We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind of Scary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites Tupelo
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Tupelo
Reviewed 9 November 2015

We arrived at 11:45pm mid week. We were only staying one night and just needed a safe, clean place to sleep. The location was hidden behind some abandoned buildings and there were a few drunk guys in the adjacent parking lot stumbling around. When we got to our room, it was mostly clean though the bathroom was questionable. At breakfast in the lobby the next morning, their was a fly floating in the milk. Still had a drunk guy walking around the parking lot the next morning. Only positives was the comfortable bed and the front desk clerk was very nice. Overall I did not feel safe at all at this location.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa0318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2015

Overall, this is not a terrible hotel. The room was clean enough and the bed was comfortable enough. That being said, here are the notable cons to this location:

1) The room felt very damp on our arrival and all the bed linens felt equally damp. They do not run the A/C at all to keep the moisture out of the room, so all the humidity soaks into the linens. We cranked the A/C up and hung all the linens for several hours and that helped dry them out a bit.

2) The shower bursts out scalding hot water every couple minutes. It does not matter what temperature you have the water at the rest of the time (warm, luke-warm, cold) - every couple minutes it will burn you.

3) The internet is completely worthless. This, to me, is a huge violation and the main reason for my low rating. HIgh-speed internet is a basic amenity at any hotel, and it drives me crazy when a business can't offer even the most minimal of wireless internet signals. I ran a speed test on it and it clocked in at 0.16Mb download and 0.10Mb upload, and this is just when it's working at its peak. Half the time there's no signal at all. It takes several minutes just to check email, and forget about streaming Netflix or Youtube. You might as well be running on dial-up. If internet is even remotely important to you, you'll want to look somewhere else.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda D, Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites Tupelo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2015

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at Rodeway Inn & Suites.

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding our Internet on your recent visit. Our property will be going under renovation soon. I have shared your feedback with our staff to ensure we handle these types of situations differently in the future.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Tupelo.

Kind regards,

Amanda Daniels
General Manager
Rodeway Inn & Suites
662-844-4464

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

The worst place. Maximum one night. Strange, drunk and noisy guests. We were scared. Rooms are clean but not smoke free. Bathroom terrible. Hard to find it is not by the road and in a really scary area. Breakfast was a joke. Receptionist was friendly though.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank vastralagno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda D, General Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites Tupelo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2015

Thank you for posting your review of our hotel. We greatly appreciate your feedback; however, I regret to hear you encountered issues during your stay. Our property will be under going renovation soon. I have already address your concerns about the empty building with our Mayor. Our local police department and Mayor have worked extremely hard to guarantee our guests safety and our employees. Please email me at gm@rodewaytupelo.com so we can further discuss the issues you experienced. We hope that you'll give our property another try whenever your in Tupelo.

Amanda Daniels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

It was just what we wanted. A clean room with a comfortable bed, a microwave, tv and I believe it had a refrig though we didn't use or need it. The only thing was the shower nozzle was a little on the short side if you're washing your hair. If you're a tall person this might be a problem. I'm 5'5". All in all it was a great value. $55.99 plus tax.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank gypsybug49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda D, General Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites Tupelo, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2015

We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

Amanda Daniels
General Manager
Rodeway Inn & Suites
662-844-4464

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2015 via mobile

The room was nice enough and the price was reasonable, but after my client locked himself out of his room, the office staff would not let him back in my room with out an ID. His ID was in his room? They had made a copy of his ID at check in, but it took an act of congress to get ""Ron" to look at the ID and confirm this was indeed the customer they had registered to the room. Not a good way to get return customers in a town saturated with hotels.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled solo
2  Thank Everywhere_man1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda D, Manager at Rodeway Inn & Suites Tupelo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2015

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at Rodeway Inn & Suites.Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding our security policy on your recent visit. Please email at gm@rodewaytupelo.com so we can further discuss the issue you client experienced. We hope that you'll give our property another try whenever your in the Tupelo area.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tupelo hotels
4.0 km away
Econo Lodge Tupelo
Econo Lodge Tupelo
#19 of 26 in Tupelo
96 reviews
0.8 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 26 in Tupelo
174 reviews
0.9 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#12 of 26 in Tupelo
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Americas Best Value Inn - Tupelo
1.3 km away
Courtyard Tupelo
Courtyard Tupelo
#14 of 26 in Tupelo
147 reviews
0.3 km away
Candlewood Suites Tupelo North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites Tupelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites Tupelo

Address: 852 N Gloster St # A, Tupelo, MS 38804-1935
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Mississippi > Tupelo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Tupelo
Price Range: R901 - R929 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites Tupelo 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites Tupelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing