We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best seafood in SF”
Review of Tadich Grill

Tadich Grill
Ranked #89 of 6 312 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Financial District
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Haven't been here in years, and was a little concerned about the possible wait time, as well as whether or not it was still good after all these years. Not to worry! Arrived facing a line of people waiting, but apparently they were all couples, so the 4 of us were immediately greeted and seated by an older version of a friendly Ted Danson look alike. Water and great sourdough bread appeared within minutes, followed by the most friendly and skillful waiter--so sorry we didn't get his name-- what a gem. We devoured generous servings of crab cocktails, followed by delicious Branzino with potatoes and vegetables, along with a Macrostie Chardonnay. We all finished our food despite the generous portions.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

272 - 276 of 1 963 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2017

The Tadich Grill was highly recommended to us by a worldly, traveler friend, so we came for supper on our first night in town. We were seated immediately. (That wouldn't have happened if we came 20 minutes later.) As promised, the food was excellent, but the service was even better! Our waiter was an absolute delight. If that wasn't enough, the ambiance was equally enjoyable.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Arvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

The dinning room is not that fancy. It is crowdy almost all of the time - book a table in advance. Waiters shout waiting list names all the time, increasing noise. But is still worthy! The seafood cioppino was fantastic. The steak was also really good. Respectable desserts - Bourbon pudding is the choice. A must-go in SF Bay area.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cjpgomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful dinner here. Sure, some of the waiters can be a bit surly and the prices are maybe a bit on the high side...but that's just part of the SF foodie experience. They don't take reservations, and apparently the wait can be long. We went very early on a Friday (5:00 pm) and were seated immediately. I would've given 5 stars, but the wine I ordered wasn't so hot. The cioppino made up for that, though, it was excellent.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank NiceLadyKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

This is the oldest restaurant in SF and it's no surprise that it has lasted this long. It's not just great food, it's a great experience! Walk in, give your name to the host and hang out till your table is called. We waited and were able to score seats at the awesome, super long bar and have a drink till our table was called. We had a fantastic time watching the bartenders work-they were hustling the entire time! The bartender was really fun to talk to, as well. Every employee we encountered was amazing even though the place was packed! We ordered oysters on the half shell and the famous seafood ciopinni (so??). It was fabulous! This is a must!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank KeytonM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tadich Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing