We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
177
79
15
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
177
79
15
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chili's restaurant front desk ihg properties pancake maker yogurt business trip business hotel rooms are big la jolla the breakfast area the general manager third party nice hotel quiet location short stay breakfast buffet clean rooms
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed at this Holiday Inn Express for 10 nights, it was nice and clean. Staff was friendly and KK one of the housekeepers was exceptional!!! I cannot compliment KK enough, she was so sweet and went out of her way for us!! She definitely should be in a higher position with her outgoing, willing to help, professional attitude!!! I told the manager about her and they never gave her the compliment, I feel they should have shared this with her.The rooms are nice....but, VERY BASIC, as is the pool and breakfast. The dining area is very nice and large. The parking lot was shared with a Chili’s, so sometimes parking was inconvenient. Nice place for a short stay, I wouldn’t recommend a long trip stay here.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Julie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIESV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sorrento Valley San Diego. We are very happy to hear that our staff made your stay pleasant. We always aim to provide our guests with the highest quality of service and we are glad those efforts paid off on your last visit. Rest assured that we will pass along your praises to the team, especially to KK, to inspire them more.

Again, thank you. We hope to have you here again on your next trip to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Stood here 2 days had a great time staff management are the best. rooms were clean not too far from Old Town San Diego 20 minutes and CeCe was the Great she treated us like family I always love coming here on are weekend getaways

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank George A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIESV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Thank you so much for your great review and for giving the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sorrento Valley San Diego a perfect rating! I'm sure our entire hotel staff enjoyed catering to your needs as much as you enjoyed your stay. I will pass along your praises to the whole team, especially to Cece, to inspire them more. We can't wait to serve you again on your next visit to San Diego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018

This Holiday Inn Express met all our expectations. The main characteristics we look for when choosing our hotel are: location; parking; safety; cleanliness; and, price/value/breakfast. The location was great because we planned on doing a lot of things in downtown San Diego and visiting several places north of San Diego. This hotel location allowed us to be an easy drive away to our northern adventures (La Jolla Shores Beach, Solana Beach, Del Mar, UCSD, and Torrey Pines State Beach) and a simple drive away to our southern adventures (San Diego Zoo, Petco Park, USS Midway Museum, Coronado Beach, Mission Beach, Balboa Park, and SDSU). Parking was easy and free. There is a Chili's restaurant within a few feet, but we did not have time to eat there. The surrounding area (nearby streets within a mile or so) hosts a lot of business offices, but besides the Chili's, there wasn't much activity right next to the hotel, so there was no negative issue for us regarding safety at this hotel. The room was large (lots of counter space in the bathroom, and a hair dryer was provided) and very clean, and housekeeping did a great job the one time they serviced our room. The beds and pillows were good, the wi-fi worked well, the A/C worked well (San Diego was going through a heat wave when we visitied, so good A/C was important!). We used the refrigerator to store drinks (water). There was a coffee-maker that we did not use. We asked for a room on a high floor when we made the reservation, but we ended up with a ground floor room, which we didn't mind, since this allowed for a quick and easy stroll to the room upon entering the hotel; we could hear hallway noise through the door at the beginning of our stay, but luckily for us, we were at the end of the hall and our neighbors were quiet, so we ended up not hearing any bothersome noise at all. The only thing about the room that bothered us was that there was no place in the bathroom to hang towels (bath towels, washcloths, and hand towels), so that made it nearly impossible to recycle/reuse towels; since our stay was short (three nights), we had housekeeping change our towels for the second night, and we used the shower curtain rail and bathroom door hanger to get through the third night. Breakfast was great, with plenty of choices: biscuits and gravy; bagels; english muffins; danishes; cream cheese; butter; syrup; strawberry jam; grape jelly; honey; scrambled eggs; bacon and sausage on alternating days, including turkey sausage patties and pork sausage links; cheese (yellow) omelet; veggie cheese (white) omelet; Quaker instant oatmeal; brown sugar; raisins; pecans; 2% milk; Yoplait/Chobani yogurts; boiled eggs; orange juice; apple juice; cranberry juice; granola and other cereals; coffee; tea; pancake maker; cinnamon rolls; oranges; apples; and, bananas. The front desk personnel were friendly, and the lobby had a big water dispenser (which we used to fill up small plastic water bottles) and cups, as well as freshly-baked cookies (such as oatmeal raisin) some afternoons/evenings. The outdoor pool area (including towels and chairs) looked nice, but we did not have time to try it out; during my very early morning breakfasts, I saw personnel performing thorough cleaning activities, which impressed me. The business computer worked well to allow planning for leisure activities and looking up restaurants, as well as for checking business email (while on vacation!). The fitness room was small with a few elliptical/treadmill machines, as well as an old well-used weight-center machine; we did not have the chance to use the fitness room much, but a newer weight center would probably be appreciated by future hotel guests. We enjoyed our family vacation to San Diego, and this Holiday Inn Express satisfied all our needs!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 20854Dave_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIESV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Wow! Thank you so much for your amazing review of your recent stay with us and for giving the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Sorrento Valley San Diego a perfect rating. We are very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We always aim to provide our guests with the best hotel experience in a great environment and, we are glad those efforts paid off on your last visit. I will pass along your praises to the team to inspire them more.

Again, thank you. We hope to have you and your family here again on your next trip to San Diego!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

First room we checked into had stains on the bedding and the chair arms were black from wear and tear. The second room we checked into had another dirty chair, the bathroom is peeling, the toilet was running constantly, and the sink had a leak. This place is not keeping up with normal maintenance. Way overpriced for the quality of the rooms. The location is good if you are visiting UCSD or the tech companies around there but not impressed. The front desk staff was all very nice and accommodating but the hotel itself needs a huge overhaul.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIESV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Thank you for taking time to review your stay. We appreciate your feedback regarding our hotel and please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve our guests' hotel experience.

Again, thank you. We look forward to serving you again and hopefully, we will get to perfect the service on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

We have just checked in at the hotel and were allocated room 424. When we got to the room, we found it to be a disabled access room. While this is great if you need it, we do not and did not want a wet room style bathroom and low level fixtures. My husband popped down to reception to ask if we could change room only to be told that, as we booked in advance through a third party in the UK, we paid a lower rate and just have to accept whatever room we are given. So, in short, we are being treated as inferior guests as we booked in advance. Feeling furious right now and definitely won’t be using Holiday Inn in the future, that’s for sure!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Wordbird74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIESV, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Diego-Sorrento Valley, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay with us and we apologize for the inconvenience. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. While we wish you had a better experience, it's apparent in this case that we fell short. Hopefully, you will give us another chance to provide you a better hotel experience that we are known for. Again, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews