We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“1st time to San Fran for Family vacation”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
San Francisco, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
210LaTony...
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“1st time to San Fran for Family vacation”
Reviewed 14 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This hotel is in a great location being in the Union Square district-a block from Chinatown, 3-4 blocks from GREAT shopping and the Powell/Market St Cable car mainline!!! We had never used Uber before, but Ryan (one of the BellMan) got us set-up with Uber so my dad could back and forth to dialysis easier. My dad fell in love with it...then we used Uber to get around town and to the airport because it was cheaper than a taxi! This hotel doesn't have a pool which was fine with us. Convenient to good places to eat too like Piraat Pizza is down the hill (next block) and Cafe Bean for breakfast is up the hill (next block). The concierge staff was very helpful in setting up a few tours for us and providing suggestions on getting around town. We truly enjoyed our stay and will be going back to San Fran and will stay at Wyndham Canterbury.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Luxury in great location!”
Reviewed 8 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We got upgraded to a 3-bed Presidential Suite, which was a bonus! Loads of space and very luxurious - just don't sleep in a bedroom above the street, because it can get very noisy. Managed to avoid the free breakfast invite (and hence time-share presentation), enjoyed the games room and sampled some good nearby restaurants. The location is great for exploring San Francisco on foot or public transport.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam G
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“so convenient in every way. the place to stay when in San Francisco”
Reviewed 10 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Room, excellent. full kitchen with American fridge freezer, oven, microwave,washing machine and dryer. lots of utensils, plates etc. great to be able to self cater when we had an early start or late evening. nice separate living room. bedroom with very comfortable bed. no outside noise or noisy neighbours during our stay.
location - ideal for exploring San Francisco. easy walking distance to union square, china town, market street. got picked up from hotel as part of arranged excursions ( we arranged with Viator)
staff - very friendly and helpful. only hassled once about the timeshare breakfast. said a firm no and we weren't bothered again.

we stayed at the arganaut hotel last time we were here but the Canterbury easily as nice for décor, service and location, but with the added benefit of kitchen and laundry.

will definitely stay again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sdecelles...
Hopedale, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“More than expected”
Reviewed 7 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Our stay at the Wyndham Canterbury in San Francisco was more than we could have ever expected. Accommodations and the staff were perfect. Access to local attractions make it very easy to get around and the local neighborhood was safe and comfortable for walking to coffee shops, stores and restaurants. I would highly recommend this resort to family, friends and even strangers.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan S
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing room, in a great location with friendly service”
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

After some great reviews, we decided to book a room at the Wyndham through trip advisor, advertised as a timeshare property we didn't know 100% what to expect but liked the flexibility of a small kitchen area and something generally larger than a hotel room for the week.

On your way to the Wyndham if making your way by public transport take the Dart to Powell Street, walk up Powell to Sutter and its then only a few blocks. We ended up going a slightly different way which I wouldn't recommend. Powell street is a busy shopping street which runs past Union Square where you can see the cable car start up to Fisherman's Wharf.

On arriving the staff were very friendly, booked in quickly. The condo has a guest services desk too which can offer recommendations, they may also try to offer a free breakfast and timeshare chat - after reading some other reviews I would recommend avoiding, we were only asked the once during our week stay so wasn't an issue.

The room itself was a really good size, sofa, chair, large tv (though the quality isn't that great and there is no guide just a list of channels given in a welcome pack). The kitchen area has a microwave, coffee machine, blender, fridge, toaster. No stove or kettle unfortunately but you do get a welcome basket with popcorn, hot chocolate, coffee which was a nice touch.

The bathroom had no bath, but did have a large shower, with some small bottles of toiletries included.

The bedroom had another TV, decent sized bed, far too many pillows (I will never understand why you need 2 + 2 pillows and then another 2 square pillows for decorations, I am sure my wife will tell me one day). Lots of storage including a walk in wardrobe, set of drawers, bedside drawers on each side, plugs in accessible locations to charge.

Was really pleased with everything, if I know anyone going to San Francisco I will be recommending this to them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location and room
Liked least: The TV, but for those on holiday who cares?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing