We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
What an experience

I have visited Boston quite a few times and this was always something I wanted to do and finally... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Its_Ellie
,
London, United Kingdom
Best part of my trip!

I went on the last trip of the season and it was phenomenal! I don’t think I could have had a... read more

Reviewed 12 December 2018
jodit888
,
Charleston, South Carolina
via mobile
Read all 1 172 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Boston
from US$27,95
More Info
Go Boston Card
138 Reviews
from US$57,00
More Info
from US$25,00
More Info
from US$78,43
More Info
Reviews (1 172)
Filter reviews
1 172 results
Traveller rating
734
247
90
50
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
734
247
90
50
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews humpback whales sea sickness stellwagen bank rain check marine sanctuary feeding grounds mother and calf motion sickness new england aquarium whale activity open ocean bring a jacket hour trip great trip boat ride four hours top deck
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 1 172 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We saw whales and guide was very informative, didn’t give 5 stars because we passed two balloons and one bag on the trip and no effort was made to pick it up. One balloon we passed was actually during the conservation message of the plastic pollution in oceans. It is so disheartening to hear about the damage of balloons in the ocean as we sail right by one, doesn’t anyone on board have a net? I don’t think you can be a “ecotourism” organization when you don’t even try to pick up trash you go by.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank stephanielP1071OF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

It was smooth sailing today with Captain Deb and her knowledgeable crew. After a quick ride out to Stellwagen Bank we were surrounded by several whales. Even a mom and her calf! We got great pictures and videos of the whales and their tails. There was plenty of room to move about the boat when a whale was spotted. The crew from the Aquarium was knowledgeable and full of fun, interesting facts.
Do your self a favor and take this tour! Purchasing tickets is easy. Staff is friendly. The boat is clean and has plenty of seating -both indoors and outside. Food for sale and bathrooms on board as well.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank 716KathyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Great experience with the kids. They loved the boat ride and stayed outside the whole time enjoying the speed and waves. Loved see the city on the way out and even planes leading at the airport. The whales and dolphins were abundant and amazing to see. Great tour guide and a photographer on board so you don’t have to take the pictures yourself. A must do.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Annick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

If you love nature - go and see the whales on one of the whale watching boats in Boston.
Take a fleece or something to keep the wind off ... you'll fly over the water - which is a fun on its own - but definitely take you digital device to get the show on memory.
After around an hour high speed drive we started off observing a mother and her cave hovering on the surface, sleeping yet half conscious about their surrounding - learned that from the staff who explaining all behaviors even kids (5yr & 9yrs) got super excited and amazed to see them up close.
And then we enjoyed the back'n forth of communication between two whales ... one who was around 3miles out on the sea and one which was "next" to the boat ... rewarding our patience with bridging out of the water multiple times(!) and splashing its flipper while swimming upside down. So impressive ...TV shows are not coming close to what you'll feel when seeing this graceful & powerful animals.
Thanks to the knowledgable crew it was a great gift for children & adults to see such great scenes.
Highly recommending it when visiting Boston.
Totally worth the money for such fantastic experience.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank KathyD082014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

A great way to spend the day. I went this weekend and had a ball! We saw 12 different whales. I highly recommend the tour! You get a free ticket, good forever if you fail to see a whale. Food and beverages, including alcohol, on the boat, are moderately priced. bring binoculars!

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank coachjakes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews