We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best crab legs ever”

Crab House at Pier 39
Reserve with OpenTable
Crab House at Pier 39 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #307 of 6 312 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Transit: F-Line & #15
Description: Great view & SF's famous Dungeness Crab served in seriously addictive garlic sauce make us the go to spot on scenic Pier 39 for casual dining.
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

We had an reservation thru open table and it worked out perfectly. While people stood in line to get in, we waited 3 minutes for our table. Service was quick even that it was REALLY busy. The wine was delicious and the crab legs where outstanding. They where cooked in a wonderful garlicky buttery sauce so the meat of the legs was wonderful tasty. You could even still see the different spices/herbs in the sauce. It was "fingerlicking" good. We even soaked up the sauce with the bread. Thank you for such wonderful food in a touristy place.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank oosmaedla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart M, General Manager at Crab House at Pier 39, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing the wonderful review! We're glad to see that you had such a pleasant dining experience at Crab House at Pier 39. Our staff is dedicated to providing each guest with exceptional service regardless of how busy our restaurant gets, and it's great to know that you appreciated the attentiveness and friendliness of those serving you. We're delighted to hear that you were so impressed with the quality of your food and that you enjoyed every last bit of the dishes you ordered.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future! Have a lovely day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

336 - 340 of 1 933 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2016

Thi is very popular restaurant in the Pier39. The great line will meet you in front of the entrance. A lot of the people would like to visit this place and they love it. If you have a lot of time you can visit a lot of stores around this restaurant. We left one of the our friend on the line and went to around. After 40 minutes expectations we still got inside.
Waitress was very pretty and responsive. But we was waiting our order more than one hour. This point upset us. But after we have called supervisor and he resolved all our issues. All our demands was done, we had a nice discount for bill and delicious dessert for free.
Sea soup was perfect. The best in my life. Also my friend tried Crab soup and it also was perfect.
I advise to visit this restaurant for all tourists.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marat86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart M, General Manager at Crab House at Pier 39, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with us! We're glad that we could accommodate you during your recent dinner at Crab House at Pier 39. We apologize for the time it took for you to receive your meal, but we're glad to hear that our staff was able to resolve the issue in a timely manner and make up for the inconvenience. It's great to know that you were particularly satisfied with the flavor of the dishes you ordered. Our goal is to provide each guest the the freshest and tastiest cuisine.

We look forward to hosting you again when you're in the area. We truly appreciate your feedback. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

In such an overcrowded touristic place, one cannot expect fantastic cuisine at the right price. We knew that but still needed to have lunch. The Crab house is attractive inside with excellent views on the harbour. Great ambiance. The menu is very limited. The prices are on the high side for all items. The food is fine, nothing special but good quality. The rating should be between 3 (average) and 4 (very good), meaning good. Because we rated value at below average, we rated Crab House overall with an average 3.
I suspect this would be the case for most places in the Fisherman's Wharf area.
Oh yes, the bib. Very nice, people having it around their neck look like a million dollar guest!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SteveRuzicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart M, General Manager at Crab House at Pier 39, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

Thank you for your feedback, Steve.

We're glad that we could accommodate you for a quality meal at Crab House at Pier 39. It's great to know that you appreciated the ambience of our restaurant as well as the stunning views of the harbour. We only wish that you had been more impressed with the dishes you ordered, but we're confident in our ability to "wow" you in the future.

We'd love to have another opportunity to host you again and show you what we're truly capable of. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts with us, Steve. Have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

Honestly, I'm so disappointed that I wasted my time at this restaurant, if you can even call it that. After walking in, I almost slipped because the floors are filled with food and garbage. Everything was dirty. Then, we ordered our apps, which came shortly after but the waiter never came back to take our full order. We were basically done the apps when our main dishes were ordered. Also, horrible attitude from the staff. When our stew came, the bowls and spoons were filthy with leftover food on them. Totally destroyed the meal and any hope I had left for this... Place. Final verdict, go somewhere else for your own good.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Rebecca Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart M, General Manager at Crab House at Pier 39, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2016

Hi, Rebecca.

It's disappointing to hear that you were unsatisfied with your visit to Crab House at Pier 39. We can assure you that providing our guests with a clean and welcoming atmosphere is something we take very seriously. We're dedicated to serving only the best cuisine and we're sorry to hear that you were unable to enjoy it to the fullest.

We've sent you a private message so that we can resolve this as soon as possible. We appreciate you taking the time to share with us and we look forward to hearing from you soon. Have a great day, Rebecca.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

We went to the Crab House on Pier 39 the last week of July 2016 because it's one of those places that you're suppose to visit when you go to San Francisco on the pier. We had to wait about 45 minutes to be seated but the atmosphere was great. I feel that it's really over priced and when we left there we had to get something else to eat within the next hour. The taste of the food was okay, I've had better for less money. This place is just okay and now I can say that "I did that".... Oh, want to let you know that their register would not accept our American Express gift cards.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 123Kimberly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bart M, General Manager at Crab House at Pier 39, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

Thank you for your feedback, Kimberly.

We're sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your dining experience at Crab House at Pier 39. We strive to create a memorable experience for each of our guests and serve only the most exceptional food. It's unfortunate to know that you expected more from your visit with us. We hope you'll give us another opportunity to host you again if you ever return to San Francisco. We'd love to show you what we're truly capable of. Have a great day, Kimberly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crab House at Pier 39 also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Crab House at Pier 39? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing