We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (906)
Filter reviews
908 results
Traveller rating
88
277
267
151
125
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
277
267
151
125
Show reviews that mention
All reviews farmer browns market street powell station the hotel is clean free internet valet parking bart printer cable convention sfo
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 908 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel and apart from the location it was pretty good. It is clean and the beds were comfortable. There was one night where I couldn't sleep but that was because there was a woman screaming right outside but not the hotel's fault. If back in San Francisco, I probably wouldn't stay here but we were very close to everything and that was an advantage. Also the drug addicts did not annoy us or approach us in any way.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Vicky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyiHotelsSF, General Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Vicky E,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at our hotel. We are happy to hear that you found our beds comfortable and of course clean! Yes, our housekeeping team takes pride in keeping it clean; we will share your comments with our entire team. It is great to know that you will stay with us again. Please call us on your next trip so we can make your reservation.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience.

Luis M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

Have been travelling through Canada Alaska & West Coast of mainland USA. Would have to be the worst location and rooms ever. No a/c or heating noisy small and next to a homeless shelter. Would never recommend. Sad end to a great trip.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TravelingTats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyiHotelsSF, General Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear TravelingsTats,

Please accept our apologies for the frustrations you describe in your review. It’s always a disappointment to hear when someone is dissatisfied with their room and this time also with our location. Wanted to let you know that our Building has NO A/C but it has baseboard heathers in every room. Yes, you are correct about the population of Homeless People, is not by our hotel only, this is a population that is spread out throughout the whole city.
Again, thank you for your comments.


Luis M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018 via mobile

On arriving at this hotel for a 3 night stay with friends, we were greeted at the entrance by a group of drug addicts and non desireables, the location is in which has to be the worst part of sfransisco, definetly not suitable for travelling females. The room was dingy and basic, no Ac or heating, view was of a chimney stack rite outside our window, noise from down and outs is over powering, we stayed one night and relicated to another hotel.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank carrollb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyiHotelsSF, General Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Carrollb23,

Please accept our deepest apologies for the frustrations you outline here in your review. Unfortunately Our City has a big population of Homeless and as you found them by our door, they are in almost every business entrance throughout the City. Thank you for your feedback as this will encourage staying more vigilant at our Hotel entrance.

Luis M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

We checked in on 14th May 2018 and didn’t recognise the hotel as not in the best area of San Francisco. As we walked into the hotel it smelt of marijuana and the hotel receptionist didn’t have the best of people skills. We carried on up to our room to find quite a dingy little place which really did need a revamp, so our first impressions were really disappointing. It was a late check in so decided to just go to bed and then we found the beds! I was travelling with 3 other friends so we were in two double beds. I’ve never had to sleep so close to someone as the beds dipped so bad in the middle and there was a bad smell to them too. Then in the early hours the road sweepers start and the shouting. Having just landed in San Fran is was a really disappointing start. So bad we all decided to check out and find a safer cleaner hotel to stay in. So we booked into the Kabuki hotel which was amazing.
Sorry metropolis but maybe if you had even asked why we wanted to check out early and was our stay ok or even maybe offer us a different room I wouldnt be writing this.
I would def not recommend to anyone to stay here.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Elleinad2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

There was an issue between the hotel and our booking agent which turned out to be the hotels fault. The lady at the front desk was very rude about it and vented her frustration at us. After we got our room and after the initial issues we enjoyed our stay. Rooms are average but are ok.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank joshcutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaiyiHotelsSF, General Manager at Hotel Metropolis, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Dear Joshcutt,

Greetings and thank you for your recent stay! While happy to hear your overall impressions were positive, I’m sorry there were a couple mishaps on your reservation.
I’m passing your important feedback to the perspective department for review. Next, the team here is known for friendliness. We do understand that everyone has a bad day now and again, but that shouldn’t translate to our guests. We hope to have another opportunity to show you the kind of hospitality we’re known for next time you’re here. Please don’t hesitate to reach out to me if I can be of assistance. We’re here to serve you.

Luis M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews