was just weird since it was explicitly stated in the reservation that there would be. Then came the bad part....
At around 2 am we tried to take a shower in the main area but once we got in it started to flood a bit and got water all over the floor so we cleaned it up with the towels provided and were pretty disappointed because the outdoor shower was tiny and my husband is a very large man so could not fit thus he was not able to shower. Upon checkout we mentioned that the shower had flooded and got most of our belongings wet and we had to prevent a flood happening (we didn't call down, it was our wedding night we really just wanted to be left alone) so the front desk agent argued with us as to why we didn't call and so after all that we wanted our parking comped because all the little things that occurred should not have, he said "we dont do that here" um okay I work in the hotel industry and if a guest says their things got soaking wet due to an issue in the hotel you can take the parking off. THEN we wanted our luggage stored and he acted like it was the worst thing to have asked him Whatever we just got married we wanted to enjoy our day but then we came back and our luggage was still in the front lobby exactly where we left it with all of our belongings just out in the open.
Really strange stay but I honestly would stay again because the hotel was beautiful and in a great location staff need more training

Room Tip: Get the room with the courtyard, I believe it is called the spa sweet (or something like that)
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sadmac2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam D, General Manager at The Keating Hotel by Pininfarina, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Hello Sadmac2018,

First of all congrats on the marriage, we are honored we were able to host you on your big day! Every guest interaction is unique in its own right. We are sorry there wasn't someone available to assist you with your luggage, we like to do this whenever it is possible to ensure guests have as hassle free a check in as possible. We apologies for the flooding you experienced as a result of trying to shower as well as the reaction you recieved upon check out. We will be reaching out to the team to ensure we can better accomodate guests in the future. With all this said we would love to have you come back so you can get that complete Keating experience. Please reach out to us when you are ready!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews