We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great lunch special”
Review of Alioto's

Alioto's
Reserve with OpenTable
Alioto's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #349 of 6 297 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$38
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, View
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Cross street: Jefferson & Taylor
Transit: Cable Car, Muni
Description: Alioto's Italian Seafood Restaurant is located in the heart of San Francisco's famed Fisherman's Wharf overlooking the historic fishing fleet and the Golden Gate Bridge. The Alioto family has been serving the freshest local seafood, authentic family recipes, the oldest/original Italian Seafood Restaurant on the Wharf, started by Nonna Rose back in 1925. The restaurant features a warm ambiance with a 3-tiered dining room offering every guest stunning views of San Francisco Bay. Don't forget to try our world-famous Nonna Rose's Cioppino and Dungeness crab, always fresh. A trip to Alioto's is more than food, it's a trip through history to the oldest family owned and run restaurant in San Francisco, boasting the best views and best seafood on the Wharf.
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Loved the fish and chips here plus the clam chowder lunch special. Very nice resturant, overlooking fishermans wharf and the golden gate bridge.

Thank Maree F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annette A, Owner at Alioto's, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thank you for joining us for lunch Maree F. We do offer some great lunch specials, and they are certainly reasonably priced for what you get! Here's hoping we see you again soon for another memorable meal. Ciao!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2 129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

89 - 93 of 2 131 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

The tip was the sign that said it was a family business since 1925. Sent up an old lift to level 3 it immediately became obvious that this was a restaurant of class. The view did not match Franciscan but the food was better as was the service. The menu was extensive with its Italian touch. The wine was very good (Californian wine is a few levels below top Australian wine) the restaurant reeked of history The service from Tim was friendly and efficient and he made time to chat to the people at all the tables he serviced. There is a reason this restaurant has lasted nearly one hundred years and it is they have perfected the art of the experience of quality dining. For a quality night it’s a must attend.

Thank ianrogers53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annette A, Owner at Alioto's, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you ianrogers53 for your fantastic review! It's always a great day when I get to read reviews like yours. On behalf of the Alioto Family, we would like to thank you for dining with us and we look forward to your return to our beautiful City by the Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

Yes it’s Fisherman’s Wharf, yes there is table cloths on the table and yes the views are nice. But it’s a 70’s time warp.

It’s old, it’s dated and it’s overpriced.
$8 for a cup and I mean a small cup of soup!

Waiter expects a big tip, but what did he do? Gave us the menu, took our order, came back with a menu and gave us the bill. He never showed any interest.

Oh and now they charge a 5% health tax on your final bill, so we can help and support those who live in SF who can’t afford health insurance. Why is it down to tourists to fix and be taxed on your local problems.

The food was average at best. They are living on a past dream of success.

Thank r50lts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annette A, Owner at Alioto's, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

We work hard everyday to serve the freshest and most delicious meals possible. I assure you, we do not dream of days gone by or live in a past era. We start each day eager to please each customer who walks in our door. Unfortunately, you thought different. I'm sure the manager on duty would have made thing right for you if you had asked.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

On previous visits to San Fransisco, many years ago, this was one of our favorites, so we tried it again. It did not disappoint. A little hustle on the street, but upstairs, still the same great service, food and view.. They did not disappoint.

Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annette A, Owner at Alioto's, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Thank you very much LindajT966EX. We love to read about our customers who have been gone and return for our delicious food and beautiful view. We look forward to serving you again soon. Ciao!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

This was very good as it always has been. I used to visit in my early years and looked forward to going back. A little different but still good.

Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annette A, Owner at Alioto's, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

So glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us after so many years. We pride ourselves in serving fresh delicious seafood and are thrilled it did not disappoint.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alioto's also viewed

 

Been to Alioto's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing