We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
134
120
48
10
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
120
48
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews balboa park gaslamp district quaint hotel counter space in the bathroom western hotels hot breakfast stay there again rooms are small free breakfast the breakfast area within walking distance horton plaza the staff was friendly and helpful min walk convention center yogurt comfortable beds
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2018

My husband went to San Diego for Thanksgiving this November and stayed at the Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn. Its a two-story building surrounded by high rises of apartments and condos near Gas Lamp District and Little Italy. Their parking fee was the cheapest ($15/day) in downtown San Diego and parking space is always guaranteed bec they stop selling spaces once they're full. Our room was on the second floor (Room 225),quiet,clean,though small for a king bed,very updated bathroom fixtures,ceiling fan and air conditioner inside we can regulate. Beds a bit hard,but there's choices of pillows.There's coffee maker and mini fridge (that turns off and on at nights that wakes us up) The receptionist was very friendly and helpful even if its a holiday weekend.The plants around the building makes the place looks like a garden. The breakfast room was a bit small,with just two tables inside,though there's sitting outside.The continental breakfast was sufficient with cold and hot food and beverages. There's a lovely set up of tables and chairs,sofas for lounging on the roof top overlooking condos and apartment buildings.The only thing that bothered us was the homeless population on our walks downtown,they don't beg or bother people but they are all over the place,sleeping on pavements but the security people on Segways were trying to move them along. I was dissapointed with the homeless occupying the Horton Plaza,we can't even sit down for they have taken seats and tables ( there's a Starbucks in the corner).I good walk to Little Italy and Gas Lamp District where all the shops are and great restaurants,so much choices... will definitely stay here again,Inn is near the 405 Freeway,so easy in and out.

Room tip: Room 225,corner room second floor
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 747goodlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y_Chen, General Manager at Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2018

Hi 747goodlife,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review on your recent stay at our property. We apologized for any inconvenience. And just to let you know, we just replaced all the mattresses on all rooms. We hope to see you again and enjoy our new beds. We are looking forward on your next visit to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

Just stayed here for 2 nights and it was great. The location is excellent, 15 dollars for parking when everywhere else is charging 30 dollars plus. Free breakfast , the rooms are dated but spotless , staff are lovely and I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to be near to everything in San Diego

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank anne01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y_Chen, General Manager at Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2018

Our entire team were very glad that you had a wonderful experience during your recent stay. If felt good knowing that we were able to satisfy your needs and received a great service from our wonderful staff. We are looking forward on your next visit to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

This hotel was excellent, the rooms where comfortable and clean. The location was perfect and the staff was outstanding and so courteous. Could not ask for anything better. The price you could not beat.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank mictrac0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y_Chen, General Manager at Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2018

Hi Mictrac0,
Our entire team would like to thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your recent stay at our property. We are glad you had a wonderful experience. We are looking forward on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

A very good location close to downtown attractions. A pretty good value for the area.
Easy parking, but not a lot available. A cute place in the middle of the city. Not a big place but easy to settle in, Has a little walkway with tables and lots of potted plants. Pretty clean overall. Can walk to Gaslamp and Petco Park, but walking back would probably safer to get a ride as some blocks can be a bit questionable. Not the biggest room or bathroom but it works. Has a good free breakfast in their small, but adequate dining room. No resort frills but serves it's purpose very well.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy2353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y_Chen, General Manager at Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Hi Randy2353,
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our property. We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review. We a;ppreciate your feedback. We are looking forward on your next visit to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

We stayed for a brief overnight to see a baseball game. Great location to SD attractions, would stay there again. Everyone was very helpful :) Nice little hotel with a great, easy going vibe to it. Stay here and see the Gaslamp District !

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Y_Chen, General Manager at Best Western Cabrillo Garden Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Hi Tim C,
It really felt good knowing that you had a wonderful stay. We appreciate your feedback and would like to see you again on your next visit to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews