We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
translated by Google
Ways to Experience Arches National Park
from US$119,46
More Info
from US$199,00
More Info
from US$1 498,99
More Info
Reviews (8 438)
Filter reviews
8 438 results
Traveller rating
7 309
915
173
23
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7 309
915
173
23
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews delicate arch devil's garden sand dune arch broken arch primitive trail windows section bring water lots of water balanced rock visitor center natural beauty fiery furnace bucket list take your time awe inspiring amazing scenery hiking trails
Filter
Updating list...
864 - 869 of 8 438 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Everything you could imagine and more. However, it is crowded. If you get in the entrance line at the wrong time of day, it can take a long, long time to get in. Also parking is limited in the park, but, the rangers seem to be pretty lenient, as long as you don't park somewhere blatantly illegal or marked.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

What a nice park. We really enjoyed the drive through this park and stopping for short hikes to see this beautiful treasure!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank springhill58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

We spent one full day at Arches and felt that we had seen and gotten a good feel for the park. There are supposedly 1,600 to 2,000 stone arches, which is the highest concentration of arches in the US, but only a few of these are visible from the drive or hikes. The park has an 18 mile scenic drive around it to see the arches and from which a number of short, easy hikes are available. We hiked around Balanced Rock. We went to the windows and hiked up to the North Window with a large group of very disrespectful foreign/Asian tourists. (An Aside: I love the fact that people from other countries want to visit our National Parks, but when people blatantly ignore the signs which say “delicate eco-system” and “please stay on the path” by walking straight off the path in large groups to take photos it makes me very upset. I wish the large tour bus companies bringing them into the parks would talk more clearly to them about this.) That aside, we had a great view of Turret Arch and walked to South Window. The crowd thins out there. If you then hike back from behind South Window, you will be alone. This gives you wonderful views, but make sure you do it with a buddy, water and a hat. The trail takes you back to the lower parking area and near the entrance to Double Arch. Double Arch was crowded and never empty of people. We drove to and loved the longer hike to Landscape Arch. It was my favorite arch in the park. It sits alone in a more natural setting. There is also a look-out to Delicate Arch, so if you do not want to do the long and strenuous hike to Delicate Arch (which is recommended only in the cool morning time), you can see it at a distance at a look-out point. Compared to the other National Parks in Utah, Arches was my least favorite. It is the most crowded and the arches are mostly just sitting out in a barren landscape. It is small and doable in a day unless you want to do the longer hikes. It is most beautiful and enjoyable in the morning and late afternoon. It can be very hot and exposed.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank IowaMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

As our nation expands, so does the demand to experience our national parks. This park is no exception! Plan to arrive early - 6 am is not too early, believe it or not! We enjoyed the services of a guided tour - shout-out to Madeline with Moab Adventure Center for an informative, stress-free visit to Arches. Thank you Madeline for the wonderful pictures she took of us with our phone/cameras!! Aside from being a terrific guide, Madeline is a professional photographer!!

Because MAC has an annual pass, we were able to bypass the line and drive right in - a big plus. If you arrive after 9:30am in the summer months, you had better plan on a “crawl” to the entrance.

Immediately clearing the entrance you will begin the climb to the park’s interior. The rock formations are breathtaking! There are ample trails and hikes to some of the more well-known arches. And the hikes vary from a few minutes to many hours to view some of the more spectacular ones.

Please, please heed the advice of others and come WELL PREPARED. Bring plenty of water!! Pay attention to what your body is telling you! We are from the East Coast and EVERY afternoon I would notice a dull headache coming on - I was dehydrated. I had increased my water consumption before heading west, but it was too little, too late. The body can only absorb small amounts in frequent (as in every 10-15 minutes) doses throughout the day. Downing 16-20 ounces at once will sadly just be wasted because you cannot absorb that much in such a short period of time. And finally, think about your footwear - flip flops are for the beach, NOT for rocky trails.

Don’t miss Sand Dunes Arch - it is a collection of petrified sand dunes with narrow passageways. If you have children with you, they will want to climb everything they can! This was better than any playground!!

My greatest regret was we were not there for the sunset. I would imagine the arches would provide for some dramatic pictures.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Grand-in-VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Would do it again tomorrow!! Word to the wise, get to the park as early as you can! Watching the sunrise is incredible AND you beat the crowds. If you plan to do Delicate Arch I would drive straight there and get to it. I wouldn’t attempt it after 7am in the summer, it’s just too hot. Carry plenty of water and enjoy!!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank karouselkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews