We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“I LOVE this magical place!”
other travellers have booked this property
Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Living Room Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Grounds
Deck
Deck
Upper waterfall view from Creekside Cottage
Lower waterfall view from Creekside Cottage
Creekside cottage deck
Historic Gristmill at Laughing Waters
Old farmhouse chimneys at Laughing Waters
Laughing Waters waterfall
Hickory Nut Creek
Creekside Cottage waterfall in winter
Creekside Cottage in winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Asheville, North Carolina

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cathy M
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I LOVE this magical place!”
Reviewed 31 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I spent 3 nights here on retreat and could not have had a better place. So many beautiful meditation spots! Beauty all around. The mountains are steep and have many medicinal plants growing on them. The water and all the waterfalls are incredible. I highly recommend this little cabin for the perfect place to get away from it all, unplug, and restore yourself. Would be a very romantic place for a couple as well!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2015
Thank you for your kind words! We are very grateful to have someone like you visit Laughing Waters and feel the positive energy that is contained there! It truly is a perfect piece of this Earth to meditate on! We will look forward to your return visit with us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean secluded retreat.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We needed an escape from the hot, humid summer in Charleston where we could relax with minimal noise and interruption. Laughing Waters was perfect. The cabin was very clean and had everything we needed to cook nice dinners while looking out over the stream that runs behind the cabin. A private hiking trail led right from the front door up into the mountains and after our hike we cooled off in the stream. The surrounding property is large and well kept and fun to explore. We met John at the end of our stay who was very nice and full of information about the area. My only warning is that there is a large lodge near the cabin which was vacant while we were there but I would be sure it is not being rented out if you are looking for privacy. It was empty the weekend we were there and we got exactly the secluded weekend we were looking for. We definitely plan to return the next time we need a mountain escape.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2015
I truly agree that Laughing Waters is the perfect place to get away! Thank you for your kind review we are very grateful to have visitors like you and we look forward to you visiting with us again! A great place to escape the heat and noise for sure!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AHMBLEV
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“A little piece of heaven!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A perfect week in a perfect place to leave the world behind and be alone with the one you love. Unbelievable views and a rushing stream right outside your door made this absolutely perfect. Everything you need is provided (and no TV! but wifi!) and the location is perfect to reach all that the area has to offer. I would highly recommend it with one caveat being that there is a large lodge on the property that was vacant during our stay, so don't know how that would impact things however, minimal I would think. I highly recommend this if you enjoy nature along with creature comforts!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stream and solitude.
Liked least: Dull kitchen knife.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words and review! It's so wonderful to hear how perfect your visit was and that, in turn, makes us feel really good that you had a great time! We will look forward to your visit with Laughing Waters again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Jun 2015
Thank you for your wonderful and kind words! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you will come back for another visit with us sometime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$150
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing