We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Lovely Home in the Heart of Boston”
other travellers have booked this property
Commonwealth Ave Building
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Commonwealth Ave Building
Exterior - Front door Living Room on Comm Ave side
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Commonwealth Ave Building
Exterior - Front door
Living Room on Comm Ave side
Sitting area - Bow window
Living Room again
Foyer again
Foyer looking to Living Room
Dining Area again (with 52\' flat screen)
Dining Area with Kitchen shown
Kitchen again
Kitchen (Sub Zero, Trash Compactor, etc)
Dining Area, taken from Kitchen
Upstairs Half Bath
Stairs to 4 bedrroms
Master Bedroom (King bed)
Master Bedroom (TV has been updated to flatscreen)
Master Bathroom
Guest room #2
Guest room #3 (One Twin Bed)
Guest Bedroom #4 (Two twin Beds)
Guest Bedroom #4 (Two Twin Beds)
Guest Bedroom #4 (TV has been updated to flatscreen)
Downstairs guest bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Boston, Massachusetts

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ksza1000
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Lovely Home in the Heart of Boston”
Reviewed 4 March 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fabulous one month stay in this lovely home. So centrally located, just a walk away from Newbury St. where we had our favorite ramen resto and a quick Uber ride to nearby areas. Our temporary home had all the comforts and amenities we needed. We made delicious meals in the kitchen/family room, rested and slept well in our bedrooms, and our location made it easy for friends to come and visit. I would surely stay here again if I needed to spend time in Boston in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfredo G
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, stylish, great location, perfect for a Family reunion ”
Reviewed 19 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

During the last days of October, on a New England fall weekend, we have the opportunity to gather the Family at Karen’s place. We came from Caracas, Bogotá and Toronto, after two years without being together. Boston and Karen’s lovely place were great choices. It was Head of the Charles row boats race weekend, and we had the perfect warm weather for a fall weekend. Karen’s house is very well decorated, full of details and charm. Antiques, collectors items from all over the world, old wooden floors, high ceilings, tricky locks and multiple personal details, makes you feel in a special place. It felt like home, specially in the evenings, after visiting the city, it was the place to talk, to have a glass of wine, to laugh, to have fun. To be together. Renting a house to be together was great, cooking and having breakfast was like home, Karen’s house enhance the moment.
It is and old, classic New England building located at Commonwealth Avenue, just one block from Newbury Street, perfect location.
One tiny detail, the bathrooms are tiny, something you should expect for an old house.
Thanks Karen, we really enjoyed your place.
Strongly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Stay, wonderful location!”
Reviewed 18 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Loved our stay at Back Bay Condo. Karen was extremely helpful and thoughtful. The condo was well stocked, comfortable, and in the perfect location. I already miss the house and Boston!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2017
Thanks so much Rebecca!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil C
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old World Charm, New World Amenities”
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We are a family of seven, ranging in age from 20 to 74, who rented this condo for a five day family reunion. The owner, Karen, was very easy and helpful to work with and responded to all our questions, both before and during our stay. The condo is located in an historic Back Bay residential neighborhood, one block from shops and restaurants and three blocks from the Logan Airport Express shuttle, the Boston subway system and a pickup point for the Hop On Hop Off bus. The location made it so easy to access transportation to see the sights Boston had to offer and Karen provided maps and local restaurant menus, as well as helpful information about the condo's TV's, air conditioning, etc.The condo is spacious and graciously and interestingly decorated. The beds are comfortable, the kitchen has high end appliances and is fully stocked with cooking and eating utensils, as well as spices and condiments. There is a small corner market where we were able to purchase breakfast items. There are stairs up to the front entrance and down to the bedroom level but they were easily negotiated. Our family appreciated being able to spend time together in such pleasant surroundings and we will treasure our memories of our reunion in Boston. Thanks, Karen, for your in help making it possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, spaciousness, decor
Liked least: The entrance keys were tricky to fiddle with
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2016
You are so kind. i'm happy everything went so well. And thanks again for being such considerate guests - you left
my place absolutely spotless which was not necessary, but very much appreciated! You were fabulous guests. And thanks for your helpful suggestions as well!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConstantT...
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Kids, Parents, Grandparents All Loved It!”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My family joined me on this Boston trip for my graduation in May. We stayed there for almost a week. There were 7 of us and we were all very impressed by this vacation rental and the owner, Karen.

The apartment itself has two levels and is incredibly spacious. It is very conveniently situated in the Newbury shopping area. Because it was only 3 short walking blocks away from the Green Line station, we were able to get anywhere in Boston with ease. Because of this, even as a family with two young kids, 5 and 7, we were able to get from the airport (via the free Silver Line shuttle and free transfer to the Tube) to the Tube station with no problem.

The apartment is clean and is eclectically decorated. Everything we needed as a family was there...and more. It was well furnished and very comfortable to stay in.

Karen was very responsive both via email and over the text and phone. She was a wealth of information, too! She was available if we ever had a question.

I would take my family back again if we ever go back to Boston.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close to Everything. Spacious and Clean. Responsive Owner
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
Thanks so much Alex. And congrats on your Harvard degree!! Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing